We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Notes” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Hotel Petra

Save Saved
You added La Maison Hotel Petra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Maison Hotel Petra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tourism Street | Behind Movenpick Resort Petra, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 35 hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Notes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We were ten cyclists went to la maison hotel and had a reservation for 1 night, the hotel was informed that we have bicycles and we need to store it, unfortunately when we checked in they informed us that they don't have a storage room to store the bicycles, it was disappointing, at the same time a hotel near by offered us to store our bicycles in there storage for free (silk road hotel)

* at night we came back from the touristic site and we asked the receptionist to give us our room key, and he just gave me the key without checking my identification or passport so I'm sure he can give the key to anyone from the street

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    93
    73
    40
    17
See reviews for
47
111
36
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My husband I and stayed at the La Maison for 2 nights in February. We picked this hotel because of it's close proximity to the Petra Visitors Centre and the bus pick-up and drop-off point (both just a 3 minute walk). There are also quite a few popular restaurants down the hill from the hotel, about 3-5 min walk away.

We arrived early morning and our room wasn't ready yet, however the staff let us leave our luggage with them so we could still go out and explore Petra.

The room was nice and tidy, and fairly spacious with a good sized bathroom. As soon as we got to the room we noticed the dead-lock on the door was broken (the chain had come off) and we asked the hotel to fix it. I had to call the front desk twice to get maintenance to come up and look at it. The guy looked at it, left, then came back and said he couldn't fix it....while making us feel like it was stupid to be asking for the lock to be fixed in the first place..but we take our security seriously!

The second day we had a shower there was no hot water. It was barely luke warm. Luckily the room heating was working.

Our room rate didn't include breakfast, but we ordered a packed breakfast to go. It was 6 JOD per person. One breakfast was more than enough for 2 people. The only problem I had was that there was no plastic knife to butter our bread with. We got given a variety of spreads, jams, honey but it was all a bit pointless without a knife.

I wouldn't really recommend this hotel - overall we enjoyed our stay and the price was right, but there are other similar priced hotels around Petra to try, hopefully hotels with hot water!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This hotel is in the perfect location being only a 3 minute walk away from Petra visitors center. Also the staff here are professional and friendly. The room was clean.

We booked this hotel with a double room and ended up with two single beds. We had no kettle which was disappointing. We have to ask at reception for a hair drier, when a member of staff finally bought it to our room, I wondered what the hell it was!! Such a weird looking thing but it did the job. The breakfast wasn't great. The coffee tasted awful, bread was stale. WARNING... Do not try the stuff that looks like blackberry yoghurt as that may put you of your food for the rest of the day! I stuck to salad, cheese and cakes. The worst complaint we have is the shower. The curtains are too short and the shower head aims away from the cubicle so we had to hold the shower whilst washing to avoid a flood in the bathroom.


Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This was the best hotel i've stayed in jordan.
Hot water,very good service and most important 2 minutes walking distance from petra's main entrance. great food buffet, lunch was also good. enjoy your visit

Room Tip: you can get
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We were booked into La Maison by our tour company as part of a 2 day package, breakfast and dinner included. Both meals were plentiful, if a little bland. We found the service people to be polite and friendly, Check in and out was efficient and quick. The room was adequate, sheets a bit worn. The shower was a challenge: the shower curtain was against the toilet and outside the shower pan, there was no way to keep the water inside the pan. I spent about 10 minutes trying to soak up the water on the floor with towels, then took the small lid off the drain and swept the water into the drain.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We recently visited Petra to experience Petra by night. We stayed at La Maison for one night and our experience at this hotel was just terrible. The hotel's proximity to the Petra Visitor center is the only plus for this hotel. The customer service, dinner options and the breakfast buffet was exceptionally bad.While this place makes economical sense, we were appalled when we realised that our car, which we had handed over to the hotel valet in the night on the insistance of the manager, was misused by the hotel staff. The car's milage showed that the car had run for 125 kms after we had left the car at the valet. Also, the back seat had cigaret ash all over, chips and chocolate on the car floor. My husband and I realised this only after we had gone a few kms from Petra, when my husband observed that the fuel was very low( we had filled up full tank at Amman that afternoon). We tried reaching the hotel manager to complain and ask how this unprofessional behaviour could have occurred but neither the hotel staff nor the manager was reachable. We decided to go ahead to Aqaba and not ruin the day any more but if we had the luxury of time, these folks would have been reported to the cops.

Room Tip: Skip this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Average room, TERRIBLE "breakfast", and they charged our CC withOUT authorization after threatening us about something that was THEIR fault

First, checking in was a nightmare. There was a deal online, and although it made economical sense for them to give us the deal in person, they refused. We had to use their wifi to book the deal through hotels.com... thus they lost even more money since hotels.com charges them commission. While we were very casually trying to sort this out, the guy at the desk was very quick to snap at us and was very rude when we asked totally normal, calm questions... just uncalled for.

Room was ok... no hot water though... it was shut off or something and we had to call but then they said it would take 2 hours... Next day there was only hot water in the morning.

WORST PART:
Our confirmation email said "Includes: Free Breakfast, Free Wifi"
So we went down and had the breakfast the next morning. They took our room number, then brought out coffee (instant only.. blech) and then the main dishes... DISGUSTING. The worst tasting hummus that we had in our whole time in Jordan (3 weeks)... old, sour and extremely wrinkled, stale olives... stale bread.. some spam looking meat and a bit of cheese and jam.
We ate it though, most of it.. the olives simply were past due though, since we were on a tight budget and since it we had specifically sought out a hotel with Bfast included to save money.
As we started back up to our hotel room to grab our bag and head over to Petra, the desk man and the man who was serving us stammered something like, "uh, breakfast extra charge..... (awkward pause)"... we then started asking them what they meant, was very confused when they said it was not included... showed them the email confirmation we got and they just looked stupified. They said NOTHING helpful, it seemed even though our email CLEARLY said breakfast was included, they were going to try to get us to pay a separate fee anyway. We were a bit annoyed, but then asked if we could come talk later because we wanted to head out for the day to Petra.
Came back later, a new desk man was there and he had us sign for the room, said nothing about the breakfast, so we figured it was settled and they had corrected the error.
Next morning we were leaving early, breakfast wasn't even available yet, the other desk man was back and very rudely accused us of never coming back to talk to him about the breakfast. We told him we did and signed for the room and again he just looked stupefied. He said they called Hotesl.com (later found out they most definitely did NOT as I spoke to Hotels.com myself after this terrible ordeal), and said we had to pay for the breakfast. Over $15 per person for that crap! Unbelievable! We said we were not going to pay. If there was such a mistake and it was not included, they should have mentioned it when we sat down... they took our room number BEFORE we started eating so had plenty of time to tell us and it could have been sorted out beforehand... they handled it SO badly. Then, the restaurant manager came out and started threatening us, belittling us and acting very rude. Said he didn't care and he was going to charge us anyway, without our authorization. We tried to rationalize and explain everything to him again, but he just kept interrupting us.

ABSURD. They did charge us and our cc company helped us block it. We contacted Hotels.com about it, they apologized, called them and then refunded part of our stay for the whole ordeal. Hotels.com is awesome.. they understand that when there is a mistake, the customer is right and you should treat them with respect!

TERRIBLE HORRIBLE PLACE!

Room Tip: There is NO pool, NO fitness center, most rooms are smoking rooms so they smell awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Maison Hotel Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Hotel Petra

Address: Tourism Street | Behind Movenpick Resort Petra, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Maison Hotel Petra 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enthralling unique spot , five minutes walking distance from the Jordanian world wonder ; the Red Rose City of Petra , and not far from the Mövenpick RESORT PETRA - . La Maison Hotel - Petra has set up an upscale identity after a complete renovation to create a modern 3 starts Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your La Maison Hotel Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Hotel Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Hotel Petra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.