We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local food and hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Cave

Red Cave
Near Petra Main Gate, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
03 215 7799
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
376 reviews 376 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“Good local food and hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at the Movenpick, Petra and after spending JD100 at the Movenpick BBQ for 2 persons the previous night we decided to try the Red Cave as it was a 2 minute amble from the Hotel.

There was a good selection of food, many local dishes, (although there were cheese burgers also on the menu if you have kids), on the menu all at reasonable prices. We had 2 appetisers and 2 main dishes and bottled water and our bill was just JD23.00 (About GB£24 or US$32).

Service was excellent and the host was very polite and we were given a free local pastry for desert. We sat outside on the street which was very nice as the evening temperature was in the low 20 Celcius.

In summary it is not fine dining but it was a very good local meal and the restaurant seemed popular, always a good sign right! I would recommend it to any visitor of Petra and anyone staying at the Movenpick who wants to have a meal outside the hotel on a lower budget.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    72
    41
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Brilliant! This restaurant serves local dishes and they are beautiful...and plentiful. Abdul, invited us back the next day for tea...and we ended up staying for yet another unforgettable meal. Try the mansaf, its great

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“OVERCHARGES”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Ok, I will say, it may have been like 5% our fault, but the owner guy said that he'd give us a good deal... I should have known. BUT, when the prices on the menu are like 6-7 JD a plate, you don't expect "a good deal" to be 18 JD per person! The food wasn't even that good. I love the mint lemon juice they have here in Jordan and that wasn't even good.

Our driver, who is Jordanian, went back and tried to tell the guy that it was messed up that he overcharged us, and the guy had the nerve to tell him that we were tourists and we had a lot of money and should expect to pay a lot. He said he didn't even charge us the tax (16%)... 16%! NOT 300%! We're not even tourists, we are STUDENTS.

If you want to get ripped off come to this place. If for no other reason that the guy was dishonest and misleading, don't come to this place and support scammers who think tourists are made of money!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food and large serves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Nice atmosphere, pleasant staff and local shopkeepers stopped for a chat.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Lovely bedouin food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is a lovely little restaurant where the food tastes authentic, the staff are friendly and will recommend dishes for you, and you can sit back and enjoy. No alcohol served.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Cave also viewed

Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
 
Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
 

Been to Red Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.