We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location, great atmosphere, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petra Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Petra Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Petra Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 30 | Petra gate area, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 35 hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
La Chapelle-en-Serval, France
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best location, great atmosphere, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 nights stay in the triple room at the Petra Guest House.
The rooms are arranged like small appartments with a great view. The room and the amenities are fine. The service is very good and professional.
You can enjoy dinner on the terrasse in a lovely setting.
The breakfast is ok, and there is definitely there some room for improvement. Consider coming early (especially when visiting Petra), because after 8.30 it feels a bit like you are disturbing the set up for the lunch... (though breakfast is open until 10.30)
The wifi connection is not very convenient, but with the help of the reception you will eventually get it working.
Overall this hotel is a very good choice, and you cannot get any closer to the entrance of the site!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    167
    41
    10
    8
See reviews for
54
158
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, NZ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed for one night when visiting Petra. It was perfectly adequate. The location was unbeatable and service excellent. The breakfast and dinner buffets were very god. And the Cave Bar was great fun the night I stayed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay very much. We spent 8 hours at Petra, so were very glad that the hotel was immediately outside the entrance. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The dinner and breakfast buffets were very good. Although wifi was not free, I only paid about $1.40 for one hour of internet. After climbing around Petra all day, we were happy to rest in a pleasant place. If I were to return to Petra, I would stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights here whilst visiting Petra. The hotel is perfectly placed right next to the entrance to the Petra site, and this is most welcome as you tend to be quite tired after a hard day of sightseeing. 'Guesthouse' is a bit misleading, it is Crowne Plaza hotel, with the comfort and quality you would expect. Our room (339) was spacious and well equipped with good air-con. The breakfast buffet was excellent. We arrived back one morning after our 7 am visit to the high place of sacrifice to avoid the heat and crowds, getting back with only two minutes to spare before breakfast finished. We were made very welcome, and assured that we should take our time over our meal. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have just returned from Jordan and had a fabulous stay at this hotel. Its true that it doesn't have a pool, but it offers so much more. The location is right at the gates to Petra and after a long day looking around the ancient city, it was a godsend to reach the hotel as soon as we passed through the gate. While there are some restaurants nearby, we preferred to stay in the hotel and although the menu is limited, the food was excellent. We had a great room on the upper level with a terrace which looked over Wadi Musa. When we first arrived, we relaxed at our little patio table outside the room. Each room had one with four chairs.
However, our favourite aspect of the hotel was the Cave Bar. In the day we sat outside and at night we snuggled into the Bar, carved out of the rock just as Petra itself.
I see that one reviewer talked of no free wifi, but this is not what we found. Indeed, the reception assistant put the password into the phone for us. We had free internet from then on, allowing us to upload pics into Facebook for our envious friends.
All in all, the hotel staff were very welcoming and we had a great stay. We will definitely go back again.
One final piece of advice - the nearest little shop to the hotel, just outside its patio, is run by a nice old man. He gave us lots of advice on Petra and there was not a hint of being ripped off. We bought some small items from him, but he seemed more genuinely interested in us having a nice time.
Great holiday and a good base for Petra.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were deciding either Movenpick or Petra Guest House, at last we chose Petra Guest House based on the reviews here and the price, and we are so glad that we have chosen this hotel.
There is free parking and the bell captain Zayed helped us to unload the luggage and assisted us to check in. On the way he chatted with us and gave us some info about Petra. He is very friendly and nice. We were given welcome drinks, check in was fast and we were upgraded to a better room with terrace. Zayed guided us to our room and introduced to us the facilities in room.
Our room is not very big but its very clean and comfortable. (not enough socket plugs in room since we had to charge our cameras, and cell phones) Bathroom is also very nice and clean. (however they didn't refill our shower gel even it was empty.)Terrace is big and has a view of the entrance to Petra. It's also very quite at night time so we could have a good sleep.
Dinner buffet is good, have variety of choices, but didn't have much fresh fruit; breakfast was nice too, we liked their omelette.
The hotel is super close to the visitor center and the entrance to Petra, just a few minutes of walking. Also close to some gifts shops and the restaurants area is just 5 minutes walking away.
Cave bar food is good but it came quite slow, and we were disappointed by one particular waiter. He was not very sincere.
In general, we like this hotel, in particular we like the bell captain Zayed. He is very helpful and really cares about the guests! Special thanks to him! He is one of the best hotel staff I have ever met. For sure we will stay in Petra Guest House if we visit Petra again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the Petra Guesthouse, which is located at the entrance to Petra. Our room was large, clean and comfortable, with a great view of the surrounding area. The buffet meals had sufficient choice to suit most tastes. We enjoyed having a drink outside overlooking Wadi Musa by night but were disappointed by the very slow bar service. Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Petra as the location is excellent.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Petra Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Guesthouse

Address: P.O. Box 30 | Petra gate area, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#6 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petra Guesthouse 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Petra Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petra Guesthouse Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Petra Guesthouse Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petra Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.