We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Petra Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Petra Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Petra Palace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 70, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
dubai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cheap and cheerful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night at the beginning of December and it was well worth the money. The hotel seems quite old and the reception area is dated but the hotel itself was fine. It was cold the day we arrived and we dreaded goin back to a cold hotel room but once we put the heat on in the room it was fine. Breakfast was nothing spectacular but again worth the money!! Definitely worth staying in this hotel if you are on a budget!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    162
    147
    60
    28
See reviews for
71
144
46
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I travelled with an Exodus tour and was very pleased by the quality of the hotel. The rooms were nice, the breakfast's were good, and we even had a very good buffet dinner one evening at the hotel restaurant.

I thought the staff was helpful and the rooms and hotel facilities were clean. I would recommend it as good value for the price

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Overall
I would definitely recommend this hotel. The staff seemed friendly, especially the staff at breakfast. It was very clean. I saw some disabled travellers here. I would think that it is suitable for all ages. There is a range of good restaurants within a stone throw of the door. Petra is also right on the doorstep.

Location
The location was brilliant for getting to Petra, it was one of the closest hotels to the entrance. You could quite easily get to the front gate within a few minutes of walking.

Sleep Quality
Generally I had good sleep quality and no noise from inside the hotel, or outside the hotel. There was a courtyard and a pool outside our bedroom but in general it was empty.

Rooms
The rooms were of a clean and reasonable size. The bathrooms were nice. Everything felt very clean and tidy. The rooms were very good, with a good selection of English channels on the television. Not that we watched much television as we were out most of the time. The beds were also very comfy.

Breakfast
The breakfast was a normal sort of continental style. It seemed very good. The chef who was serving the breakfast was very attentive and extremely friendly. He recommended the bread pudding he had made and I would also recommend trying it too.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Not a whole lot more to say about it. The room was certainly nothing great, the beds were just ok (and I mean JUST ok). I would only stay here again if I was staying one night (MAYBE two) and need an affordable deal close to Petra's entrance. If you're going to stay here for anything more than location, I wouldn't suggest it.

Room Tip: Don't walk around barefoot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, UK
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location. It is very close to the entrance to Petra and is surrounded by really nice places to eat. The room we had was lovely with a very good bathroom. The breakfast buffet was good quality with a lot of choice and a very exuberant head chef who wanted to make sure that all diners were completely satisfied. Free wifi in the lobby.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The best about the Hotel is that the entrance of Petra is just 500 Meters away. The Hotel is okay, nothing special. The rooms are clean but a little bit dark. The stuff is not extremly helpfull, but quite Nice. WLAN is only availible in the Lobby.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael de Escazu, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The best thing about Petra Palace is that it is located a few blocks from the entrance gate to Petra.

The rooms are spacious and clean, but the toilet didn't flush properly. If you want to stop the water from running and for the tank to fill, you must push down on the top leveler.

As for the food at dinner and breakfast, which was served buffet style, it was very average. Nothing was outstanding.

Wi-Fi and internet service was free and available on the main floor.

Also, be prepared for the 3 morning calls to worship during the 5 o'clock hour. Your are surrounded by mosques, and the calls to worship will definitely wake you. In most other locations in Jordan, we did not experience this problem.

Room Tip: As for location and if you want to purchase wine, you are close to two locations that sell wine at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Petra Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Palace Hotel

Address: PO Box 70, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Petra Palace Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Petra Palace is located on the main touristic road, 200 meters from the main entrance to the archeological site of the rose-red city of Petra. The hotel is classified as a three star deluxe hotel featuring 180 fully air-conditioned rooms, all with private bathrooms, bathtubs, hairdryer, free toiletries, mini bars, satellite television and a 24 hour movie channel. The rooms are warmly decorated and overlook either Petra mountains or the pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Petra Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petra Palace
Petra Palace Wadi Musa
Petra Palace Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petra Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.