We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay at La Maison Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Hotel Petra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Maison Hotel Petra to your Saves list
La Maison Hotel Petra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tourism Street | Behind Movenpick Resort Petra, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good stay at La Maison Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had a pleasant stay at La Maison hotel, good location, only few minutes from Petra entrance. No waste time at 2 day Petra hiking while other hotels are miles away. Clear room and free internet facility, well-trained staff at counter and dining room. Wish to come back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud F, General Manager at La Maison Hotel Petra, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Esteemed Online Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to the La Maison Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Mahmoud Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    105
    80
    47
    17
See reviews for
52
119
46
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broseley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights last week when visiting Petra. There are lots of positive things to say about this hotel, particularly its location behind the Movenpick, making it minutes from the main gate to the Petra area. For 2 nights, we paid £56 which is unbelievable when you think that for the same period, the Movenpick in front was over £700. The other big positive is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff - giving me access to the front desk PC to check in for our flights at 4:20am on the day of departure, and also making up some breakfast for my wife when she was under the weather on our first day.

...there are some things that were quirky and 'Fawlty Towers-esque', the wireless connection seemed to go on and off as the wind changed direction; the toilet seat and lid came off in my hands when lifting the seat off; and at various times of the day there was no hot water. We tended to be late down to breakfast at around 9am, and by this stage it was pretty woeful, the only palatable food was the cereal, juice, and the toast.

On the whole, it was a good place to rest our heads, you certainly can forgive a lot when you are paying so little, and the smiling helpful staff make up for the shortcomings.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud F, General Manager at La Maison Hotel Petra, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Esteemed Online Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to the La Maison Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Mahmoud Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Good location to visit Petra. Hotel public areas good.
I'm lucky though ... I have a toilet seat that's fixed, I have air conditioning blowing although it's not even cool air, my bed hasn't broken yet or my bathroom flooded with unmentionable dirty water like other guests.
I did have the chair break and collapse beneath me in the dining room at night.
With some care and repair this could be good but not yet.
At least the towels were changed and bed made fresh.

Food - wide choice, seems fresh enough but not exciting.

Room Tip: Apparently mezzanine floor has view of building site. No bannister rail on stairs and only one lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud F, General Manager at La Maison Hotel Petra, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Esteemed Online Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate to us on Tripadvisor why we did not meet your expectations. We have every desire to address these points internally and provide the best solution available to resolve this issue as soon as possible.

We can be in contact with you via email and or thru telephone to make our best attempt in regaining your confidence in our Hotel. In addition, we will further evaluate how we can prevent this problem from occurring again in the future.

Please accept our sincerest apology for any trouble or inconvenience we have caused you. Again, we highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied Guest. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied guest and will hope to serve you again in the future.

Thank you,

Mahmoud Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Hotel was booked for 2 nights as part of standard accommodations package. Rooms were clean and comfortable but we didn't have a hot shower whilst there and it only got to warm. It may have gotten hot but in a country that is short of water we didn't want to waste this precious resource. First dinner and breakfast we were on our own in the restaurant and a set menu was prepared for us. Needn't have worried, I think the chef put thought into where his clients were from and the meals were very good. Next evening and for the following breakfast, buffets were prepared which were excellent. The food was well prepared, well presented, interesting and a good variety of western and Middle East cuisines. Staff were very professional and friendly also.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud F, General Manager at La Maison Hotel Petra, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Esteemed Online Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to the La Maison Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Mahmoud Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Not one of the large chains, this wonderful smaller hotel is very near the entrance to Petra. You can not imagine how important this will be to you until you spend the day hiking through Petra. The hotel is not only convenient, but very comfortable with a friendly helpful staff. And the food was very good, too.
We were celebrating our wedding anniversary. The staff responded with the special decorations in our room.
We will stay here again when we return to Petra.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud F, General Manager at La Maison Hotel Petra, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Esteemed Online Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to the La Maison Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Mahmoud Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

The location is fantastic being right next to the ancient city of Petra Gate, Five or so minutes walk. Very clean and comfortable rooms, Excellent service warm family atmosphere and wana mention the delicious food and wonderful staff.
Chad F

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud F, General Manager at La Maison Hotel Petra, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Esteemed Online Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to the La Maison Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Mahmoud Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The location of this reasonably priced hotel just a five minute walk from the entrance gate, albeit up a steep hill on the way back, is superb, only really beaten by the much more expensive Movenpick. We travelled as part of a group and were initially allocated a twin room, the helpful staff at the desk managed to get this changed to a double on our return after an afternoon visit to the archeological site. After having spent the previous night under the stars at Wadi Rum we all needed a quick shower, the lack of hot water ensured that we all had the briefest of showers.
The room was comfortable enough, although the AC seemed to have two main settings, off or Artic Breeze. Whatever time you decide to set your alarm, you will always be woken first by the call to prayer from the nearby mosque, which I think adds to the atmosphere and reminds you that you are in the Middle East. Breakfast was a very simple affair, with a selection of foods presented on a single plate, we were the first in the dining room at 6:30, so whether this was always the case, I don't know.
In conclusion, if I was looking for a reasonably priced, comfortable room close to the main gate of the archeological site with helpful staff, I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud F, General Manager at La Maison Hotel Petra, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Esteemed Online Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We were delighted to read you were happy with the hotel and it's services on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to the La Maison Hotel next time you travel to Petra.

Thank you and please accept our sincere appreciation

Mahmoud Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison Hotel Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Hotel Petra

Address: Tourism Street | Behind Movenpick Resort Petra, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Maison Hotel Petra 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enthralling unique spot , five minutes walking distance from the Jordanian world wonder ; the Red Rose City of Petra , and not far from the Mövenpick RESORT PETRA - . La Maison Hotel - Petra has set up an upscale identity after a complete renovation to create a modern 3 starts Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Maison Hotel Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Hotel Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Hotel Petra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.