We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Avalon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Avalon to your Saves list
Hotel Avalon
El Tepe 4, Bansko 2770, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Bansko
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

A group of seven of us enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Avalon last week. James' hospitality was excellent and he also makes a mean cocktail (Tuesday is 2 for 1 night). The freshly made food was superb, as was the curry night on Thursday. Great value - can't recommend enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    16
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
26
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Just stayed for a couple of nights and was really glad to arrive on curry night which was as amazing as normal. On my second night I decided to stay in the hotel to try the new Burger menu and what a great decision that was! I had the most amazing burger that I have ever eaten and I have had quite a few :)
For those who have not stayed here before the rest of the hotel is also great, really warm and cozy and the hotel staff are all super helpful and friendly.
I can't wait to go back.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent a long weekend at the hotel and we really enjoyed our stay there. The hotel is
located at quite neighborhood, and walking distance from shops and restaurants. The rooms were cozy, clean, and worn. James with his team have done an excellent job making the stay there a memorable experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We searched a restaurant for a family dinner and tried the Avalon - excellent choice! The burgers were freshly made, tasted great and were definitely the best we ever had in our life. Our little daughter really enjoyed the home made chips with garlic mayo. James and Vanya are very friendly and gave us a warm welcome. We'll come back, that's clear!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here in the off season as a way to escape the crush of the city. The room was spacious and clean, and everything was in great shape.

However, what made this amazing was the owner of the hotel. He went out of his way to make us feel comfortable. In addition, the whole staff was friendly and welcoming. They were able to point us in the directions we wanted to go, and offered helpful advice on local sights and food.

We will definitely be coming back to Bansko in the winter, and we will definitely be staying at Hotel Avalon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

A friendly hotel in a quiet residential street, five minutes from the centre of town. English host, James, can offer good advice on mountain walking routes and, married into a Bulgarian family, can provide insights into the Bulgarian way of doing things. Coming back to the hotel after a four-day trek was almost like coming home. My late arrival on the first night caused no problems and the night staff made me a cup of tea. I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed at the hotel at the end of the ski season in Bansko. James and Vanya helped us a lot with useful tips and recommendations. The breakfast was simple and satisfactory. Our room was a triple room on the first floor, it was clean, the bathroom is a bit minimalistic.There was a slight noise issue from the lobby in the evening since we were on the first floor, but it was only at the weekend and it quieted down by the time we went to sleep. We tried the hot tub and it was quite relaxing after a day on the slopes, though it only fits about two people.
Overall a nice stay and a great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avalon

Address: El Tepe 4, Bansko 2770, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Blagoevgrad Province > Bansko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bansko
#3 Family Hotel in Bansko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon Hotel is run by an English/Bulgarian family. Based in a quiet residential part of Bansko with great views of the Pirin Mountains, we are just a short walk from the heart of Bansko's old town and the start of the new state of the art ski lift. Family Rooms: We have 4 family rooms, all family rooms have cable TV, fridge, balcony and en-suite bathroom. Our Family rooms have bunk beds and child beds as well as a double bed in an adjoining room; thus can sleep 4 or 5 people. Junior Suites: We have two junior suites with a double bed, balconies, cable TV, en-suite bathroom and great mountain views. Doubles: We have two double rooms on the top floor with great mountain views, double beds, balconies, cable TV and en-suite bathrooms. Twin rooms: We have 5 twin rooms with, cable TV, en-suite bathroom. Triple room: we have one triple room with three beds cable TV, en-suite bathroom. All of our prices include breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Avalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Bansko

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Avalon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.