We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LION Hotel Bansko

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added LION Hotel Bansko to your Saves list
LION Hotel Bansko
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Georgi Nastev Str., Bansko 2770, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 95 Hotels in Bansko
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very nice and great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My friends and I booked 2 rooms in Lion in February for our 7 day ski holiday. Mixed comments on Tripadvisor about food and noise made us think, but we still decided to give it a try. It wasn't a mistake.
Rooms were big and clean, and so was the bathroom. Only downside was we got the room in ground level with no view. Also our friend’s room next door smelt like some Indians stayed for a month and never stopped smoking while staying. With that said I can't blame the hotel because of the guests who don't respect the non-smoking sign on the rooms. After complaining and a little talk with the manager they promised and changed the room next day because the hotel was full the day we arrived.

Food was fresh, very decent and with enough meals to choose from, but It wasn't very diverse and about 70% is repeatedly served every day. We were on half-board and in my opinion breakfast was better than dinner. Spa center was OK with the sauna, steam bath and pool. Pool was little bit crowded when skiers come back before dinner. Shuttle bus was on time every 15 minutes which is about the same amount of time you need to walk to the Bansko center or gondola. Wi-Fi was free to use and signal in the lobby was fair. We also had some Wi-Fi signal in our rooms.

Our main complaint was that we had to pay extra for the bathrobes ~5 euro/7 days. Being that Lion is a 4 star hotel I think that it should come as standard and inclusive in the price of the stay. Food should be more diverse and some drinks could be included in price of the half-board. All things said, Lion is a good hotel with helpful staff and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    71
    32
    16
    7
See reviews for
53
42
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Ignore any previous negativity! The staff are lovely they couldn't be more attentive. The food is also lovely loads of choice to suit everybody (for anybody who is moaning that its cold - Bulgarian's don't believe in eating piping hot food but they'll warm it up for you if you ask), the room we had was massive and really clean and homely. The spa area is lovely with a great steam room and sauna and the pool is sizeable for an indoor one, great for after a tiring day. The bus service to the gondola is really frequent and reliable it's only a 5 min walk if you don't want to get the bus though. It's also really close to the rest of town and the bars and also a 10 min walk to Bansko old town which I recommend visiting.
Absolute bargain for a 4 star hotel and really impressive,would definitely stay again! Thanks for a fantastic holiday Hotel Lion and Crystal :)

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

After reading people's reviews on here we were concerned about coming out to the lion bansko hotel for our first skiing holiday, what a mistake. The hotel is a six minute walk to the main gondola or you get a free shuttle bus from the hotel which comes every ten minutes as there are three busses going backwards and forwards to the gondola free of charge. They also take you back to the hotel after a full days skiing which is also handy unless you want to walk back which only takes you about six minutes walk and is good to walk and look in the shops to see what bansko has to offer.
When we arrived in bansko after our flight from Manchester we were greeted with a glass of wine from the hotel staff which was a nice touch , they also kept the hotel canteen open for us to have a free dinner which after a long three hour drive from the airport I thought that was awesome for them to do as it was after 11pm and didn't want to venture out as we had a early meet time for the next days skiing.
After checking in we were given rooms 315,317 for our stay and our first impressions wow how big the rooms are. The rooms have more than enough room for your ski gear and your suitcases to be put to one side, the rooms are and do get very hot and were never cold while we were there and most nights we fell asleep on top of the covers,the rooms have bath,shower, tv although not enough english channels to watch but who goes away to watch telly !
The staff at this hotel can't do enough for you and are friendly . The hotel has a swimming pool too which we used and on three occasions and I would say its the same as back home not too warm not too cold but may be better if turned a little warmer for the ladies , however after two or three lengths swimming its fine. The hotel has steam room and a sauna which does get very hot and helps you relax after a hard days skiing. We were half board for our stay and ate in just about everyday for our holiday , the breakfast is your normal style breakfast in any hotel , beans,boiled eggs,bacon,hot dogs,hash brown,mushrooms,toast cereal fruit, and also continental meat, and for teas it was pizza,chicken,pork,beef,pasta,rice,soup,salad and plenty plenty cakes !
People said its only Luke warm but if you plate your food up the chef microwaves it up for you, but mine was fine as soon as a chef brings out new tray of food just go and get food as its hot ! We found there was always something you cold eat and only eat out once so we could see a bit of bansko. We went out for tea once at amigos and got 5 meals and two round of drinks only came to 80 lev which is like £40 in our money ¡
The hotel have a good lounge area with log fires burning 24 hours a day where you can relax with a nice pint or two in comfy leather chairs but it does fill up if you don't get there before 9pm because of the FREE wi fi and everyone are on there tablets . I can not fault this hotel at all and we loved it here and it will not be our last. If there is any fault to pick and it would be picky would be to have more english channels in the room and maybe have swimming pool a a couple of degrees higher and maybe change the food menu a little bit per night.
But do not listen to other people on here complains they are been too picky this hotel is fine and does the job for your skiing trip in bansko.
we love bansko !!!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have just returned from a great week of skiing in Bansko, staying at the Lion. Despite reading some mixed reviews on the website, it seems to me that the Lion "does what it says on the tin".

Firstly, our room (a superior) was excellent - very big and clean, with a great bathroom and nice view of the mountain. We were on the fourth floor (far away from the nightclub) so it was very quiet. No problems with wi-fi in the rooms either.

The leisure facilities are good. The pool is indeed strangely cool, but it's not unpleasant - you just need to swim about a bit! The spa and massage centre is very good - I had an excellent 'tired legs' treatment which really helped with a painful calf after a few days on the mountain.

The food is not so great, and is where the hotel lets itself down a little. It is not dreadful, but it is not 4 star standard. There is generally something that will fill you up if you come in hungry in the evening, but it may just be fairly basic pizza or pasta. It was disappointing that despite paying for a half board deal the hotel still charges full price for a meal at the basement tavern/pub - I would have expected at least a substantial discount.

The bottom line is, if you are coming to Bansko for a good value ski/boarding holiday, the Lion is a good value hotel option.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great location - 8 min walk to the Gondola or regular mini bus transfer! Would hate to pay the heating bill at this hotel - its VERY warm everywhere apart from the swimming pool area which is very cool and was a great disappointment - should have been be a nice treat to return and relax to after full day on the slopes - far too cold and not welcoming - the water in the jaquizzi was degrees colder than the actual pool!
Food was OK - rather 'samey' but perfectly edible and hot! basic choice of desserts each night and nothing had any real flavor but fine as bulk food! (spoke to guests staying in other hotels and from comments made think the Lions food was better than most).
Staff throughout very friendly and helpful
Rooms comfortable, very clean, good size and well maintained. Single sofa bed just about comfortable.
Would we go back ? - Yes but would need a guarantee of a much warmer pool!

Room Tip: ASk for no smoking, top floor (5th) with balcony - away from disco ( not that we noticed any noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brotton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I was a little concerned after reading some bad reviews before my holiday but i needn't have worried at all. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, check in was easy and i recieved a free glass of wine before getting settled in to a very good sized double room with a good sized bathroom with bath and shower. Theres always plenty of hot water and the shower is ideal for waking you up on a morning before hitting the slopes, it's also nice to be able to relax and unwind in a nice hot bath and sooth aching muscles at the end of the day.The hotel is very warm so i had to turn off the radiator in my room and open the window, ideal for drying ski/snowboard gear after a day on the slopes in the bathroom though. They have no problems with you taking your board or skis to your room if you dont want to leave them in the hire place (it doesn't open until 8), I found the bar prices cheaper than going out into town and it's very relaxed and comfortable down there.
Breakfast had a wide selection with cereals, yoghurts, tea, coffee and fruit juice as well as both a continential (rolls, croissants, hams and cheeses) and english style (bacon, eggs, sausage, beans) offering so i would say there is something for everyone. Dinner is again a buffet style with lovely soups, a variety of salads, pizza slices, veg, stews as well as a choice of chicken, beef or pork. The deserts are delicious too with cakes, profiterolls, roulades and fresh fruit. I had a room on the fith floor and the only noise problems i had was with some of the other hotel guests who didn't seem to be able to talk at a normal volume and rowdy Brits passing the hotel after there night out, this however was only a problem with the window open and once closed you didn't hear a thing.
Overall i had a really nice stay at the Lion and would reccomend to anyone looking for a very good value for money place to stay in Basko.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

we spent a weekend at hotel lion bansko in mid january. first time we stayed there we booked it online and arrived in a maddening blizard late Fri evening. The service was excellent- they helped us get our things of the car and provided us with sandwiches and fruit (we had missed dinner). The room was awesome- huge and clean with cooking facilities and place to leave our skis, and we had only paid for a normal two bed room. The only quite disappointing thing was breakfast- certainly no 4* by any means- but I guess there are not many places you can enjoy a decent meal in Bulgaria.. Last, transport service to the slopes regular and free. We'll definitely stay there again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LION Hotel Bansko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LION Hotel Bansko

Address: Georgi Nastev Str., Bansko 2770, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Blagoevgrad Province > Bansko
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 95 Hotels in Bansko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — LION Hotel Bansko 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star LION Hotel Bansko starts December 2005 in one of the most beautiful and peaceful spots of the country - Bansko resort - the newest and most modern ski resort in Bulgaria. Hotel Lion offers a full range of services and amenities to provide you a memorable gateway experience. The hotel has 190 rooms in different room categories: single rooms, double rooms, studios and luxurious apartments, offering comfort and privacy for your stay. Each guest room features private bathroom with a bath-tub and hairdryer, satellite TV, mini bar and direct telephone ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your LION Hotel Bansko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LION Hotel Bansko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.