We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Tambo Blanquillo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tambo Blanquillo Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manu National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tambo Blanquillo Lodge
Parque Nacional del Manu, Madre de Dios, Peru, Manu National Park 17301, Peru   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love Tambo Blanquillo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Awesome place! They have a lot of property with all kinds of natural resources. I wish I could have spent more time there! They have a canopy tower, and 3 ox bow lakes, a clay lick, and more! We saw so many birds, river otters, a tapir, and even a jaguar!

The rooms are under a single, open vaulted ceiling, so everyone can hear each other. Not very private and noisy when others are getting up earlier than you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis R, Manager at Tambo Blanquillo Lodge, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Alice,

Thank you very much for your sincere review. It is my pleasure to inform you that we are currently undergoing the construction of six (6) bungalow suites that have space for two adults and two children. These willl be finished by January 2014. We will provide our customers with another option that enables a high-end accomodation.

Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
7
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange Park, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This place seems to be a working saw mill (yes it has a giant saw). The individual rooms are like sleeping in a large dormitory. Only you sleep in a cubicle with no ceiling. The mosquito nets are full of holes. They do have hot showers which we hadn't had in a few days on on our Manu Reserve trip. They have a Tapir Lick Blind and a Macaw Lick Blind that would be nicer if they weren't so commercially designed to show the animals but also make them money (the Macaw lick must seat at least 50+ people and the Tapir Lick had 8 Bug Proof individual viewing tents). As this was our first trip to the area, I don't know if there are other options. They DO have Tapirs and Macaws.
P.S. On our way to the Tapir Lick we saw some very large Jaguar prints. This resulted int the Lodge Dude that was with us pointing to the path and saying "go that way" before heading back to the Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis R, Manager at Tambo Blanquillo Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
The client’s miss conceptions and issues could have easily been answered by our local staff but we are keen to touch upon some important points of the critic:

1.-"This place is a giant sawmill". The client is partially correct. We do have a sawmill and a shredder for treating wood.According to US standards they should be labeled as domestic machines instead of commercial ,the circular saw is 12’ (30cm )diameter and all bought through Amazon. As any lodge on the South American Amazon Basin, we rely on wood as our principal construction material. The big DIFFERENCE IS, we buy our wood from a certified ECOLOGICAL WOOD provider; like the Boca Manu community. They have a permit from the Peruvian Forestry Department to collect drifting logs on Manu and Madre de Dios rivers and to then sell it as ECOLOGICAL WOOD. This practice is not followed by any other lodge in the Peruvian Amazon Basin. The wood is purcahased in bulk in the form of thick boards and needs to be refined to our needs. Thats the reason for the presence of the circular saw and a thredder.
2.-"The facilities at the Macaw Clay Lick include 50+ seating spaces .This is commercially designed.” If we had use the stadium type of set up (one row on top of the other) instead of our present set up (all front row seats) we would surely have saved tons of money, but we would have jeopardized clients comfort and quality of the experience. We decided in favor of the quality of the client experience.
This is private reserve, and as any private venture, we rely on client satisfaction and
in turn make a profit and pay for new and better ways to attract animals towards our
premises. We make the clients have the highest value for their money.
3.-"Mosquito Nets with holes”. The client is correct and we thank him for his comment. This week the lodge will receive a new design of mosquito nets for dormitories. We apologize to him and to all those that have suffered the inconvenience.
4.-"Giant dormitory with separate cubicles and no ceiling.” That is correct and that is the way we advertise our Tambo dormitory (please review our web page www.tamboblanquillo.com). We understand that there are different tastes but we deliver what we advertise. In addition, we will have private bungalow suites ready for next year for clients looking for a different and higher-budget experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beroun, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent 4nights in this lodge. Food was excellent!!! Facilities clean, room sufficient. Very close to the wild-life - Macaw, giant otters!!! and tapir which was coming to the lodge every night! Simply AMAZING!!! Friendly caring staff - only small absence they dont speak English very much. I was really enjoying myself very much! And I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis R, Manager at Tambo Blanquillo Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Jana H,

Thank you very much for your sincere review. It is my pleasure to inform you that we are currently undergoing the construction of six (6) bungalow suites that have space for two adults and two children. These willl be finished by January 2014. We will provide our customers with another option that enables a high-end accomodation.

Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were very happy here. Clean and spacious rooms in a new building with good facilities. There was also a seventh months old tapir which frequented the premisses on a regular basis to enjoy milk and food: astounding!

Room Tip: I saw only a couple of rooms, they are all the same, I guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis R, Manager at Tambo Blanquillo Lodge, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Jeroen k,

We are happy to inform you that Pippo is still arriving to the lodge everyday at 6 pm for dinner! The only downfall was he returned last week with a big Jaguar scar in his back. He is now completing a full recovery.

We are also happy to inform you that we are currently undergoing the construction of six (6) bungalow suites that have space for two adults and two children. These willl be finished by January 2014. We will provide our customers with another option that enables a high-end accomodation.

We hope to see you soon!

Thanks and best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I am surprised this is the first review of the lodge. Spent a couple of nights here at the end of a tour of the Manu Reserve zone. I am sure the owner of the lodge could consider few minor improvements that will provide better comfort to the tourist paying premium to see the Amazonian wildlife while staying at his place.
So, the lodge has the rare monopoly over the only macaw clay lick in the vicinity. A very nice viewing platform has been built close to the lick that provides excellent vantage point to observe and take photos of the different kinds of birds coming to nibble on the clay. Giant otters can be seen as well with some luck. The nearby lake has lots of birds and a giant tree with a viewing platform high in the canopy. A lot of trees (bananas, bread fruit, papaya) are planted around the property to ensure wildlife is attracted ……
With that being said, as far as the facilities are concerned I have to say that this is the most uncomfortable lodge we’ve been in Manu. It’s the sleeping quarters.
Unlike all other lodges where you have separate buildings each housing 2-6 people, at Blanquillo you have one big building with over 10 rooms packed tightly in it. There is no way you can lock your door while in your room to prevent another guest mistakenly walking in to surprise you. But then with the rates this place is charging for the use of the clay lick, the lake and the tree platform on top of your room rate this is just a money making machine. Unlike other Manu lodges you have to rely only on your mosquito net over the bed for protection from the insects. The place is built with a roof and the inner walls separating each room, but no other screening material was used to limit the access of mosquitoes inside your room. There is almost no air circulation in this place and on a hot day it is very unpleasant under the corrugated metal roof. So whenever you are inside you have to crawl under your mosquito net and stay there until you are ready to venture outside. There are no chairs in the rooms.
The towels you are provided with during your stay at the lodge look new, clean and are embroidered with the logo of the lodge, but unfortunately they are such a poor quality towels that when you dry your body after a shower, you get blue fibers from the towel shedding and sticking to your skin, so you look like you need another shower.
So the bottom line is if you are nature lover be prepared to sacrifice some blood to whatever insects are waiting for you at Blanquillo. The owner of the place knows that 98% of the tourists will not come a second time so with that in mind the place is designed to bring maximum profit with minimum investment. THE SLEEPING QUARTERS ARE NOT DESIGNED WITH THE COMFORT OF THE VISITORS IN MIND. We still enjoyed the Macaws and other parrots at the lick, but if I go back to Manu I am not staying at Blanquillo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis R, Gerente at Tambo Blanquillo Lodge, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Google Translation
Desafortunadamente este cliente no vino a nosotros directamente si no a traves de un operador independiente quien omitio informarle de las caracteristicas de nuestro albergue por lo que la culpa recide en el operador que vendio el paquete que incluia nuestro albergue Tambo Blanquillo y sus atractivos como un servicio mas dentro de un paquete mas grande..
Nosotros ofrecemos habitaciones simples,dobles y triples a precios diferenciados.No sabemos que tipo de habitacion contrato el cliente con el operador. Eso si, informamos como aparece en nuestra web en forma muy clara el tipo de habitacion a la que puede acceder el cliente dependiendo cuanto desea gastar. Si es cierto que las toallas usadas por el cliente soltaban unos hilos azules, esto debido a que era un lote nuevo que debio ser sometido a un proceso de lavado previo para evitar esa incomodidad. Pedimos disculpas por esta incomodidad.
Sobre su queja del exceso de mosquitos, tampoco podemos asumir culpa pues cualquier operador responsable hubiera informado a su cliente a que tipo de clima y entorno se iba a enfrentar el cliente. Despues de todo estamos hablando del Manu, joya de la amazonia peruana que tiene dificultades de clima y ambiente pero que no se puede comparar con un aceptico zoologico, sobre todo en el nivel de satisfaccion del cliente por el dinero invertido.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tambo Blanquillo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambo Blanquillo Lodge

Address: Parque Nacional del Manu, Madre de Dios, Peru, Manu National Park 17301, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Manu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty lodging in Manu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tambo Blanquillo Lodge is one of our facilities, operating since 1990 in the tropical jungle of Manu. It is our privilege and duty to protect and promote the cultural heritage of Perú and provide visitors with an authentic experience in the untouched natural landscape of the real Amazon Basin. Located near the Manu National Park, Tambo Blanquillo is surrounded by a variety of wildlife, biodiversity and genetic variables that don’t exist elsewhere in the world. It is an honor to share this ecological wonder with the world providing a safe, responsible and quality accomodation. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tambo Blanquillo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tambo Blanquillo Lodge to your Saves list