We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That is what you need in petra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Hotel Petra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Maison Hotel Petra to your Saves list
La Maison Hotel Petra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tourism Street | Behind Movenpick Resort Petra, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“That is what you need in petra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at the La Maison in Wadi Musa and used it as our homebase to spend three days touring Petra. Most hotels in the area have to ferry their guests to the ruins, but this hotel is located right next to the entrance. Our room was very affordable, a good size and everything was sparkly clean. Best of all was the service at the hotel, from the front desk to the dining room, all were knowledgeable and friendly and they made our stay truly memorable. The breakfast buffet was the best that we found in Jordan! We highly recommend La Maison (it is listed as the Petra Inn in the current issue of Lonely Planet - Jordan), it's a great deal and a wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud F, General Manager at La Maison Hotel Petra, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Esteemed Online Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to the La Maison Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Mahmoud Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    105
    80
    47
    17
See reviews for
52
119
46
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
İstanbul, Türkiye
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

La Maison is very close to the Petra entrence. Just 5-10 mins walk away. Our room was quite, new and clean but sheets were not. Air condition is very strong which you'll highly need.
The staff is very helpful. They offer a tasty welcome tea at the reception.
This was one of our good experience within Jordan considering the price level & location.The only bad thing that I can say with this hotel is stained sheets.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud F, General Manager at La Maison Hotel Petra, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Esteemed Online Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to the La Maison Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Mahmoud Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located within a 10-minute walk from the main gate of Petra. The room is clean and fulfils the basic needs. The staff was courteous and service was beyond what expected: I was able to check-in at 10am upon my arrival from Amman on Jett bus; the breakfast starts at 6:30am the receptionist kindly reminded me to grab some food for catching the only bus heading Wadi Rum early in the morning. All in all, it's worth every penny.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud F, General Manager at La Maison Hotel Petra, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Esteemed Online Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to the La Maison Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Mahmoud Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This was one of our better experiences within Jordan.... The beds were awesome, and the sheets were very clean... Overall the hotel was great, an extremely close to anything you would want too see in these parts! Service was good. They say the internet is accessible from your room, but it's not we had to go to the lobby each time we wanted to search something....

I cant tell you how much I loved these little beds, they were like your own personal pod, and after sooo much traveling its a great bed to look forward too.... The breakfast buffet was poor, I wouldn't pay extra for it, especially if you are on a budget....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud F, General Manager at La Maison Hotel Petra, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Esteemed Online Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to the La Maison Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Mahmoud Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The hotel was within walking distance from the entrance to Petra site.

Breakfast was very good and abundant.

Rooms were on the small side and the bathroom was average.

Although the bedlinen and towels were clean, I felt that cleanliness was not thorough. There were many hairs in the shower drain which I found disgusting!

I had an unpleasant experience with regards to the A/C and the way the receptionist handled the matter. We spent just one night in this hotel, and it was very hot and stuffy when we got there. I switched on the A/C and within minutes realized that it was not working. I called up reception to inquire about it. The receptionist said he would check with the technicians and get back to me. He didn't. After an hour and a half I called reception again and he told me that he had checked with the technicians and they had told him that given the time of the year, there was no need to switch the A/C on! First of all I thought that he could have bothered to call back to inform me about this, and secondly, I felt that it was up to me to decide if the A/C was needed on or not! That's why there is a knob by which the hotel guest can regulate it from his/her room! I insisted that I wanted the A/C on because the heat was unbearable. The receptionist said he would get back to me. He did and said that he spoke to the technicians and they told them that the A/C is not working but that it will be working tomorrow! (I would be gone tomorrow). This second version shows that his first version was a lie! I just can't stand being lied to! I then insisted that an insect screen be brought to the room so I could at least open the window. An insect screen (a very dirty one in fact) was brought to the room and having the window open helped.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

stayed 2 nights and it was great.
Rooms are clean, hot water and all. We booked one room for 3 people and got two rooms for the same price which is by the way very very cheap considering the hotel and location. It is really less than 5 mins from the ticket office of the Petra entrance.
Staff was great and restaurant was fine. not great food but fine. They have wine, beer and all you need. Don't be fooled by the amount of over 60 year olds in this hotel. if they are here it's because it's good! Clients were mostly French, German and Dutch (they have magazines in those languages in the lobby)
We did the booking via email and everything was fine.
They even have a car park right in front of the hotel if you have a rental car, or a massive one about 2 minutes walk away(between Petra Entrance and the hotel)
The hotel manager pointed to us a little sharwarma place in the centre of town that was great and cheap (for petra - not for the middle east).
I will definitely go back to this hotel if i go back to Petra!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud F, General Manager at La Maison Hotel Petra, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Esteemed Online Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to the La Maison Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Mahmoud Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bari, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Considering the price, this is a very good choice. It's only 5 min on foot from the entrance to Petra site. The room was quite spacious and new. The bathroom and the room were clean but not the sheets and I had the staff to change them. At the reception they offer an excellent welcome tea. The staff is helpful and kind. I didn't have breakfast, nor lunch or dinner, so I can't judge on the quality of the food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud F, General Manager at La Maison Hotel Petra, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Esteemed Online Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to the La Maison Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Mahmoud Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison Hotel Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Hotel Petra

Address: Tourism Street | Behind Movenpick Resort Petra, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Maison Hotel Petra 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enthralling unique spot , five minutes walking distance from the Jordanian world wonder ; the Red Rose City of Petra , and not far from the Mövenpick RESORT PETRA - . La Maison Hotel - Petra has set up an upscale identity after a complete renovation to create a modern 3 starts Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Maison Hotel Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Hotel Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Hotel Petra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.