We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“looks can be deceiving” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Royal Park to your Saves list
Royal Park
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   St. Ivan region Nr.4, Bansko 2770, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Bansko
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“looks can be deceiving”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

After reading previous reviews we figured we would give it the benefit of the doubt as didnt think it would be as bad as eveyone made out. However as some of the remarks maybe a little exagerated most of them turned out to be true. In the first week we were there there was only a handful of english people, the rest were germans, russians & polish, who were extremley rude even to my six year old daughter. We found staff very unhelpful & very miserable. Towels only changed 3 times in 2 weeks & dont think rooms were cleaned at all within the whole 2 wks. The best thing about this hotel was the waterpark which my other half & my daughter enjoyed immensley. Back to Turkey next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    51
    37
    58
    73
See reviews for
169
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

On arrival they had no room for us,took over 2 hours to get to the hotel and kids were tired n hungry but no help from staff to get some food they dont care horrible rude staff never smile also the russians rude pushing their weight around even their kids attacked our kids for no reason try to complain about food, room not being cleaned, no sheet change for 2 wks, bar runs dry in poo in the pool, poo on the chess board we all got sick from the luke warm delights from their restaurant. in the end we ate out bought our own booze. one thing it was a pretty setting but everything else disgusting dont go.

Room Tip: No room go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Beautiful location, spoilt by poor service, miserable staff, poor food,undercooked and cold, sometimes very little left. Hotel is lacking some TLC now, appears to be cutbacks to the maintenance and standards in the hotel. Rooms tired looking, mouldy showercurtains, lack of clean towels and bedding, had to ask for clean towels and were given false promises. Hotel constantly ran out of alcoholic drinks, one lady traveller on her, own asked for a vodka at 6.30pm, told none left, I then when to bar and requested the same,the vodka appeared, we were told on a regular basis,there was no drink left! It appears they were rationing drink, nightclub on the resort was supposed to be open from 10pm-2am, we were told they were closing at 1am as no drink left. This hotel should not be advertising all inclusive if they are going to ration drink and food. We had to eat out many times as the choices of food was the same most evenings and very long queues for grilled foods, seems to be no management structure or supervison in the hotel, dining room was like a feeding frenzy at a Zoo!! Beautiful pool, but icy cold and not very clean, plasic filter vents running around outside of pool going black. Beach unkempt and not cleaned, found broken glass on the sand. such a shame really as the location and views are beautiful.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the front of the hotel, wasnt too bad really, though buses pick up and dro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau, Moldova
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Beautiful area , but the hotel is an disaster , The personnel is not friendly , rooms are dirty and unkempt , in housekeeping sheet they sign for whole day in the morning :) food better to not eat . Will I recommend it to somebody- NOOOOOO, It was my first experience in BG and it was an failure ,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk England
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Returned from our holiday on the 9th August, on arrival the hotel looks grand, the room was a twin family room lots of space but only one wardrobe no draws but this was ok. The maid came in daily and pulled the covers over the bed, we had to ask on a daily bases for towels and toilet rolls, our sheets were changed the night before we returned home and we stayed for two weeks, we did complain but the reception staff ignored us, the cleaners outside work extremely hard it's always clean, the restaurant staff work so hard but the Russians are so abusive towards them, the Russians were the biggest let down for the hotel like other reviews say they are very greedy leaving everyone else queuing waiting for the next pancakes, chicking skewers, sausages or burgers to be cooked because believe me that's all they do cook apart from on the children's section which is slop, the deserts were lovely and the selection of ice cream was great.
Other reviews state that cutlery plates and glasses run out this is so true you have to end up using desert bowls and spoons.
On our second week the watered down alcoholic drinks ran out and were never replaced leaving only beer or whiskey.
There s NO entertainment in any of the hotels in this resort, there is an animation hall for the kids hour disco but you can't get in as it's so small, the only night we managed this was when the animation team came round in the day asking if the children would like to join in in their pirate how, but when we turned up they charged us 15levs per child we had three, there is also only one fire escape in that building and with the prams being parked there also as there is nowhere else to leave them you and your child/children wouldn't stand a chance of getting out.
Don't get me completely wrong we still had a good time as we met really nice people and went out and about with them a lot, we ate in pacos bar a few times the ood was nice and the shack was brilliant how they have made it I would deffo recommend this. Sunny beach and nessa bar are on,y a bus ride away food and beer is good any so cheap 40p a pint sometimes you get free drinks and icecreem.
The water park is excellent and just outside the main doors of the hotel the kids spent a lot of there time there, the water is freezing in the hotel and water park pools, but the sea is lovely and warm and the beach is clean.
I would return to Bulgaria as its a beautiful country and most of the Bulgarians are lovely, but I will not return to the royal park hotel resort unless things seriously change as it could be a fantastic place to go it should never be a 4star hotel considering there is a 5star hotel very near by that it out of this world worth a look around its amazing the royal castle just past the water park.
Please don't waste your money on this hotel I wish we had taken notice of the negative comments on here as they are so true"

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

having literally just returned from a two week stay at the royal park from 26th August - 09th Sept i thought it best to just say this place/resort could be awsome but is let down massively by the front of house management team and the awful and i mean awful russian guests there meal habits and greed have to be seen to be believed!! I love differrent cultures/countries and meeting the guests who holiday from other countries but i was absolutely shocked.
I will add a full review asap but all uk tour operators who use this resort(we booked through thomas cook who use balkan holidays) must demand things change at this resort or stop using it altogether this resort location and grounds are lovely but so many negatives
please believe me do not go here
i am a 100% genuine trip advisor reviewerI dont expect the earth but more then how this establishment is currently run!!
FULL REVIEW TO FOLLOW

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comanesti
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Before travelling I'd read many reviews about this hotel and when I arrived I was expecting the worst. However, having driven for many hours, I was very pleased that I was able to check-in upon arrival, an hour or so earlier than the advertised check-in time. All staff that I encountered throughout my stay were, without exception, helpful, courteous and friendly. I was concerned about the restaurants - having read that they ran out of food and cutlery. However, that was not the case at all during my stay and with two distinct times for both lunch and the evening meal, it meant that there were only half the number of guests being served during each of those sittings. There certainly was a huge selection of various meals from which to choose and an extensive salad-bar with a wide selection of fresh produce too. The food and service in the à la carte restaurants were also very good. The bedroom in the hotel was modern, well-equipped and comfortable and towels changed each day. Activities were provided for children during the day and the slides in the free water-park were awesome! Drinks and snacks throughout the resort were plentiful and it was clearly detailed as to which bars and which drinks weren't included within the all-inclusive package. The beach is VERY close to the hotel - but the sand can get VERY hot underfoot so be warned if you're there during the hot summer months. The hotel pool wasn't heated, but that meant us hardly swimmers not afraid of 'chilly' water had the pool pretty much to ourselves! (The sea was very warm.) Plenty of sunbeds and parasols both on the beach and near the pool and its bar. The hotel and its grounds were kept exceptionally clean. A most enjoyable holiday with family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park

Address: St. Ivan region Nr.4, Bansko 2770, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Blagoevgrad Province > Bansko
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 97 Specialty Lodging in Bansko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Park 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Park Elenite
Hotel Royal Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.