We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another tour bus hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beit Zaman

Save Saved
You added Beit Zaman to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beit Zaman
PO Box 122, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Another tour bus hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The layout of this hotel is certainly unique - many stone cottages joined together at the navel wandering over the hilly property. It does provide a bit more privacy than the ordinary hotel and makes finding your room on first entry "interesting." I had wished the hotel were closer to Petra, but it's sort of by itself in the hills above Petra.

The rooms were large, but a bit "cold" ambience-wise. They were large and certainly adequate, but the bath had more mold around the tub than I would have preferred.

The meals in the restaurant were good - typical tour bus buffet arrangement. Good selection of meals items well prepared.I can't report on the hotel's value, because it was part of a tour package we were on, but I didn't see too many choices in Petra I would have preferred.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    85
    52
    27
    14
See reviews for
43
99
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This hotel in Petra was booked for us, as we were travelling as part of a large group, and I couldn't be happier with this hotel choice. As soon as we got off our bus I was enthralled. The hotel was actually a village, so the complex is spread out nicely with paved paths leading through gardens to guest rooms. It was a refreshing change to the high rise hotels. The buildings have been made from thick stone from the area and the whole complex exudes character. You have to walk outside to get from your room to the other parts of the hotel, so you get to breathe in the fresh air, look at the stars at night, see the magnificent vista before you, you get to slow down and appreciate this part of the world. If you are visiting Petra, this hotel for me, was the perfect extension to the wonders of Petra. The hotel is situated on top of a ridge and the views across the valley are absolutely beautiful. Get up at sunrise and you will see the light play on the mountains in front of you.
My room was huge and it was more like a suite. The bedroom was in a separate area with an arched entry way. There was a lounge room, big enough to invite friends over for a drink before dinner. The bathroom was also spacious, with lovely bath products. The walls of the guest rooms are very thick, made from stone, so the temperature inside remains cool. The interior is tastefully decorated and you do get the feeling that you are a guest in what once was a village, it really was special. There are no swipe keys here. Each guest room has a wooden door, and a big old fashioned key to open it. Some guests did find the door and key a little hard to open, but the trick is to turn the key slowly.
After a full day exploring the wonders of Petra, I can't begin to tell you what a welcome relief it was to swim in the large undercover heated pool at the hotel. It was pure bliss.
Internet is available at Reception, and there are comfortable lounges there. You can also pick up wifi in some areas in the dining room. The walls are too thick for wifi in your room.
Please be aware that Petra is almost in the middle of nowhere. So you are not going to get your huge buffet breakfast spread here. The wait staff, who are extremely polite and attentive, told me that the food is sourced locally. So what is on offer is seasonal and fresh. You can get your eggs cooked exactly how you want them, and what is on offer is plentiful, you won't starve.
There is also a shop at the front of the complex, with a lovely selection of items to take home. The prices are comparable if not a little cheaper than the souvenir shops in town. The owner of the store is very helpful, courteous and not pushy. You can browse without getting hassled, which was also very much appreciated.
One night whilst walking to dinner, I got a little worried as I heard what sounded like gun shots in the distance. I asked the staff about this. They grinned from ear to ear and told me that this was a wedding. The wedding guests then let off fireworks ( and guns ) for prosperity. It is a tradition. Good to know.
Other reviewers have stated that Beit Zaman is not 5 star, but what it is, is a unique and charming hotel, which offers it's guest the unique experience of staying at a beautiful location that was once a village.
Staying here was an amazing experience that will compliment your visit into ancient Petra. I am so happy we stayed here, I wish our group had more than two nights. I will just have to come back again. Thank you to all the staff for making our time in Petra so wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This hotel is good, but it doesn't look like a 5 star-hotel... The access to the rooms is complicated, with ramps and steps. The idea is good, they wanted to make it look like the architecture of the area, but with the luggage, it is not very practical...
The rooms are big and clean, but not very cozy.
We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel, and it was ok. Even though the place was not full at all we had to seat at a table that they chose for us, with a group of people that were supposably from our group but we didn't recognize.
They only had wifi at the lobby, free.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radlett
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Beautifully located and maintained with free wifi in the "common parts", we really enjoyed this hotel! The food was also pretty good and the staff/service most acceptable. Much preferable we felt to staying in a more expensive hotel right by Petra which is pretty much a tourist-fleecing exercise and the town itself has little to commend it.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Nice building, big rooms, but poorly maintained (a/c almost nonfunctional, showerhead broken/had to be handheld) and not that clean. Horrible food in buffet - worst we had. Expensive taxi rides to Wadi Musa (10 JD each way), there should be a shuttle. Empty hot tub.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

When pulling up to the hotel, you will be immediately struck by how this hotel fits in so nicely to the look of Petra. Rustic, but modern. There is a central reception lobby, a separate building for the dining room and a separate building for the swimming pool. The rooms are in out buildings located around the property. Everything, however is in close proximity. There is also a small gift shop, which is well stocked and reasonable.
The rooms are spacious and nicely appointed in a crisp, rustic fashion. A nice shower, and a bidet in the bathroom. No internet available in the room, but there is free internet in the lobby and the dining room. The TV was the old style tube TV, which worked fine, though not many English channels. The bed was very comfortable, and the property is beautiful.
Though there are nice views of the surrounds and Petra from the property, it is not a convenient location to the town. You would have to drive or take a taxi to the shops and restaurants.
The buffet dinner was very nice and reasonable. 18 Dinars (approximately $27) for soup, an abundant salad bar, a nice selection of entrees and dessert.
The buffet breakfast was also nice and extensive, with an omelet station.
If you are visiting Petra, and don't mind not being in town, this is a great spot.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed at the Beit Zaman – Wadi Musa (Petra) for one night during Easter 2014. The hotel is advertised as a 5-star hotel and should be rated based on that but it is closer to a 3-star hotel due to many issues including:
1) The setting and architecture of the hotel is interesting and is located on many levels (hill); however, at night, going up the hill to the rooms is an adventure since the signs guiding the guests to their rooms are not clearly visible and poorly lit,
2) The room furniture (bed, pillows, chair, etc.) is not comfortable with an old TV set and limited selection of channels,
3) The bed linens were dirty with stains and hair,
4) Since the hotel is located on a hill, the bell boy service is needed to get your luggage to the rooms; however, that service is not reliable (after 45 minutes of arrival, the luggage was still in the lobby with the delivery cart outside knowing that, after two calls to the reception, I was told that my luggage was being delivered to my room),
5) We were on half-board basis and the choices at dinner were not refilled (many empty serving plates) and the quality of the food (dinner and breakfast buffets) is mediocre at best,
6) WiFi is available in the reception and restaurant areas only and is relatively slow.
This hotel is highly not recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beit Zaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beit Zaman

Address: PO Box 122, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Beit Zaman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beit Zaman Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Homewood Suites Petra Wadi Musa
Beit Zaman Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beit Zaman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.