We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for budget travelers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cleopetra Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cleopetra Hotel to your Saves list
Cleopetra Hotel
Queen Rania St. | P.O.Box 125, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great for budget travelers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel was in a great location to go out and explore Petra. We tried the buffet dinner which was really good value for money and delicious! The staff were great at booking us a reliable taxi to driver to take us back to the Wadi Araba crossing - as we were continuing our travels in Israel. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    127
    43
    10
    17
See reviews for
28
160
63
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Easy to find on the main road to Petra. The rooms are basic and fairly small and during our stay the room wasn't cleaned. Having said that, the rooms are fairly cheap so we didn't mind too much. The staff are very helpful and transport one way to Petra is included although you have to make your own way back. The hotel is a couple of miles form Petra main entrance and you won't want to walk back to the hotel after plodding around Petra all day.There are local restaurants nearby and tourist ones near to Petra entrance, The hotel will cook an evening meal if enough people want it and it's good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Had a two-night stay there and I enjoyed it. Rooms are tiny but comfortable and clean.
Good breakfast and they organize sometimes a delicious buffet at evening. A good way to meet other travellers.
Staff was friendly, funny and helpful. Free transportation in the morning to Petra.
Generally good value for the money and I would say one of the best places to stay in Jordan.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I'm a seasoned backpacker after a year on the road and I've stayed in all sorts of places, good/bad, luxury/budget. In hotspots like Petra, what you're looking for is someone honest and can help you through the tourism skin so you can see Petra for yourself.

Cleopetra Hotel is an absolute gem. The owner did more than anyone could have asked for.

He arranged a trip to wadi rum (including transport), arranged a reliable transport from wadi rum to aqaba (notice - nothing to do with coming back), invaluable tips about getting to/from Petra (we were the FIRST through the Siq in the morning, transport to the airport (after a second stay at cleopetra) and even buying local sweets for me after the local bakery tried to charge inflated prices.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Cleopetra is a clean and friendly place. Lifts to Petra entrance were free and it's only a 2 JD taxi ride back if you are worn out after hiking through Petra all day. The breakfast was good and one night there was the option of a home cooked meal for a mere 6 JD. Well worth it. For some reason our bed had just half a covering sheet, but the staff was happy to give us a bigger sheet. Also we had to ask for towels, and they were happily provided.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisieux, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Cleopetra Hotel is a very nice hotel for people who are looking for some cheap hotel in Wadi Musa with a good value for money. At first, we wanted to sleep on the roof, but when we arrived, the man that welcomed us, Mosleh, explained that it was impossible because of the wind: they had taken out all the equipments on the roof, so we had to take a room. At first, we were a little bit confused, because we had a tight budget, but we could book a single room for two (with a huge bed !) and we had a reduction because of the desagrement.
So pay attention if you want to sleep on the roof, because it depends on the weather.
The hotel has been renovated soon, so the room are quite nice and clean. The staff was really helpful, especially to organise the transfer to the Wadi Rum with the bus. And even though Wadi Musa was quite far from the entrance of Petra, the hotel drove us there every morning, and we could come back by foot without any problem.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have found this hotel by accident – the bus driver dropped us off in front of the hotel – and we made a good choice. We stayed here for two nights. The rooms were clean with a beautiful view at whole Wadi Musa. You can use a taxi to Petra for free and there is good breakfest too. The stuff was really helpful and they even organized for us transport to Madaba. High recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.2 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#2 of 36 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#1 of 36 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 36 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 36 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amra Palace Hotel
Amra Palace Hotel
#7 of 36 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 stars 956 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marriott Petra Hotel
Marriott Petra Hotel
#10 of 36 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleopetra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopetra Hotel

Address: Queen Rania St. | P.O.Box 125, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Cleopetra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleopetra Hotel Petra Wadi Musa
Cleopetra Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleopetra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.