We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily the best hotel in Bansko” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena to your Saves list
Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   96 Pirin Street, Bansko 2770, Bulgaria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
March Special Offers
Ranked #3 of 96 Hotels in Bansko
Peel, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Easily the best hotel in Bansko”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

It is hard to fault this hotel. You can practically ski to the door and it is only a few metres from the gondola that takes you to all the ski slopes. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming and the staff are keen to help. The bedroom was a good size and although a little tired looking, was comfortable. The bathroom was amazing with 2 showers - one of which was a power shower - great after a day on the slopes. The water was always hot, as were the rooms - too hot really and we opened the door to the balcony on most nights. The food was good - particularly the starters and desserts. Thank you to the attentive waiters - particularly Nikolay - who were a delight. We enjoyed sitting in the comfortable lounge, in front of the wood fire, supping on hot chocolate or cocktails - depending on the mood. The spa is fabulous. Steam rooms, saunas, inside and outside pool, ice room etc. and was never crowded. The massage we booked was fantastic - thank you Alex. We are already thinking of going back.

Room Tip: Our room was one of the cheapest - but was still really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHGA, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Madam/Sir

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.
I am glad indeed to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and found all our services within the different hotel areas accommodating your needs and expectations during your recent stay with us.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again and provide you with the finest personalized service at its best.

Yours sincerely,

A. Manos
/General Manager/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    82
    29
    8
    3
See reviews for
144
160
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

i have just spend 5 days in this wonderful hotel with family. everything worked to perfection, nice friendly staff, easy check-in and out, wonderful breakfast and a very nice spa/gym as well. if you are there for skiiing then there is no better hotel nor hotel location you can get. the room was nice and airy with a good size bathroom with both shower and bathtub, a large balcony and we had beautiful views of the ski slope and the mountains from our balcony. the welness area was excellent with 2 pools and jacuzi as well as indoor and outdoor (heated) swimmingpool - there was also a nice little cafe. i have no other comments apart from simply delivering everyting you expect.

Room Tip: go for mountain view room, however, try to avoid the one next to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHGA, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you for sharing your post. There is no bigger motivator than the comments of our guests and yours definitely support the efforts of the entire team of Kempinski Grand Arena Bansko. I'm delighted indeed to read that we've ensured an enjoyable stay and hope to host you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

A. Manos
/General Manager/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

If you want to ski in Bansko, the Kempinski is a must if your budget will stretch that far. The service is superb, nothing is too much trouble for them. Staff are lovely! The VIP lift pass is a must and even then, brace yourself for a few battles in the VIP queue because it seems there are different levels of VIP passes being sold. If you are polite but show the security guards your Kempinski VIP pass you will find (I hope!) like we did that you are then allowed to by pass the queue to the front. The ski runs are brilliant for all abilities although if you are an Alps lover maybe not enough variety for you. We will definitely be going back to Bansko!

Room Tip: Mountain view is beautiful, town room is cheaper and still fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHGA, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. Most importantly thank you for staying with us and appreciating the services available within Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena. Comments such as yours are the well deserved reward for our people. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

A. Manos
/General Manager/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Having previously skied in France, Austria and Sweden, I would rate Bansko at the top of the list if you are a beginner or intermediate skier. My family are all competent skiers now and what sets this experience apart is the hospitality and warmth of the hotel as well as genuine ski in ski out facilities. After a week at the hotel, we all felt like the hotel was our second home, staff cannot do enough for you, the spa is first rate, and overall the best value for money! All the hotel restaurants are excellent, (I would recommend the Tempanyaki and Bulgarian ones in particular). At the end of the skiing day, Nikolaj in the boot room, practically takes your boots off for you! We will definitely go back!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHGA, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor - we are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Its a pleasure and a great motivation for all our staff to receive such positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you, for a return visit soon!

Yours sincerely,

A. Manos
/General Manager/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have had an absolute blast......Bansko for skiing is totally chilled.....
_we are a family of four ( 16 and 18 yr old girls).......a long transfer but worth every hour! (3hrs)......The Kempinski was over and above what we expected....total excellence!......The Spa was amazing and very welcome after a long ski..
Breakfast was outstanding with fresh fruit, bread, pastries and even omelleatte and eggy bread cooked to order. The evening meal too though had plenty of choice, however would have benefited from a cooked to order main , rather than buffet style.
The significant plus point for The Kempinski was the VIP fast track to gondola and excellent boot
room with wonderful efficient , delightful man each day.
We shall definitely return. One tip, ensure the reps have cleared your fast track pass with security men at the gondola as we did have few problems. This, however was nothing to do with the hotel.
I would definitely recommend and return to this hidden gem!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHGA, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. It was a great pleasure to have you with us and to have the opportunity to offer you our hospitality. I am delighted you enjoyed your Kempinski experience and thank you for sharing your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit one day soon !

Yours sincerely,

A. Manos
/General Manager/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have previously stayed t the Lion Hotel, a four star very pleasant hotel, but the Grand Arena is a significant step above. The rooms are spacious and well furnished, not what you would descibe as "posh" but everything you would need from a ski hote. The Spa is fantastic though, even if the pool is a little on the chilly side (try the one outside, its warmer and its such a strange feeling being in a pool watching people ski past!).

The location is spot on, being within touching distance of the gondolas but the icing on the cake is the VIP lift pass, meaning no more 1 1/2 hour queues for the Gondola.

It is more expensive, but the quality of food, service, location and staff more than make up for it. Now all they have to do is sort out the tortuous 3 hour transfer from Sofia....

Room Tip: THe hotel is split into different buildings, all accessed centrally but different buildings have dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHGA, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Madam/ Sir,

Thank you for posting your comment on Trip Advisor.
We were very happy to read your review, finding out that our services and facilities could exceed your expectations. This is indeed the best reward for our staff and I will be more than delighted to provide them with your positive feedback.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

A. Manos
/General Manager/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The Kempinski is a superbly located hotel. We stayed for 4 nights and were very impressed by the facilities. Rooms are excellent and clean.
Very outgoing and friendly staff - rare to be seen within a hotel staff in Bulgaria - I wonder if Mr. D from Macedonia stayed in the same hotel!
Absolutely service oriented people that are not pretending when serving guests and their English level is not bad at all.
They have the competittive advantage with the VIP ski Pass and the Ski room facility that can spoil even the most demanding skier.
Nothing but to praise this very well managed property. Well Done.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHGA, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Madam,

It is an honor for the entire Team of Grand Arena Bansko to have such a post on Trip Advisor. This is what we are striving for every single day here in Bansko, to deliver the Kempinski Hospitality satisfying our valuable guests. On behalf of all of us here in the mountains our sincere Thanks and we hope to welcome once again at our beautiful property.

Yours sincerely,

A. Manos
/General Manager/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena

Address: 96 Pirin Street, Bansko 2770, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Blagoevgrad Province > Bansko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bansko
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bansko
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bansko
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Bansko
#2 Spa Hotel in Bansko
#2 Family Hotel in Bansko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether visiting Bansko for business or leisure purposes, Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena is the ideal base from which to work or explore all that the town has to offer. Located at the footsteps of the Pirin Mountains, the luxury hotel is situated right next to the Gondola lift station that takes you all the way up to highest slopes, half pipes and snowboard facilities. The shopping and cultural district of Bansko is also easily accessible within walking distance from the 5 stars hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Bansko
Kempinski Resort Grand Arena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.