We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite 5 stars...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Petra Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marriott Petra Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott Petra Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taybeh Road, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
SF Bay Area
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not quite 5 stars...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Yes, it's a nice hotel. Yes, it has a great view of the desert. And yes, it has a nice breakfast buffet, but something is lacking. It's not really a five star hotel. Then again, you come here to see Petra, not to spend time in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    121
    54
    11
    7
See reviews for
63
108
22
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during the last few days of Ramadan. The staff were very friendly and helpful,the room was clean and pleasent, the breakfast buffet offered plenty of choice. We especially enjoyed the view from the terrace and the tent behind the hotel as the sun set! Overall a very pleasent stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We crossed the border in Eilat and went for a tour of Petra. We stayed the night at the Marriott and I will say out of our two weeks in Israel and Jordan, this was my favorite. The staff was great and we enjoyed a nice BBQ by the pool. I would go back here over many of the other places we went.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I could describe the hotel as a piece of heaven - romantique, small, cosy, on top of the hill offering amazing view to its guests. Every detail has been taken care of and there are so many inviting places where you can just sit, enjoy the view while sipping a glass of wine.
Of course it is spotless clean, the double room has a huuuge bed, all the floors are covered in thick carpets, the wif-fi is fast and the breakfast is tasty.
The one thing I would recommend is to have the staff trained better - we booked the hotel via booking.com so when we got there the reception desk said they do not have our booking (it is not exactly what you want to hear after 10 hours of driving through Jordan) in their system. After some time, they gave us a room. At breakfast, the waiter brought coffee and spilled it on the table while pouring into the cup. When we checked out, someone from the staff got into our room literally 1 second after we got out to check the minibar. These are negative instances which should never be part of the experience of a five star hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Soto, Kansas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Marriott Petra Hotel very much! After a long, hot day of traveling we were greeted with a glass of refreshing hibiscus juice. Our room was both comfortable and beautiful. We chose to eat all of our meals at the Marriott. It was a blessing to have a good breakfast before our long day visiting Petra and dinner awaiting us that evening. We loved the pool area overlooking the mountains! Our only complaint would be that we had to purchase bottled water and we drink a lot of water! Our recommendation would be at least one bottle of complimentary water per guest per day. I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel and we would stay there again if we were ever to return to the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The view alone is worth the 5 stars! The hotel felt nearly empty being off-season, so our two nights watching the sunset were quite peaceful besides being absolutely stunning.

The rooms are recently renovated and spacious. The first floor atrium is especially impressionable. No gym here, but I felt quite safe running up the mountain road in the morning for a workout with an incredible view.

The only thing we were disappointed in was the food at the Italian restaurant. The prices are fair, but the wood-fired pizza tasted like a frozen pizza.

Overall, the staff is very accommodating and kind. Location is above Petra, so it takes 15 minutes or so to reach the entrance to the ruins, but the view is definitely worth the drive!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had a wonderful time at the hotel. The view from our room was picturesque.
It was a nice detour from my tour of the country. Very peaceful and relaxing
The mountains are beautiful.

We didn't spend much time at the hotel but the staff were nice and we enjoyed the food there.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Petra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Petra Hotel

Address: Taybeh Road, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#7 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Petra Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most renowned for its breathtaking views and sunsets, the Petra Marriott Hotel is located uphill, overlooking the surrounding Petra Mountains and landscape. All 100 rooms are newly renovated, with state-of-the-art furniture and decor. They are equipped with flat TVs, Cable TV Channels, Safe Box, Mini Bar, Free Coffee & Tea Making Facilities, and Iron and Iron Boards. Most rooms have beautiful mountain views. The bathrooms feature shower boxes with both regular and rain showers, and hair dryers. The Dushara is the main dining and newly renovated restaurant, serving a big selection of international buffet choices, or A La Carte menu. L'Affresco is the Italian restaurant open for dinner, offering a wide array of freshly prepared salads, antipasti, and wood oven pizzas. The Aretas & Lobby Lounge and Bar serve hot and cold beverages and snacks, with special promotions for the Sunset Hours. Both the Aretas and L'Affresco are located adjacent to the Lobby, and overlook the panoramic views. Free Wi-Fi internet is available for hotel guests in the Lobby and Public Areas. The Loofah Turkish Bath has a steam and sauna, along with its Turkish Hammam experience, in addition to a menu of other treatments. The Outdoor Pool and Pool Bar are seasonal, and the area with its tranquil location offers a unique view of the surrounding mountains. The Atagartis main meeting room can also be divided into two smaller rooms, hosting meetings and events, with natural daylight, while the windows and terraces face the Petra Mountains. The Hotel is a 10-minute drive from the Petra Archeological Site, and transport is easily arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Petra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel Petra
Marriott Petra / Wadi Musa
Petra / Wadi Musa Marriott
Marriott Petra Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Petra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.