We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Apart From The Wifi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candles Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Candles Hotel to your Saves list
Candles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 181 | 200M Off The Entrance of Petra, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Perfect Apart From The Wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great location for visiting the historic site of Petra & the staff were all very kind. The wifi hardly worked at all, and even in the reception it was slow. The hotel is also right by the bus station where I arrived & left on the JETT service from Amman.

Room Tip: I booked the junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    27
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
8
31
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Thought as we were now out of Amman, the standard of hotels would drop dramatically, but for its location, we enjoyed the atmosphere and the staff for their friendliness and co-operation throughout our two day stay. Sleep, was terrific, with probably some of the best pillows we have had on our year long trip.
The supplied meals, breakfast and dinner, were both adequate. Dinner was a three course meal and breakfast an assortment of local flavours and European cereal.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at Candles for 2 nights last weekend on our trip to Petra. Good points: its a very short walk to Petra entrance, rooms are clean, free wifi, beds comfortable, and all at a very reasonable price. By far the best aspect of this hotel is the staff: the lobby & cleaning staff were always friendly, helpful, and extremely accommodating. This hotel is great for the money. A few negatives: our room lacked hot water. They offered to let us move to a room with hot water, and when we declined: allowed to use the shower of another room. The free breakfast left a lot to be desired! The decor of the hotel overall is straight out of the 1970s, but this actually added a bit of charm to the place. Despite the hot water issue and subpar breakfast, we very much enjoyed our stay. Special thanks to the wonderful staff who more than made up for the negatives!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Value for money - It is 5 min walk to Petra's entrance - The Staff were nice, rooms are spacious, we had the suite for £41. Food - we only had the breakfast and it was basic but ok. I would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had quite a small room in this hotel, which is a but run down here and there. The breakfast was also not that great. I'm not a very critical guest, but when the bread is obviously old, I'm not happy.

The view is good, and it's close to the Petra entrance and some restaurants around the corner.

Overall, it's OK for a Petra visit and two nights around that, but I wouldn't stay here longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel is a short stroll to the site entrance - handy if you want to make the dawn visit. The rooms are spacious but the bathroom very tiny and only closed to the rest of the room by a sort of iron curtain -not much privacy. The rooms are also strangely designed which in essence means you dont have many windows and sunlight (you need to go on the balcony). However it was clean and the beds are comfy. The hotel also has a nice 10 JD evening buffet - good when you've hiked all day! Staff was moderately welcoming and helpful, but then people are not as nice in Petra as they are everywhere else in Jordan.
In short : not a fall in love with hotel, but does the trick in touristy Petra.

Room Tip: We had a 3 persons room overlooking the mountains which was nice, surely you can ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We decided to stay a night in a hotel after having spent the night before in a Bedouin Camp, as we were not sure of the comfort we'd get in there.
This is your average hotel, everything is fine, it just needs that extra refurbishments, the doors don't open well, windows don't shut property and bath room is dated, though the room was large, and there is free WIFI in rooms as well, which is not often the case in other hotels.
It is very close, walking distance to the ticket booth for Petra.
The breakfast area on the top floor had good views.
Staff were friendly.
There is parking, but then you have to lug your luggage up a number of steps to reception area, or take the longer way via a ramp.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candles Hotel

Address: PO Box 181 | 200M Off The Entrance of Petra, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Candles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A three-star hotel of charm Ideally located in Wadi Musa a beautifully restored historic city. With the atmosphere of freedom, clearness and calmness. The hotel is situated in 300 meters from the main entrance of the ancient Lost City of Petra the new 7 wonders of the world.The hotel's location, will make it easy to conduct your activities, whether for tourism or pleasure. You are just a few minutes away, stroll from Market Circle, the local Centre. The hotel has an exceptional location at the hill foot (facing one of the most picturesque views). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candles Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.