We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Petra Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marriott Petra Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott Petra Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taybeh Road, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 35 hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Our morning view over the valley was breath taking with all of colours of the rocks standing out. The hotel is a distance from the entrance to Petra itself. You definitely need a driver. The hotel itself is fresh, room and bathroom were welcoming and comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful. Likely the weak link is the dining. Not being a buffet fan leaves limited options.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Marriott Petra Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Macsontheroad,

With great delight your kind comments in Trip Advisor about your fabolous stay with us were shared with our team.

Please accept our sincere gratitude for taking the time to write about this wonderful experience in terms of the fresh and comfortable rooms and beds, and the friendly staff.

We are sorry to hear that our buffet and food variety were inconvenient, while the options were limited and not to your expectations.

The breathtaking views of the sorrounding mountains and valleys and the senstational sunsets are tremendously enjoyed by all our guests, and we are glad that you have had the opportunity to stay with us to witness this unique experience.

Thanking you so much for your valuable support, and we hope that your future plans will bring you back to the Petra Marriott very soon.

Assuring you of our best services at all times.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    111
    51
    10
    6
See reviews for
59
102
21
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We spent one night to go to Petra, the room was perfect, new, clean and very very comfortable. The staff helped us all the time and the facilities are incredible. Excellent hotel, I really recommend it,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Marriott Petra Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear JoMarre,

Reading your kind comments in Trip Advisor about your short yet the very relaxing stay at Petra Marriott Hotel makes us very proud.

We are very happy to know that we have exceeded all your expectations in terms of the newly renovated, comfortable and clean rooms, and that our staff were very helpful and accommodating, just as one comes to expect from a Marriott Hotel.

It was indeed a real pleasure to have had the opportunity to welcome you to our Five-Star hotel with its incredible facilities, and truly value your support and acknowledgements.

Looking forward to being of service to you in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

stayed there for two night while on gate1 tour. room is very nice. stayed at room 306 which doesn't really have a view. love the rain forest shower head which is what I need after walking all day in petra valley. beds are comfortable too. btw, free wifi with good connection in the lobby ,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Marriott Petra Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Travlepal,

With such pleasure we have read in Trip Advisor about your enjoyable stay with your group at the Petra Marriott Hotel.

Your nice comments are very much appreciated about our rooms and the rain shower providing the much needed comfort that one needs after a long day in Petra.

We are very glad to know that you took advantage of our free Wifi in the Lobby and Public areas with good connectivity.

Very much thanking you for your valuable support and looking forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagpur
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

a wonderful place to stay especially if you get a room with a view over the valley. Must see the sunset around 5.30 pm.The rooms are very spacious and the bathrooms have a wonderful rain shower, very relaxing after a long day in Petra valley. The beds are very uncomfortable and lumpy the mattresses really need changing. The comfy chairs are so high ideal for a very tall person. The buffet breakfast covers every likes and dislikes. The biggest problem is the WiFi, it is free in the lobby but very difficult to get on to, if you use it in the rooms you have to pay. Even then I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: a room overlooking the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Marriott Petra Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear nagpur,

With so much joy and appreciation we have read in Trip Advisor about your recent stay at the Petra Marriott Hotel.

It is most rewarding for us and the team to know that you have enjoyed our newly renovated spacious rooms and the unique view they offer of the surrounding landscape, the modern rain showers, and the breakfast buffet.

Having the opportunity to witness the magical sunset, while watching the sun gently disappear behind the Petra mountains and canyons, bidding farewell to yet another glorious day in the wonderful city of Petra, is certainly a breathtaking life-time experience.

We are sorry to hear about the discomfort of our mattresses, and the challenges you faced while using our free internet in the lobby and public areas. Our sincere apologies, and many thanks for sharing these concerns with us, to allow us to resolve them.

Please accept our gratitude for staying at the Petra Marriott, and that in the near future, you will be able to visit us again, and give us the pleasure of serving you again.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry, Mississippi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful hotel situated on a high hill over looking the mountains of Petra and the grave of Aaron. This is a new hotel and up to the standards of any Marriott property. Excellent food and service. Free internet in the lobby is difficult to access. Wifi is available for purchase in the rooms but is overpriced. A great place to stay while visiting one of the true wonders of the world. This is a solid 3.5 to 4 star hotel and I would recommend it highly.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Marriott Petra Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear AUB1968,

Please accept our sincere appreciation for taking the time to write in Trip Advisor about your entirely satisfactory stay at the Petra Marriott Hotel.

Your kind comments are shared with our staff, and we are all very happy to know that our newly renovated rooms and facilities, the excellent food and the services have all been what you come to expect from a Marriott Hotel.

Our unique location, only 10 minutes from the Wonderful Petra Site, offers the comfort and relaxation much needed after an eventful journey, and the senstational views of the surrounding mountains and the sunsets, takes you to a place in time, where one cannot help but reflect deeply on the miracles of nature.

We are very grateful that you have chosen our Hotel for your trip. We hope your future plans can bring you back to this area, as we very much look forward to welcoming you back and being of service.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The Marriott Petra is set in the most stunning location I have ever had the pleasure of visiting. The views over the rugged mountain scenery are breathtaking! The room was very comfortable and modern with all the facilities you would expect from a 5 star hotel. I was slightly disappointed there was no Jacuzzi in the spa area, this would be a real bonus after spending the day trekking through Petra. The hotel is about a 10 minute drive from the main entrance to the Petra site. Overall very suitable for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Marriott Petra Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Jordan B,

We are very thankful to read about your very enjoyable stay at the Petra Marriott Hotel, as shared in your recent Trip Advisor Review.

It gives us such pleasure to know that our modern rooms which are recently renovated, along with the hotel modern and new facilities, were to your entire liking.

We certainly regret that we do not have for the time being a jacuzzi within our Turkish Bath, and hope that sometime in the future, this facility can be considered, as an extra means for our guests comfort.

Your kind feedback about our breathtaking views is truly appreciated, and is also shared by all our valuable guests, who once set foot to the Hotel, never fail to be overwhelmed by the magical surrounding mountains and the sensational sunsets, which combine the beauty of the rugged nature with the eternity of landscape.

Many thanks for choosing to stay at the Petra Marriott Hotel, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back and having the pleasure of serving you and your family again.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We visited Petra in February and highly recommend this hotel. The staff and its manager were simply phenomenal, and we felt like royalty they were so accommodating and kind. The room was pristine, seems very new or very newly remodeled. The lobby is welcoming and nicely decorated. We had our own car, and the hotel location is about 5-8 minutes to Petra. Hiked all day, then came back to make use of the spa and its co-ed steam room, which was very relaxing. A lovely Arabic buffet breakfast is included, but dinner packages are also available (perhaps only off-season?), making the price as amazing as the hotel itself. The view from the dining area is stunning, and I look very forward to a return trip this spring to take advantage of the outdoor seating areas and pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Marriott Petra Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear joy_and_faith,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent memorable stay at Petra Marriott in Trip Advisor.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to describe our hospitable treatment, the newly renovated rooms, the lobby decor, the competitive prices, the breakast and dinner buffets and the Turkish bath.

It has been a real pleasure serving you, and it gives us so much pride to know that we have met and exceeded your expectations.

Very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future, where this time around, you will be able to further enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool area, the bedouin tent with its traditional authentic menu and ambiance, overlooking the breathtaking views of the surrounding mountains and the magical sunsets.

Thanking you for the valuable support.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Petra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Petra Hotel

Address: Taybeh Road, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#7 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Petra Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most renowned for its breathtaking views and sunsets, the Petra Marriott Hotel is located uphill, overlooking the surrounding Petra Mountains and landscape. All 100 rooms are newly renovated, with state-of-the-art furniture and decor. They are equipped with flat TVs, Cable TV Channels, Safe Box, Mini Bar, Free Coffee & Tea Making Facilities, and Iron and Iron Boards. Most rooms have beautiful mountain views. The bathrooms feature shower boxes with both regular and rain showers, and hair dryers. The Dushara is the main dining and newly renovated restaurant, serving a big selection of international buffet choices, or A La Carte menu. L'Affresco is the Italian restaurant open for dinner, offering a wide array of freshly prepared salads, antipasti, and wood oven pizzas. The Aretas & Lobby Lounge and Bar serve hot and cold beverages and snacks, with special promotions for the Sunset Hours. Both the Aretas and L'Affresco are located adjacent to the Lobby, and overlook the panoramic views. Free Wi-Fi internet is available for hotel guests in the Lobby and Public Areas. The Loofah Turkish Bath has a steam and sauna, along with its Turkish Hammam experience, in addition to a menu of other treatments. The Outdoor Pool and Pool Bar are seasonal, and the area with its tranquil location offers a unique view of the surrounding mountains. The Atagartis main meeting room can also be divided into two smaller rooms, hosting meetings and events, with natural daylight, while the windows and terraces face the Petra Mountains. The Hotel is a 10-minute drive from the Petra Archeological Site, and transport is easily arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Petra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel Petra
Marriott Petra / Wadi Musa
Petra / Wadi Musa Marriott
Marriott Petra Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Petra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.