We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to rest after visit to Petra” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beit Zaman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Beit Zaman to your Saves list
Beit Zaman
PO Box 122, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good place to rest after visit to Petra”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

This is quite a large hotel mainly accommodating coach parties visiting Petra. I loved the old village setting and layout. The place felt fresh and invigorating.

Pluses: Everything was clean. Nice buffet at restaurant both at evening and breakfast. Coffee, tea and water provided in the room.

Minuses: Walls between the rooms are very thin - cardboard?! :) We could hear next door's TV even when it was on the lowest volume. You can't really get anywhere outside the hotel unless you have a car. You need to eat at the restaurant there, or bring your own supplies.

I would stay here again, I found it relaxing and adequate for our needs. We were tired after walking all over Petra so all we did was eat and sleep. I did see a hotel right by the entrance to Petra (Petra Gate I think). It is probably expensive, but I'd stay there as you can literally walk to Petra from there and in the evening it seemed there was a selection of restaurants to try and shops etc.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    92
    55
    28
    16
See reviews for
46
104
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Nebraska
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

Beit Zaman is built over an acient village and maintains that rustic charm. Parts of the ruins are left exposed so that you can imagine the setting a thousand years ago. The hotel is built on a steep slope and the rooms are grouped in small clusters of 4 or 6 units. You are given a map upon check in and are expected to find your room on your own, which is fun but challenging at first. The rooms are sparsely furnished but clean and quaint. The bathrooms are modern but have some shower issues. There is a trick to keeping the hand held shower head in place and preventing it from flooding the bathroom. Some of the others in our group had issues with drains and electical plugs not working. As is usual in this part of the world, once September comes around, the airconditioning is turned off so the rooms were too warm to sleep in. We opened our windows. The service levels were excellent. The food was good, plentiful and had lots of variety. There is a lovely indoor pool with a small work out area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

In reviewing this hotel and another in Jordan I had to decide whether to judge them against international or local standards. Hotels in this part of the Middle East are not as self confident in their service values; staff are often poorly trained and unused to taking the initiative. But in the end Jordan wants to attract international visitors and it should, because their sites are magnificent, then they must be judged against international standards. This hotel is convenient for the incomparable Petra and has the appearance of a recreated ancient village. It's tastefully and simply furnished and has a comfortable bar and lounge. Food is a daily buffet of the usual kind in the Middle East served to westerners, not great but tasty enough. I would have preferred proper table service. The maintenance of the bathrooms was poor; we had to ask for a bath plug because the plug and shower apparatus was furred up, some parts of the building needed touching up. Service was of the nervous but willing variety. Overall we enjoyed our stay but might try another hotel if we ever return to Petra.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

Great architecture, spacious rooms. The room’s furniture was not very interesting. Lacks a little something or good interiors architect. Very nice swimming pool and exterior space. Breakfast acceptable. Unfortunately the people on reception and services are not very friendly or helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

I was not expecting much as some previous reviews had not been complimentary. I was pleasantly suprised. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are nice. Didn't have any issues with flooding in the bathroom, as others did. The breakfast buffet was good (not great) except the one day when they didn't have the omlette station, which left limited options. The front desk staff were okay but were not helpful when we requested a late check out.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
king's lynn
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

This is an innovative hotel built on an old village site reusing the original houses as rooms.
It covers a large area and may entail a long uphill walk to the rooms. Being given a map in the dark not very helpful.
A plus point : It has a no smoking policy !!
The room was large, comfortable and clean once I fought my way in through the difficult doorlocking system but there was no basin plug an awkward shower and the air con didn't cool. Someone came and looked at it but left it circulating the [ very warm] room air .... Bit mean only supplied one tea bag, even in rooms for two people. TV worked well when I fiddled with the aerial.
Meals were varied with a fresh omelet chef. The swimming pool lovely if surprisingly cool.
Rather a long way to Petra but an interesting experience

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

Upon first glance, this resort appeared to be a first class joint. It is a sprawling resort which was formerly a village. Check in was easy and the room was large. There is ZERO literature about the amenities of the resort, only a map.
My complaints begin with the design of the shower. The glass partition that is supposed to prevent water from pouring out onto the floor, is not stationary, as it swings in and out. To solve this, they jerry rig a towel to hold it in place. Once that towel gets soaked, you have a drenched bathroom floor. In addition to the glass partition, the nozzle is right at the level of the ceiling, so shorter travelers will not be able to adjust this...
The service at the hotel also leave much to be desired. It took 3 requests to get an electrical adapter from the front desk. Some travelling companions of ours also had to request theirs three times.
Two other sets of travelling companions also had refrigerators in their rooms which did not work. Another set did not have working air conditioning in theirs. Though this did not happen to me, I thought I'd mention it in my review.
On one occasion as I was checking email in the lobby, I saw a mouse run in from the outside. This was probably an abberation, but I thought I'd mention it here.
My stay was not pleasant and I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beit Zaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beit Zaman

Address: PO Box 122, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beit Zaman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beit Zaman Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Homewood Suites Petra Wadi Musa
Beit Zaman Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beit Zaman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.