We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Petra on your doorstep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Resort Petra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Resort Petra to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 30, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Abu Dhabi
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Petra on your doorstep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Like many people have said, you only stay in this hotel for one reason; because its close to Petra. And like many people have said, you can't get closer to the entrance. (Don't be fooled by "entrance" - its still a fair walk until you get to the Siq and then more until the Treasury, but its a beautiful walk)
The hotel itself is slightly dated, but the staff are all polite, the beds are comfortable and it is clean. We had one of the chalet type rooms away from the main part of the hotel. The cave bar is a really plus. Never ate in the main restaurant apart from breakfast which is good. Fresh pancakes/eggs etc.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Petra, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear The_Clunger,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I am pleased to know that our location was suitable for your needs and found our staff polite and rooms comfortable and clean. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    100
    103
    45
    16
See reviews for
63
129
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I agree with other comments - the location is great. When I first got there, I thought the location wasn't that big a deal. The other hotels in Wadi Musa aren't that much further away. But after a day at the Petra site and the long walk back out, I was really happy not to have to walk even 10 feet further. My room (113) was quite good - two double beds (I was solo, so not great) but the room has a big outdoor deck with a table and a couple chairs. Very nice place to spend the late afternoon after a trip to Petra. Staff is friendly but they were pretty distracted when I was there - a big name visitor was coming the day after I left so there was lots of scrambling going on. Breakfast is OK - nothing special.

Key point if you are going to Petra - VERY important to understand where your hotel is. MANY hotels are well outside of Wadi Musa so you have to take a bus or taxi to get to town or to the Petra site.

Room Tip: My room, 113, had a nice terrace. There is a similar room on the floor above, but I'm not sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Food, room and facilities were all acceptable, but uninspiring. Location, right by the entrance to Petra, was perfect. The staff were friendly and welcoming, yet the hotel did not quite come up to CP standards.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Petra, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Millah A,

Thank you for taking the time to leave comments about your stay. We are glad to see the staff service was a pleasant highlight of your stay.

Thank you again for your review, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adana, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Location, food, service, nice rooms, etc.!!! I would stay at this hotel again and again! The rooms have been remodeled (based on some old pictures I see here). The food (buffet) is the best food I've ever had at a hotel (and a vast selection as well for breakfast and lunch). The staff was very friendly and helpful (very accommodating)!

Excellent hotel!

Room Tip: Stay in one of the outside rooms for a great dust and dawn view (and these rooms are larger than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here whilst visiting Petra.
The hotel is literally a 45 second walk to entrance of petra visitors.

Hotel is a little dated, but you're paying for the location rather than how good hotel is and what you can do at the hotel. I would say all the hotel amenities are a bonus as most of the time/ day will be spent touring Petra.

In all... great location, great branded hotel for comfort, cleanliness and good showers and good breakfast...not sure what else one would want when visiting Petra.

I put 4 instead of 5 due to comparing to other 5 stars we have been to....as for me..location cannot be heavily weighted for which star to give a hotel as there are other considerations.

When in Petra again...will come back to this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I actually had a positive experience with this hotel. I guess it is because we are not part of any tours....which seem to all stay in the main building. Instead we were given a really big room just above the famous cave bar with really nice open terrace. These rooms are separated from the main building and I bet it must be nicer and more expensive. Everything is perfect with a fancy washroom and hot water and air conditioning. I have no complaints. O...and we tried the buffet dinner which was pretty good just a bit expensive. Remember Movenpick ice cream is just a block away.

Room Tip: Ask for the room "outside" the hotel main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel has an excellent position being right at the entrance to Petra. However, we were given a room which required a climb of 76 steps. There were others which had more steps. To be fair we did discover a lift later which took us part way up but was not pointed out at registration. In addition the 'Cave Bar' had a wonderful atmosphere but where were the staff? Usually when we sat down we had to go and find someone to take an order. There is no swimming pool and the Wifi is not free. Definitely average after some of the wonderful other hotels we visited in Jordan (including other Crowne Plaza Hotels).

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Petra, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Stephen D,

We are disappointed to hear of the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and we can understand your frustration. We pride ourselves on delivering our guests a great experience at all times and we would like you to rest assured that the challenges you encountered are not indicative of our usual high standards. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused you and rest assured your comments have been shared accordingly.

Despite the challenges you faced we are pleased to note that you appreciated the location of our hotel, an aspect of our hotel that is preferred by many of our guests.

Sincerely,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Petra

Address: PO Box 30, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Petra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed for renovations. Set against a breathtaking view of Petra mountains lays the Crowne Plaza Resort Petra. Besides the unique view provided from the hotel's patio of the dramatic Petra Mountains, the Crowne Plaza Resort Petra is only steps away from the visitor's entrance to the siq and the old city with its world famous archaeological sites. Crowne Plaza Resort Petra offers 147 rooms including 3 suites and 30 superior rooms. 31 hillside chalets tucked into the Petra rock face overlooking the visitor's entrance the site. Facilities include: Heated outdoor swimming pool and 3 Restaurants, lobby bar, evening cocktail lounge with dance floor, conference room, 2000 year old 'Nabatean Tomb' the Cave Bar is fronted with a large piazza ideal for groups and incentive gatherings with space to cater for up to 200 guests are some of our services, dining & entertainments. Don't miss out visiting The Basin Restaurant in the old city with its exceptional settings for lunch. Outside catering can be arranged by our staff in a variety of unique locations outside the hotel, and local entertainment will bring traditional flavor to your event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Crowne Plaza Hotel Petra
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Resort Petra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.