We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al-Arabi Restaurant

Al-Arabi Restaurant
| Near the roundabout, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
962-3-215-7661
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

As lonely planet recommended, it is a great budget find in Wadi Musa. If you stay close to the Petra visitor's center, it's about 2km up (or 2 dinars by taxi each way). The falafel sandwich is delicious. Lentil soup is hearty. Chicken shawarma was okay. But all for 4 JOD and I had leftover for next day's lunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    71
    22
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ranchi, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Unassuming restaurant with great barbeque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Very reasonably priced restaurant in downtown Wadi Musa. A full plate barbequed chicken or lamb cooked in mid eastern flavours , with lots of fresh vegetables , and unlimited supply of bread for 5 JD. The ambiance is not great, but the food is.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I ate here 3 times. The Halabi Kebab plate at 5 JD was rather tasty and filling. The kebab sandwich (2 JD) took some time to prepare. The shawarma sandwich was much quicker and cheaper (1.5 JD).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Snack bij Al Arabi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

For a quick snack around lunchtime we dropped by at Al Arabi. A basic looking restaurant of which we did not expect to much. We chose a simple kebab-sandwich and were surprised in a very positive way. It turned out to be the best kebab-sandwich we had so far in Jordan!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“annoyingly bad!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

during my visit to Petra i wanted to try some local food, and that's when i made the biggest mistake, the hotel reception recommended this restaurant for me and i thought I'm going to have a nice meal. i ordered Shwerma, it was not what i've been looking for, no taste and almost rear. the surprise was when i asked for the bill they charged me 12$ for 1$ meal. stay Away guys!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al-Arabi Restaurant also viewed

Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
 
Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
 

Been to Al-Arabi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al-Arabi Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.