We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and company under the stars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rock Camp

The Rock Camp
Beidha, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good food and company under the stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We spent a lovely evening at the Rock Camp and had lovely food, music and company at a fab bedouin camp under the stars. I understand you can spend the night there if you wish although we only went for the evening.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    11
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Glorious food in atmospheric location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We went here for dinner as part of a Jules Verne Tour, the food was cooked in a steel drum underground and served by friendly, cheerful people. We enjoyed the entertainment and would recommend the experience. Wonderful dark sky to see the stars too.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful and so Hospitable!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We journeyed here for a meal after visiting Little Petra (YOU MUST GO)
We weren't sure what to expect, we had no reservation, and we're off season.
The man at the gate said there was no one available to cook (as there were no guests or reservations) but immediately phone the owner. After exploring their camp (fabulous) for a few minutes, the camp employee asked us to remain, said the owner insisted on sending over his chef to cook for us! We absolutely could not take advantage of his hospitality, and told him we would return on our next journey to Jordan.
We were all amazed and honored at how the owner was willing to go out of his way cook last minute for 4 people.
So, although we did not dine there, I wanted to share our very positive experience with you.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Jordanian evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Shame we were the only group in at the time. Mezza good. Lamb baked over charcoal buried in a box in the sand very tender. Chance to have a go at stretching and cooking the flat bread used to dip in hummus. Able to have alcoholic drinks which was good as often can only have soft drinks. Had kohl applied to eyes and had finger henna painted. Beware it takesa longer than 30 mintes to dry! Worth a visit, we paid 15 JD plus money for drinks. Couldnt eat all the food as food portions very generous

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was included as part of our Jules Verne Discover Jordan holiday, and we are so glad that we it was! An evening out not to be missed. An authentic meal in Bedouin tents away from the world. Beautifully cooked traditional food, good music, very friendly people and a wonderful atmosphere in amazing surroundings.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rock Camp also viewed

Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
 
Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
 

Been to The Rock Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rock Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.