We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property, Close to Petra, Kindest Managers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Petra Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Petra Hotel to your Saves list
Marriott Petra Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taybeh Road, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property, Close to Petra, Kindest Managers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We were so happy with the location and the appearance of this hotel. It is a beautiful hotel with two yummy restaurants - we ate in both of them. Even the prices were reasonable for the dinners. There is a free shuttle to Petra that was very handy - easy to take over and back. The room we had was very nice with a lovely view. I wish we could have used the pool - you could swim, but it was a little chilly at the end of November. We had an unusual circumstance where I broke my leg the 2nd day of climbing around Petra. We had to figure out how to do everything but the Marriott staff was absolutely amazing! When they found out I was in the local clinic/hospital, two from the hotel came and made sure that the translations were okay and I was being taken care of. I can't believe that they would go to such an extent to help my husband and me! Also, the clinic/hospital didn't have crutches or a wheelchair we could use. Thankfully the Marriott had one that we could use. They made sure we could find our way to Amman the next day. Thank you Marriott...your staff in Petra went above and beyond the call of duty!

Room Tip: My only "complaint" would be that if you get a King it feels more like two beds put togeth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Marriott Petra Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Kim C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback in Trip Advisor about your recent stay at the Petra Marriott Hotel.

As much as we were very excited and grateful for your kind comments and that you have tremendously enjoyed our services and facilities, we are so sorry to hear about the unfortunate falling accident at the Petra Site.

We sincerely hope that you are doing better now, and on behalf of the Petra Marriott Team, we wish you a speedy and complete recovery.

The Petra Marriott Staff were just doing what comes natural to them, and that is to be of service to all our valuable guests and provide the geniune care and hospitality that the Petra People are renowned for.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and to being of service.

With our sincere thanks and appreciation;

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    201
    89
    19
    8
See reviews for
103
179
38
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Hotel is lovely and very up to date. This our first night here and I must say it is amazing, the food the drinks and not to mention the view of the valley of Petra. The chef there is extremely talented and the service is quite good very chilly at the moment but if you enjoy snuggling it's the perfect place

Room Tip: Always choose a premium valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I went and stayed twice in this hotel and each time for only one night. Once was in winter and once in summer. It is only 5 minutes from the valley of Petra and it has enthralling views of the ruins. I would recommend to stay there rather than the one that is closer to Petra because it is better value for the money you pay and is not crowded with tourists. On the other hand, it is not a luxurious place but very comfortable. Slightly chilly in winter but that adds to the experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
82 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at Marriott Petra and this was more than enough. The hotel whilst clean is quite outdated. We knew the hotel was located away from the main entrance to Petra so this was not an issue for us but the hotel did try and get us to take their recommended taxi drivers and told us it would be 40 JD for a trip to Little Petra. We ended up paying 30 JD, so annoyed the hotel were trying to rip us off when they knew the price. It was costing us 5 JD each way to and from the main Petra site in a taxi as they have now stopped the free shuttle bus which again was annoying.

There are only 2 restaurants in the hotel, one buffet and one Italien which seemed to be a common theme in Jordan. We ended up having room service as hate buffet restaurants and didn't want to eat twice in the same place. The food was average but the alcoholic drinks were extortionate prices, and we are used to high prices in Dubai. The most expensive beer I've ever had!

We paid extra for the room with a view and whilst it was nice, the windows were tiny and in my opinion not worth paying for. You might as well pay less and see the view from the lobby/restaurant/bar.

All in all not a bad stay but needs some improvements.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Marriott Petra Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Nataliec_84,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your valuable comments in Trip Advisor about your recent stay at the Petra Marriott Hotel.

We appreciate your nice comments about the cleanliness and the special views from the Bar and Lobby Areas.

We are sorry to hear about the confusion in regards to the taxi prices to Little Petra. The prices we quote for our guests are the regular fees which the Taxi drivers we deal with charge. Would you be kind enough to write to us directly at the hotel email in order to verify this in more details.

As a result of our guests' feedback, we are now in the process of updating our Beverage Menus, while a new Wine Menu is already introduced, offering more competitive prices.

We sincerely thank you for your valuable support, and look forward to being of service.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Clean hotel and nice enough staff. Rate is reasonable.
There is not a gym or an exec lounge at this hotel. The Spa opens at three pm so we didn't have a chance to use it. It is a 15+ minute drive to the entrance of Petra. Even though I'm a Marriott Platinum member, I would likely stay at the Movenpick or Crowne Plaza which are right at the entrance. Must say that dinner in the Italian restaurant on-site was quite nice! Breakfast buffet was slightly below average for the Marriott's we've stayed in in Jordan.
The views are exceptional from the hotel balcony - unfortunately the rooms only have two very small windows and this was in an upgraded "View" room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zovinar M, Hotel Manager at Marriott Petra Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Justin S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback in Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Petra Marriott Hotel.

We appreicate your kind comments regarding the hotel, the staff, the cleanliness and the dinner at our Italian restaurant.

We are sorry to hear that the hours of operation for our Turkish Bath did not enable you to take advantage of the special treatments, and that our breakfast buffet was not up to your expectations.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back as a valued Platinum Guest, where the shortfall in our location and not having a Gym might be reconsidered, in exchange of the panoramic views of the Petra mountains and the serenity of our sunsets.

We thank you for your tremendous support, not just to Petra Marriott, but the Marriott Hotels overall, and assure you of our best attentions at all times.

Yours sincerely,

Zovinar Mananian (Ms)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
230 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Well appointed hotel overlooking the valley. We stayed here in half board, great buffet meal, the chefs really put in a great spread each night we were there and were very attentive making sure the buffet was well presented. The only problem with the hotel it's a long way from the entrance to Petra. I think Movenpick would be a better choice, closer to Petra and range of dining options

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

we stayed 3 days in the petra marriot hotel. we had a lovely stay with no problems, lovely hotel, the staff were excelent, food was lovely, comfortable beds with plenty of fluffy pillows. really enjoyed our stay there. would recommend to anybody. our driver fadi was more than helpful by taking us to and from the petra sight to meet our guide.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.4 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#6 of 37 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 stars 549 reviews
1.6 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 37 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,169 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#2 of 37 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 37 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
1.5 mi away
Amra Palace Hotel
Amra Palace Hotel
#9 of 37 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 stars 968 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra
#15 of 37 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Petra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Petra Hotel

Address: Taybeh Road, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marriott Petra Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most renowned for its breathtaking views and sunsets, the Petra Marriott Hotel is located uphill, overlooking the surrounding Petra Mountains and landscape. All 100 rooms are newly renovated, with state-of-the-art furniture and decor. They are equipped with flat TVs, Cable TV Channels, Safe Box, Mini Bar, Free Coffee & Tea Making Facilities, and Iron and Iron Boards. Most rooms have beautiful mountain views. The bathrooms feature shower boxes with both regular and rain showers, and hair dryers. The Dushara is the main dining and newly renovated restaurant, serving a big selection of international buffet choices, or A La Carte menu. L'Affresco is the Italian restaurant open for dinner, offering a wide array of freshly prepared salads, antipasti, and wood oven pizzas. The Aretas & Lobby Lounge and Bar serve hot and cold beverages and snacks, with special promotions for the Sunset Hours. Both the Aretas and L'Affresco are located adjacent to the Lobby, and overlook the panoramic views. Free Wi-Fi internet is available for hotel guests in the Lobby and Public Areas. The Loofah Turkish Bath has a steam and sauna, along with its Turkish Hammam experience, in addition to a menu of other treatments. The Outdoor Pool and Pool Bar are seasonal, and the area with its tranquil location offers a unique view of the surrounding mountains. The Atagartis main meeting room can also be divided into two smaller rooms, hosting meetings and events, with natural daylight, while the windows and terraces face the Petra Mountains. The Hotel is a 10-minute drive from the Petra Archeological Site, and transport is easily arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Marriott Petra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel Petra
Marriott Petra / Wadi Musa
Petra / Wadi Musa Marriott
Marriott Petra Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Petra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.