We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but be cautious about recommendations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valley Stars Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Valley Stars Inn to your Saves list
Valley Stars Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Petra - Wadi Musa 88, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice place but be cautious about recommendations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at Valley Stars Inn for 3 nights and as far as the accomodations go I will give the place a positive review. The hotel is clean, the breakfast is very good, the staff is quite friendly (especially the lady who prepares breakfast), and the rooms seems fairly new. It was actually nice to be far away from the main gate of Petra as that area is swamped with people. With the free transportation to & from the gate we had no problem seeing the site. We also did not mind the short walk to the nearest restaurants.

However, even though others have praised Ibrahim for his recommendations and travel arrangements, we dealt only with Otta and I have to say that we were not pleased with our experience. We had made arrangements to stay at a camp in Wadi Rum after being in Wadi Musa before we left for Jordan and we did lots of research to make sure we were staying at a nice place. Otta, however, did his best to try talk us out of it and to use someone he knew. He even refused to let our guide in Wadi Rum talk to us on the phone when he called the hotel 4 times! We have traveled the world enough to know a tourist town when we are in one and Wadi Musa is one of the worst. Everyone wants to make as much money off of each tourist as possible, so be careful! Again, our actual stay in the hotel was fine but I would not recommend making further travel arrangements through Otta; do it yourself before you go.

Room Tip: The view from the rooms facing the site of Petra are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    70
    28
    11
    7
See reviews for
23
80
27
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I told Ibrahaim, the owner when we left that I was going to call him Ibrahim Helpfulness and he laughed. He however really helped us both in organising before we had even arrived a car to pick us up at the airport and a swim/float in the dead sea and lunch before heading to Wadi Musa. The recommendations he had about Petra, as well as good restaurants to eat were spot on. And the guide he organised for us called Sami, well I think other reviewers have said how good he is and we would 100% agree. For what you are paying, the rooms feel like they should be in a much pricer hotel, and the view over Wadi Musa is lovely. You are at the top of a hill in a town where the gate to Petra is at the bottom, but taxis are about 4-5 JD, and the hotel does a shuttle twice in the morning heading down and twice in the evening heading back up. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Go, you'll love it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson Creek, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We arrived in the morning, May 23, from the Dead Sea and were immediately booked in to a air conditioned room. Ibrahim, the owner, could not have been more informative and helpful, offering free shuttles to and from Petra, tour ideas and of course tea. Initially we planned on touring Petra from 12pm and then Wadi Musa until 6, as we had booked a cooking course for then, but the heat was a bit too much and by 2pm I was done (Start out in the morning or late afternoon, even though a lot of tourists walk down by themselves quite a few ended up taking horses back up because of the heat). Even though this changed our pick up plans it was no problem as the owner assured us of a ride to the Petra Kitchen and in the end drove me there, picked us up and took us to a bar carved out of rock that's over 2000 years old. He also arranged for a taxi the next day back to Amman and took us on tour of his other hotel that will be opening soon(Gorgeous views in the new one). Over all the hotel is clean, the rooms have all been renovated, the beds are great, the staff was friendly and they can arrange anything for you. I would definitely stay here again. Thanks again Ibrahim!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We had 2 rooms- a double(full or quenn size bed and a triple ( 3 singles). The double felt much nicer but that was something we experienced all over Jordan. The bathrooms were probably the nicest we had all over Jordan. The hotel was quiet and the owner was very nice. Helped us plan for a special guide for Petra to get a one of a kind view, helped us plan for our wadi rum trip and even have us nuts and a 6 pack of water to take with us to wadi rum. I eoukd recommend this hotel. Oh and they arranged for laundry to be done for one person in our party. Wasn't cheap but he needed it by 11 the next day.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
Organized our pick up from Petra to Wadi Rum.
Room a little bit small but clean and modern.
Pick up from Petra town helped as shattered after day walking and climbing.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Good value for money. Quite helpful and friendly staff.
You'll get a good internet connection, but only in the lobby.
The location is a little distant from Petra gate, not on the map but it is a very hilly area. The hotel provides a lift to Petra gate twice in the morning and they may help in latter times.

There is no "shattaf". If you do not know what it means you need not to worry at all.

Room Tip: If you wish for a room with a mountain view, you SHALL specify in your booking remarks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The manager Ibrahim is amazing - despite the hotel being great, it would not be the same without him. Professional, kind, helpful, patient - he made our stay wonderful. He helped arrange transportation to/from Amman, bought our tickets for Petra by Night etc. The rooms are very very nice - clean, stylish, good airconditioning, wonderful bathroom. The location is wonderfully quiet and the rooftop (which was not officially open when we were there, but we were allowed onto it - it will be renovated and open soon) provides great views of the city. The ancient site of Petra is a 3-minute drive away; the hotel offers a free shuttle service. If you take a taxi to or from, it only costs 2 JOD (ca 3 USD/2 EUR). Very easy & convenient. Across the street is a small shop where you can buy beverages and food. The breakfast buffet was so so, but all in all it was a wonderful hotel that I would warmly recommend anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valley Stars Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Stars Inn

Address: Main Street, Petra - Wadi Musa 88, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Valley Stars Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL SERVICES: Breakfast: A complimentary continental breakfast is served in the dining room from 6.30 am to 10.00 am daily. Shuttle Service to the Ancient City of Petra. We offer a complimentary shuttle service to the main entry gates daily departing at:• 7.00 am• 8:30 am. Please meet in reception approximately 5 minutes prior to departure. We also offer a complimentary pick up service at:• 3.00 pm• 6.00 pm. Your driver will advise you of the appropriate pick up location. As a courtesy to all guests, please ensure that you are on time for pick up. As we appreciate that you may wish to spend more time enjoying the historic Ancient City whilst you are there and not rush to meet the courtesy bus, should you wish to make your own way back to the VSI, taxis are available at a small cost. We can advise you what a taxi fare should cost so that you can negotiate this with your driver before the commencement of your journey. Depending on seasonality we may be able to offer flexible drop off and pick up times. Please speak to our driver who will advise if he is able to accommodate your request. Customised Tour Service: As we appreciate that coordinating transport, accommodation, and other tour requirements can be tiring and often frustrating, we can personally customize and arrange your tour to suit your requirements. With our local knowledge we will ensure that you receive the best service and value for money. Please let us know if we can be of further assistance to you and we will do our best to meet your requests as well as budget. Taxi Service: We can arrange a 24 hour taxi service to take you anywhere within Jordan. Restaurant: During peak seasons (15 September to 15 November and 1 March to 15 May) we offer affordable, delicious and traditional Jordanian homecooked meals to be enjoyed in either our dining room or on the roof terrace. Please contact reception to confirm whether our restaurant is open during your stay. Alcoholic Beverages: Alcohol is not available however please feel free to bring your own to drink at the hotel. Complimentary Tea and Coffee (one per guest per day). If you would like to enjoy a complimentary traditional tea or Turkish coffee in our lounge, please ask a member of our staff at reception who would be delighted to make your one. Safety Deposit Boxes: Safety deposit boxes are available at reception for the security of your valuables. Please contact reception who will be able to assist you. Packed Lunch: If you would like us to prepare a packed lunch for you at a small cost, please contact reception before 8 pm the night before. Please also advise us the time of morning that you will be requiring your lunch to be made available to you. Internet and WIFI service: We offer a free high speed internet service and WIFI in the reception area. Please contact a member of staff who will be able to assist in setting you up. Drinking Water: Bottled water is available in reception for 1JD per 2 litre bottle. Please contact a member of staff who will be able to assist you. If you would like us to freeze a bottle of water for you so that it can stay cool during your tour or onward journey, please advise us the day before you require it. Postcards: A variety of postcards are available to be purchased in reception. The cost is 5 postcards for 1JD. Laundry: We can offer a same day dry cleaning and laundry service for items delivered to reception before 11.00 am. Items will be returned by 4.00 pm and can be collected at reception. Iron: Please contact reception if you require an iron. As a courtesy to our guests, please return to reception after use or call reception to collect from your room. Hairdryer: Please contact reception if you require a hairdryer. As a courtesy to our guests, please return to reception after use or call reception to collect from your room. DVDs: Should you wish to enjoy watching a DVD please advice a member of staff who will be able to install a DVD player in your room. We have a small selection of DVD movies in reception for you to choose from. Please note that our DVD player is available on a first in first served basis and may not be available upon request. Adapter: Should you require an adapter, please contact reception who will be able to assist you. Check Out: Check out is 12.00 pm. Luggage Storage: Luggage storage is available on the day of your departure from the hotel. Should you require assistance carrying your luggage from your room, please contact reception. TOURIST INFORMATION: Things to do and see. Visit the Ancient City of Petra by Day2. Visit the Ancient City of Petra by Night3. Visit the Ancient City of Little Petra4. Enjoy a Turkish bath5. Take a day trip to Ashwbak Castle and Dana natural reserve 6. Take a day trip to Wadi Rum7. Watch one of the amazing sunsets from various location outside of Petra8. Wander around the streets of Wadi Mousa9. Relax on our roof terrace. Distance to: Ancient City of Petra 1.7 km, Ancient City of Little Petra 12 km, Amman 240 km, Dead Sea 270 km, Karak Castle 175 km, Aqaba 130 km, Wadi Rum 110 km, Ancient City of Petra. Opening Hours: Day sessions: 6:30 am till sunset (7 days per week), Night sessions: 8:30 pm to 10:30 pm. Bus Services: Bus services operate to the following places daily. Location Distance Pick Up Approximate cost in JDs Contact for bookings. Amman 3:30 hrs Bus station Around 8JD ReceptionAqaba 2.00 hrs Hotel 5JD ReceptionWadi Rum 2.00 hrs Hotel 5JD ReceptionDead Sea No buses / / /Madaba No buses / / /Maan 30 mins Bus station 1 JD ReceptionBorder Crossing – Aqaba. The border crossing between Aqaba and Eilat (Israel) is opened from 8am to 8 pm daily. Please note that a departure tax is payable on exit from Jordan. Border Crossing – King Hussein Bridge. Please be aware that tourists require a special pre arranged visa to cross at this border. LOCAL AREA INFORMATION: ATM: There are three ATMs located within 400 metres. Please turn right as you exit the hotel. Money Exchange: The nearest money exchange is location 400 metres in the same location as the ATMs. Post Office: The Post Office is located 400 metres from the hotel. Please turn right as you exit the hotel. The Post Office is located in the Petra Authority Region Building on the left side of the road. You need to walk up the stairs and turn right. Please note that should you wish to send packages you will need to provide your own packaging as this cannot be purchased from the post office. Pharmacy: A pharmacy is located 300 metres from the hotel. Turn right as you exit the hotel and the pharmacy is on your right.Phone cards: Phone cards can be purchased from any phone shop within the town area and you may use it at the hotel without any charge. Bus Station: The bus station is located 350 metres from the hotel. Restaurants For recommendations on local restaurants, please contact reception who will be able to assist you. Please enjoy your stay with us. Kind regards Ibrahim, Hotel Manager. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Valley Stars Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Stars Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Hotel Valley Stars
Valley Stars Inn Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valley Stars Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.