We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel either side of a 155 mile run” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beit Zaman

Save Saved
You added Beit Zaman to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beit Zaman
PO Box 122, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel either side of a 155 mile run”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed at Beit Zaman before and after a 155 mile ultramarathon through the desert in Jordan, so our visit was probably not typical of many who stay here!

We arrived on Friday and check-in was very prompt (we had no reservation details as the hotel had been booked for us by the race organisers). The hotel is a bit like a maze the first time you try and find your room (it would have been nice for a member of staff to show us our room after checking in as we seemed to go round in a circle until we eventually found it!) but once we got used to the layout and corresponding numbers, we found it much easier on our return visit. The rooms are all reached from outside, and the architecture of the hotel has a real traditional Jordanian feel to it and is set it lovely grounds.

Our room was very spacious with a huge bed and bathroom (with bath and shower) - on our return visit after the run (and after not showering for a week), they seemed like the best bath and shower in the world!

As we had a lot of things to do pre-race, we ate in the hotel restaurant for Friday dinner, Saturday breakfast and Saturday lunch. All were buffet style with a lot of choice - I was particularly impressed with the vegetarian selection.

There were over 200 runners/organisers/volunteers checking out on Saturday and leaving bags with the hotel for storage, but check-out was as seamless as check-in.

7 days and 155 miles later, we returned to the Beit Zaman and our room was ready well before the standard check-in time - this was very much appreciated as we were looking forward to our first taste of civilisation in a week!

Our second room was almost identical to the first in size and amenities - the Dead Sea toiletries were particularly nice.

We spent the rest of the day relaxing in the hotel grounds in the sunshine - there is a decent bar area with in and outside seating. Food was reasonably priced, beer is expensive (but about what you'd expect for a Muslim country). Wifi is only available in communal areas (reception, bar, restaurant) - it was very slow at times, to the point of non-existent, but I think part of this may have been due to the fact that we were 'overloading' the system, as many runners were trying to get in contact with the outside world for the first time in a week!

On our final evening, we had an awards dinner and ceremony hosted in the hotel restaurant/function room, and again the food and service we received was very good.

We had a very early check-out the early morning and this was handled very efficiently. Although our stay at Beit Zaman was slightly different to most, I'd have no reservation at recommending it as a place to stay in Petra based on our experience of it and the way they handled a large group reservation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    82
    51
    27
    14
See reviews for
42
98
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Great hotel which gives a feel of village style living in Petra. It's cosy with decent facilities. Rooms were big with basic amenities like tea/coffee maker n water. It's little far from the main tourist road and petra gate. It has good view of the gorge. Central heated swimming pool was a pleasure. Food was average. Breakfast buffets limited with few choices but bakery product available was great. Overall a satisfactory place to stay different from run of the mill hotels.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Hotel has a lot of potential... and a lot of deferred maintenance. Our shower flooded the bathroom, and the bathroom floor drain was plugged. Water covered the floor all night until housekeeping came the next morning. Our room was close to lobby but needed renovation. Dining room badly needs an update.

Hotel staff is neither friendly or unfriendly.

Food was simply disgusting. At dinner, I ate lentil soup and shredded raw carrots, and could not bring myself to eat more than a taste of the other things on my plate. Second night we ate somewhere else. Breakfasts are sad too. I don't know how others have thought the food acceptable. Another couple we met at breakfast thought the food was so bad they were planning to refuse to pay for their dinner when they checked out.

I would not stay here again unless the hotel had a a complete overhaul.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

A hotel with a nice, relaxing atmosphere and, in general, charm and character. The food is not memorable, but it's fine and the service (both at the restaurant/bar and in general) is very good. Some of the rooms seem to have been renovated and if you can get one of those rooms, then I think you're stay would be nicer. Our room was in the older part of the hotel. The room was spacious and fine for what we needed, although it smelled a bit musty. The bathroom was pretty gross though with dirty tiles and a shower that did not look clean, which is the only real negative I have about my stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This hotel was the 2nd to last stop in my Israel/Jordan adventure. An absolutely beautiful location. Peaceful and relaxing. What I really enjoyed was the authenticity of the architecture. Just walking through the passageways from my room, through the lovely garden, to the front of the hotel where could be seen the most breathtaking sunset couldn't be matched anywhere else. The buffet breakfast was delicious offering omelettes, fruit, Danish, and a selection of cheeses and meats to satisfy any palette. Overall, a most enjoyable place of respite and HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan USA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Close to Petra. Helpful staff. Good food. Clean. Free Wifi in the lobby. You need to walk outside to your room and to the dinner building. Not an issue just a heads up. They have an indoor pool that's simple but nice. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Though at a distant from the actual sight seeing locations, the property is very good and well maintained. It doesn't give the feeling you are staying in a hotel and rather a homely atmosphere. The rooms are very spacious and they have a very nice bar if you want to sit down, relax and have a drink. Giving my thumbs up for this one.

Room Tip: Chose the rooms facing the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beit Zaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beit Zaman

Address: PO Box 122, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Beit Zaman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beit Zaman Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Homewood Suites Petra Wadi Musa
Beit Zaman Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beit Zaman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.