We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Petra Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Petra Hotel to your Saves list
Marriott Petra Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taybeh Road, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very convenient!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed for two nights while checking out Petra. Very conveniently located a 5 minute drive to the main entrance of Petra and the whole hotel used names that had to do with the different themes within Petra.

The arrival process was very easy and staff were efficient. We were upgraded to a mountain view room on the 8th floor and waking up to watch the sunrise over the mountains was breathtaking.

The room decor was nice and modern, though you can tell the hotel is a bit older. The rooms were a bit smaller than the average Marriott room, but nice. The shower in our room was quite small, though the other room my family stayed in had a larger shower and bathtub. The beds were not as comfortable as many of the other Marriott beds I've slept in, but I was so tired by the end of each day that it didn't matter at all. We would have liked to have robes/slippers in the room.

The breakfast that was included in our room rate was very good. The staff in the breakfast area were very attentive and friendly. The food was a good international selection of breakfast, including many regional dishes.

The hotel will also make pack lunches for you if you want to take something along on your Petra adventures which was nice.

I would definitely stay here again if I were in the Wadi Mousa area.

Room Tip: The 8th floor mountain view rooms were excellent for watching the sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Marriott Petra Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Jennifer L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write in Trip Advisor about your enjoyable stay at Petra Marriott Hotel.

We are very glad to know that our location, the rooms, the staff services, the breakfast and the buffet have been up to your expectations. Your valuable comments are very much appreciated.

We do agree with you that our Hotel offers the most breathtaking views, and provides rooms that overlook the spectacular surrounding mountains.

Very much looking forward to welcoming you back and to having the pleasure of being of service again.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    172
    86
    17
    8
See reviews for
91
164
31
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Really excellent level of service, fantastic management, very kind and accommodating to my needs, they were kind enough to give me a free upgrade overlooking the mountain view of Wadi Musa. Room was very clean and large, good heating. Buffet meals for breakfast and dinner was plentiful with large options although desserts could have more selection compared to other 5* hotels. Overall very good experience and service, good taxi service to visit Petra. Would def stay again in the future! Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Marriott Petra Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear TinaLouisa,

Please accept our sincere appreciation for sharing your enjoyable stay experience at the Petra Marriott Hotel in Trip Advisor.

It gives us so much pleasure to know that our services were excellent, the staff were attentive and accommodating, the room was large and clean with an upgraded view, and that the buffet meal selections were plentiful.

Thank you for your observations regarding the dessert menu, we will certainly take that into consideration.

Your kind comments confirm to us how much our staff at Petra Marriott are committed to serving our valued guests, and to providing the geniune Jordanian hospitality.

We certainly look forward to your future trips, and to welcoming you back to the Petra Marriott Hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We had an amazing night there...specialy ordered food...the atmosphere was really romantic...service was outstanding....but the weather was cold at this time of the year!
The staff was friendly....rooms were really luxurous!!
A great hotel with great service as all marriotts everywhere!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Marriott Petra Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Thabit A,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write in Trip Advisor about your amazing stay at the Petra Marriott Hotel.

The team here are very excited to know that we have met and exceeded your expectations in terms of the romantic ambiance, sensational views, the luxurious rooms, the friendly staff and the outstanding services.

We truly value your support, and that you have chosen our Hotel for your stay.

Your valuable feedback makes us proud to know that we came to deliver the level of services and product that Marriott Hotels are famous for.

Looking forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back and to being of service.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The only 5 star thing about this hotel is the view!
The lobby and common areas are odd: they look old and stuffy like a mom and pop's guesthouse. They allow smoking in the lobby, which is CRAZY to me…the ceiling is low and the smell is everywhere! Is this really a Marriott?!?!

Despite our platinum status we were not upgraded and had a regular room, which was small but fine and the decor better was than the lobby. It was very clean and had a shower stall (no bathtub). No bathrobes or slippers. No coffee maker, just instant coffee. Ugh. Front desk staff was polite and helpful, so was wait stuff in the restaurant.
Breakfast buffet was pretty good but not huge. We had beers in the small bar and they came with a plate of munchies, which was nice.There is no gym, but the spa had very competitive prices for a hotel, but no female attendant so I didn't use it.
The location is great for the views but 15 mins from Petra, so if you don't have your own transportation (we did) you will need to rely on their shuttle or get a cab.
Due to our status we didn't pay for internet, but otherwise it is not free, which I think is a ripoff and I refuse to give 5 star to a hotel that doesn't offer free wifi throughout.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Marriott Petra Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear IlariaK,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write in Trip Advisor about your recent stay at Petra Marriott Hotel.

We very much appreciate your kind comments about our staff at the Front Desk and the Bar, and that you have enjoyed the spectacular views of the hotel.

We would like to apologize about not meeting your expectations in the room upgrade, the bathrobe and slippers, the smoking challenge in the Lobby and the lack of coffee maker instead of the kettle and instant coffee, and for not providing free internet in the rooms, whereas it is provided free of charge in the Lobby, restaurants and public areas.

We very much would like to hear further from you, if you would be kind enough to write to me directly to the Hotel email address, so as to ensure we have the full details of your stay and address all issues promptly.

Your kind support as one of our valued Platinum members is truly appreciated, and we very much look forward to having the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I definitely prefer this location to Wadi Musa City Centre. If you do not have a car you will need to travel to the entrance of Petra by taxi which is easily arranged and not too pricey (JD15 for a return trip). My room was small but very modern with all necessary amenities and the views of the valley from my room were spectacular. Bed was not that comfortable since the mattress was too soft. Great to just sit on the terrace or in the Lobby/bar and enjoy the view, especially at sunset. Service is definitely not 5 star but still, it is a very modern Hotel with great views so I would stay there again. Breakfast buffet was very good with a big choice of Food (oriental & european).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed two nights here as part of a Gate 1 tour. Beautiful interior and rooms and we enjoyed both the breakfast buffet and a decent dinner in their Italian restaurant.

For a newish AND American based hotel charging fir in-room Internet is absurd and tacky.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Our shower flooded the restroom, no robes or slippers, or free wi-fi service. Just not an overall good feeling, except the breakfast buffet was great! Because we were not happy at this Marriott, we cancelled our reservations at the Dead Sea Marriott....and we are loyal Marriott members!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Marriott Petra Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear CaliforniaNative007,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write in Trip Advisor about your trip at Petra Marriott Hotel.

We are very glad to hear that you have greatly enjoyed your breakfast experience with us.

Our hotel for a while now has been offering free WiFi in all our public areas and restaurants, and we regret to hear that you could not take advantage of that.

We sincerely apologize for the technical issue you experienced and the shower flooding in your bathroom.

We are truly sorry to hear that as a result of this experience at the Petra Marriott, you also cancelled your booking at our sister Marriott Hotel at the Dead Sea, who pride themselves with their outstanding services and product.

As valued Marriott Members, we would very much appreciate if you could write to us directly, in order to assure you of our full commitment in providing a flawless experience, whether here or at any other Marriott Hotel, and to get the chance to regain your trust.

Thanking you for your valuable comments and looking forward to being of service.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Petra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Petra Hotel

Address: Taybeh Road, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Petra Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most renowned for its breathtaking views and sunsets, the Petra Marriott Hotel is located uphill, overlooking the surrounding Petra Mountains and landscape. All 100 rooms are newly renovated, with state-of-the-art furniture and decor. They are equipped with flat TVs, Cable TV Channels, Safe Box, Mini Bar, Free Coffee & Tea Making Facilities, and Iron and Iron Boards. Most rooms have beautiful mountain views. The bathrooms feature shower boxes with both regular and rain showers, and hair dryers. The Dushara is the main dining and newly renovated restaurant, serving a big selection of international buffet choices, or A La Carte menu. L'Affresco is the Italian restaurant open for dinner, offering a wide array of freshly prepared salads, antipasti, and wood oven pizzas. The Aretas & Lobby Lounge and Bar serve hot and cold beverages and snacks, with special promotions for the Sunset Hours. Both the Aretas and L'Affresco are located adjacent to the Lobby, and overlook the panoramic views. Free Wi-Fi internet is available for hotel guests in the Lobby and Public Areas. The Loofah Turkish Bath has a steam and sauna, along with its Turkish Hammam experience, in addition to a menu of other treatments. The Outdoor Pool and Pool Bar are seasonal, and the area with its tranquil location offers a unique view of the surrounding mountains. The Atagartis main meeting room can also be divided into two smaller rooms, hosting meetings and events, with natural daylight, while the windows and terraces face the Petra Mountains. The Hotel is a 10-minute drive from the Petra Archeological Site, and transport is easily arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Petra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel Petra
Marriott Petra / Wadi Musa
Petra / Wadi Musa Marriott
Marriott Petra Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Petra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.