We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must conquer hill for rest” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Venus

Hotel Venus
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Venus to your Saves list
Hotel Venus
| PO Box 164, Petra - Wadi Musa 00962, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Must conquer hill for rest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

Like most reviews about this place, It's for people on a tight budget. It's the cheapest place that is 100m from the entrance. Movenpick and Crowne Plaza are pretty close but pricey. The only thing is, to get to this place, you must conquer this steep road. Let me tell you, it's alot of work after walking for hours. If you plan to go see the treasury early in the morning (6am) this place can't be beat. The place is alittle run down but if you plan to be out most of the day and you need a place to sleep, this is it. Sheets are changed everyday and they are clean. I felt like I was on an episode of Seinfeld on how tight the bed spreads were. The rooms are small. You have just enough room to drop your luggage. Our room had a tv and a small fridge. There's a toilet and shower in the room. The toilet seat and toilet cover would not stay up. One night, the shower had no hot water. You have to go down and ask them to turn the water heater on. WIFI is only available downstairs and it's free. Our room had AC which is a must in Jordan and the cold keeps the mosquitos away. There is a restaurant upstairs. We only used it in the morning for the buffet. If you plan to go to see the treasury early, you can ask them to make you breakfast bag. It's a traditional breakfast. you get a cucumber, tomato, bread. Local restaurants are a 5 minute walk from the place. Staff are friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

We moved to the Venus from the Movenpick because we felt like we were wasting money at the Movenpick. The Hotel Venus is right next to the Movenpick with possibly a better view. The Venus is a no frills place but not a bad deal if you are on a budget (Movenpick was $150US, Venus was $45US). The rooms were run down but the sheets were clean. The bathroom was relatively clean. Fortunately, the toilet worked but I will admit that the seat was broken off and you needed to do some balancing. The breakfast at the Venus wasn't worth walking upstairs for, except for free coffee. The guy at the front desk was helpful. The place wasn't great, but not horrible, and better than many of the places up the hill in Wadi Musa.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

I stayed at this hotel with a group on an Intrepid Tour. Yes, it was very run down and the rooms were tatty but we had a bit of a laugh about it - especially when one of our group had a toilet overflow which created a huge waterfall down the stairs! The staff were friendly enough and kindly let us use the internet for no charge, and there was breakfast and it was very good by Jordanian standards - boiled eggs, dukkha, pita bread, halwa etc. Some of the showers didn't work (mine did, so I was very popular!). I wouldn't go back there, and actually wouldn't recommend it unless it was very cheap and you have a sense of humour about it, but I've stayed in worse!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The showers
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

We were on a tour with a small group and were booked into this hotel by the agent last month.

What a disaster. A small poky entrance, broken furniture stacked nearby, unfriendly staff. When we got to the rooms, the situation didn't improve. Some of us found used linen, used soap, and our toilet didn't flush. The agent refused to move us saying there were no other rooms in Petra.

Our group of 12 unanimously walked out and went next door to the Petra Moon, and immediately saw a world of difference. Unsurprisingly, we found lots of availability. I will enter a separate review for that, but suffice to say that we found out the Venus was charging JOD 28 without breakfast for shabby rooms when Petra Moon charged JOD 30 with breakfast and much better accommodation.

I understand that the agency has removed the Venus Hotel from its lists and I recommend that other travellers take this route.

  • Liked — that we left and didn't have to stay
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Venus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Venus

Address: | PO Box 164, Petra - Wadi Musa 00962, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Venus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Venus Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Venus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.