We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view from communal area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rocky Mountain Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rocky Mountain Hotel
Main Street, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing view from communal area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

A good budget place to use a base for exploring Petra. We stayed in a double room which had air con, TV (with FoxMovies!), comfy bed and a decent size ensuite. Everything was very clean and the views over Wadi Musa were INCREDIBLE! Jane (the British owner) was really friendly and helpful. The breakfast was decent and the free tea and coffee available all day was a nice touch. The best feature to the hotel is the communal area on the top floor (where breakfast is served) which has a panoramic view over Wadi Musa and is the perfect place to rest your feet after a tiring day exploring Petra. The only downside to the property was the location. It's at the top of the hill and so walking to/from the town can be troublesome. They do provide a free shuttle to/from the entrance to Petra but if you decide to eat in town for dinner (ask Jane for some good recommendations) then you need to be prepared to walk up the steep hill!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    75
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
75
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

After spending a couple of days in the cold and hiking further north, by the time I got to Wadi Musa I was looking for somewhere quiet, with good food, a comfortable bed and most importantly a decent shower. Travelling on a budget, I also needed somewhere that had rooms at a reasonable price.

I had read about the Rocky Mountain hotel and asked my driver to drop me there. He said it was far away from the Petra gate, but this didn't matter at all in the end. The hotel has a free shuttle in both the morning and the evening to/from Petra. Or you can a taxi there and back for quite cheap.

I got a single room with ensuite at this hotel, and it cost me the price of a single room in a hostel. The shower was hot with good pressure. The bed was comfortable and the room wasn't too hot or cold.

I didn't make a reservation for the hotel, I just turned up and was lucky they had space for me. Unfortunately it meant I couldn't get a room with a view, but you could go and sit or eat in the restaurant upstairs which has views over the town and towards the mountains of Petra.

The staff at the hotel were both friendly and helpful. As I was travelling solo, they spoke with other travellers for me to see who wanted to do similar trips so we could share transport and save costs.

The food at the restaurant upstairs was also very good (bedouin style food) and there was plenty to go round.

A great spot if you are looking for a place to spend a few days in Petra, relax, feel comfortable and don't mind being away from the main centre of town (which is really only a ten-minute walk).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahab
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I was with my mom and her friend in Petra Dec 2011, for the 3rd time. the other times the hotel was always the only disappointing experience in Petra. So this time we made an effort in finding a good hotel, with warm rooms and hot water! Not only did we get a good room for 3 people with nice heating (it is cold in Petra in the winter) and nice hot water, but we also met lovely people! The owner are amazingly friendly and helpful. I am sure I will go back to Petra again and with out a doubt I will stay at rocky mountain again.
Lotta :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for 1night only and the price is reasonable for this type of hotel but do not expect too much. We made booking thru booking.com and they lost that so it took like 30min before they found out if they have some room for us. We were lucky they still had but with a bad view to the "garden". Our reservation was saying flat TV but there was the old type...I have no clue regarding the programs, we were not there for the Tv, just to say it did not match with the information from the reservation.

Be aware that the rooms are quiet small but clean and if you arrive in the time of cold weather it can happened you get very cold room and it took like 45min before we had a good temperature in our room so not so pleasant start.

Hot water is available in the evening from 18-22:00 and it has enough strong stream so hot shower after long day is very pleasant. There are hot water morning hours too but I am not sure about the schedule.

Breakfast - interesting carpet room with nice view on Petra. The offer is limited - sweet yoghurt, eggs - omelets, jam. if you like to eat some musli or corny, bring your owen.

We were not excited for the hotel at all due to the really bad start but anyway it is somehow reasonable for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors - if available to have the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

After a terrible stay at the shockingly bad Karak Rest House, my wife and I made an early departure and reached Petra--and the wonderful Rocky Mountain Hotel--early, and far before check-in time. However, Jane, the face and soul of the hotel, greeted us, stored our luggage for us, suggested routes through Petra, and explained where we could find some food beforehand--despite suffering from a terrible flu! She proved an excellent host over the two nights we stayed, helpful and interesting, as we discussed how a Brit/Kiwi ends up running a hotel in Petra.

The hotel itself is great, and fantastic value. Rooms are clean, beds very firm and comfortable, and the water hot. The terraced roof is a definite highlight: with a glorious view over the city, it's a fantastic place to watch the sun set and watch the lights come on and dot the horizon. The evening dinner is excellent: I normally prefer to head into town to find something to eat, but after a day of trekking through Petra, the dinner (chicken, rice, veg, tasty) was a welcome alternative. Breakfast is fine as well: hummus, jams, tea/coffee, bread, and a very fluffy omlet cooked fresh. Only the packed lunch was a bit disappointing: the sandwich was perfect for a Petra break, but the rest was a bit too much junk-food heavy for my taste.

A fantastic place from which to launch your exploration of Petra! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Jane is a fantastic host at this brillant budget hotel in Wadi Musa near Petra.

Rooms are clean and well-maintained and there is an fantastic sheltered roof terrace decorated in Bedouin style serving free coffee & tea all day and all night.

There is a dinner served for a reasonable price at the roof terrace (buffet style) and they are also able to make delicious lunch packs to take to Petra for only 4JD.

It is on the outskirts of Wadi Musa, but they will drive you to Petra and pick you up - or you can always walk (about 15 minutes).

Will happily stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just perfect if you want superb views over Petra's mountains(from the folksy lounge/dining room and balconies),helpful staff,excellent hearty local food cooked by Bedouin staff,and comfortable rooms at a very reasonable $40 a night for a single.The owner or her partner personally deliver and pick you up at the main entrance to Petra Gorge daily at prearranged times,and Jane is a fountain of info on Petra and Jordan.Highlight for me was a spectacular lightning and rain storm that dazzled everyone in the hotel as it lit up the Petra Range for hours from our eerie under the hotel roof.The flash floods had receded by the time we splashed through the narrow gorge to the Treasury next morning!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms give you direct access to the spectacular views from each floor at no extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rocky Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Hotel

Address: Main Street, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management (Atef and Jane from Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp), the Rocky Mountain Hotel is an informal, family run hotel very close to the town center and offers its guests spectacular views. All rooms are freshly renovated and have air conditioning and satellite TV. There is a free shuttle service and free Wi-Fi. Traditional breakfast is included in the price of the room and dinner is available at night on the arabic style rooftop terrace. Snacks are available during the day and lunch boxes need to be ordered the night before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Rocky Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.