We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to petra gate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Hotel Petra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Maison Hotel Petra to your Saves list
La Maison Hotel Petra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tourism Street | Behind Movenpick Resort Petra, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
beirut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“close to petra gate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

this is the closest hotel to petra gate. only two minutes walk to get there.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.breakfast is not included in the room charge so take care .
restaurant on roof have food smell so sit outside.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    105
    80
    46
    17
See reviews for
52
119
46
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Qatar
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Stayed in the hotel for one night; should have stayed at least 2 to appreciate Petra better. The rooms are fine to spend the night, not fancy (but then again why do you want to spend time in the hotel when you can be inside Petra?). The location is great, walking distance to the park entrance; and the price is more reasonable that the other hotels within this distance to the park. Forgot my daugther glasses and the staff very helpfull and shipped them to our home. Tried the buffet and restaurant on the roof top (including shisha); good selection and also reasonable priced.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Nice clean place, just on the edge of the tourists hustle and bustle but close enough to have it all within waling distance; about 800 yards away from the Gate to Petra.. Good food and friendly people. The rooms are not big but have everything you need except a fridge...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night. The rooms definitely had their best time 10 years ago and the quality is very basic but clean. The AC does make more noise than to produce cold air. We did not try the breakfast nor buffet. We did however used the rooftop restaurant with a great view over Petra by night and shisha offers. This is clearly a budget hotel with an outstanding service mentality however. Throughout good experience. Given the price range I would recommend staying here, so close to the Petra visitors center.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

" Yeah.... finally I land in this hotel by last moment booking, Once arrived I was impressed with extreanl view but sadly end up with crazy situation.

If you are person looking for economical and closer to petra this one is worthy to book, sametime Interanally nothing so good,

TV not working, WiFi damn slow, no option on food, window AC annoys, No complement water bottle.

Breakfast was ok....

Only thing I appreciate room is clean, house keeping can be improved sadly not very good English by staff to make them understand your needs.

Finaly I recommend only for people who just throw their baggage and start discovering the petra which is just 500mtr away from the hotel.

Don't forget to start early morning 5am so that you can avoid crowd in ptera treasury.

My disappointment hotel taken away by this beautiful magnifying .... Indian Jones treasure :-).

Note: Please carry water bottle and boot for walking in ruf n tuf rocky path otherwise horse and donkey rides can save you...."

Enjoy and post your comment if pass by this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This was an awful experience that almost ruins our trip.

We shouldn't have done it, but we left a wallet with money inside one of the suitcases while we visited Petra during the day. 100 euros and 400 shekels were stolen from the suitcase. Someone went through our stuff (because you couldn't see it if you weren't looking for it) and took all our money.

We left for Wadi Rum and then to the border. We did not realize until we had to pay the border fee and we had no money at all! we know for sure it was in this hotel because after leaving it we kept our bags with us at all times.

As soon as we found a wifi, I reached the hotel manager explaining what happened thinking that maybe he would do some research and found the person who did it, but his answer was that it was not possible as they have cctv cameras in the building... indeed he was quite unpolite and did not believe us at all.

I don't want an answer or comment from him now. I only wanna warn people who stay in this hotel to be careful about their personal belongings. Don't leave anything in the room while you are away!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Location - can't be beat. Quality of the hotel - super.

Staff / experience - "lacking" is a good word.

I've never actually experienced such blatant racism before. Twice, with two different staff members at breakfast, I was proactively asked, "where are you from?" and when I said "Canada" the person grunted and took away whatever food item from which I was currently serving myself at the table. My jaw dropped both times. I was once left holding the jam spoon as the staff member took all the jam away.

The front desk staff were another matter. Very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison Hotel Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Hotel Petra

Address: Tourism Street | Behind Movenpick Resort Petra, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Maison Hotel Petra 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enthralling unique spot , five minutes walking distance from the Jordanian world wonder ; the Red Rose City of Petra , and not far from the Mövenpick RESORT PETRA - . La Maison Hotel - Petra has set up an upscale identity after a complete renovation to create a modern 3 starts Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Maison Hotel Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Hotel Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Hotel Petra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.