We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp to your Saves list
Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp
Little Petra, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Value Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

After reading the reviews in TA for accommodation in Petra, our group of seven decided it was far better to be unhappy in a cheap hotel than unhappy in an expensive hotel and looked further afield. We contacted Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp and received great advice on how best to spend the short two days we had. With this in mind and thanks to TA reviews decided to book four tents and found the experience a wonderful adventure and great value. Warm, clean and very friendly with great food and lots of warm blankets. We were amazed at how much warmth the tents do hold. Although a 15 minute drive from the entrance to Petra, transportation can easily be arranged so don’t let this stop you from experiencing desert life in a Bedouin camp.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    44
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
50
81
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Great experience staying at the camp with great food. One of my most memorable new years eves ever!

Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

The magnificent ancient city of Petra is now served by the largely forgettable tourist town of Wadi Musa. It is neither attractive nor particularly welcoming, so for your visit to Petra you can do no better than to retreat a few miles out of town to this delightful and friendly Bedouin style tourist camp.

Located about 15 minutes drive from Petra (and your hosts will be happy to shuttle you to or from the Petra Visitor Centre) the camp is tucked out of sight from the road to Little Petra behind a small range of hills. Access is along an unmade track that is accessible (with care - I got a puncture) by most cars.

Accommodation is offered in permanent Bedouin style tents. The accommodations are basic, but very comfortable. Even visiting in the depths of the Jordanian winter (when it was cold enough to leave frost on our car) we were provided with plenty of blankets and were perfectly warm. Electricity is available after sunset until about 23:00 or midnight, and candles and gas lights are available until sunrise. A small and basic toilet and shower block is also available, with a surprisingly hot and strong supply of water.

As we arrived, Sammy our announced "welcome to your home", and he and his colleagues went out of their way to exceed this claim over the next two nights. We were welcomed around the camp fire and provided with extensive recommendations and advice for visits to Petra, Little Petra and other areas in Jordan. Dinner is prepared and served communally, with traditional Jordanian and Bedouin dishes served either outdoors or in one of the main tents. Breakfast included freshly cooked eggs, hummus, cheese and flatbread. Vegetarians and those with particular dietary requirements are very welcome. Consider paying a few extra dinar for a packed lunch box to take with you into Petra, as eating options are extremely limited once inside.

The fireside conversations with Sammy, his friends and fellow guests were some of the warmest and most appreciated nights we spent in Jordan. Thoroughly recommended as an enchanting place to stay during your visit to Petra.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Spent one night at the camp while visiting Petra for a few days. It was so peaceful and beautiful. The camp was surprisingly warm considering the weather in December. The tents were comfortable and lots of blankets to stay warm. The food was excellent and traditional. Hot tea always available. The staff were very helpful with directions for hikes to Little Petra. They provided transportation to and from the camp with no problem. Well worth the experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed here for three nights, spent two days around Petra and ate all dinners at the camp. The managers can make any arrangements needed in both Petra and Wadi Rum and staff were all very friendly and helpful. The camp setting is beautiful and only a five minute drive from the visitors center in Petra. The highlight of our trip was a horseback ride through the desert to the monastery on well maintained arabians - a top five travel experience for a well traveled hobo. . There is some first class bouldering/treking in the area as Petra is all petrified sandstone.

The downside of seven wonders includes average food and a very smoky central tent - a tough thing when it's cold out. Value is OK, but if they get these two issues resolved, it would be a great value.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

I was amazed by the hospitality at Seven Wonders. We arrived in darkness and found that we were the only ones staying there that night. (Evidently the unrest elsewhere in the Middle East is causing people to cancel plans to visit peaceful and safe Jordan.) Regardless they fired up the generators, pulled out plates of food, and treated us like royalty. I'm sure they spent more on gas than we did on our stay. They gave us insights into the region, offered us advice on what to do, and never once exerted pressure on us to do anything. I was a bit worried about staying here because it wasn't listed in the Rough Guide. Evidently it's too new to be listed. Don't make the mistake I almost did - stay at Seven Wonders!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

We had a 2 night stay in the camp. It was super romantic and off the beaten track, very nice with all the lights at night.
Food and staff where super. I had arranged al my transfers ( from wadi rum, dead sea) and paid a fair price. Looks like they run the place with their family and that gave us a trust in them.
We had some problems with creditcard, even then, it was possible to pay later. They said: It's not the time to worry, just enjoy jordan!! FANTASTIC mentality! Very easy the arrange pickup from the camp to petra.Stay at least 2 nights in petra to enjoy all the nice things.
The tents where very comfy compared with the tents in wadi rum.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp

Address: Little Petra, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
7 Wonders Bedouin Camp
Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.