We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St. Ivan Rilski - Hotel, SPA & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added St. Ivan Rilski - Hotel, SPA & Apartments to your Saves list
St. Ivan Rilski - Hotel, SPA & Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sveti Ivan Area, Bansko 2770, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 96 Hotels in Bansko
Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Horrible stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed at this hotel because of an organized team building. However, I don't have good experience. I was at 3rd floor and it was really cold in the room. I visited some colleagues in a different room and there the temperature was OK. Since it was so cold, I asked for a blanket at the reception where I was treated very rude.
Regarding the food, it was terrible - no diversity, it was little, personnel looked at us as if we were stealing it and so on.
At no circumstances would I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    28
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
27
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel would be a five-star hotel for Tunisian people.
This hotel would be a three-star hotel for British people.
To me, it was a four-star hotel and our family loved it very much.
One complaint was that WiFi connection was unstable for a couple of days in a week-stay.

There was a kids club where you can leave your kids (not baby) and go night out.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for one week in December, nice hotel, but poor services, not very friendly staff. In 2 out of 7 days we had problems with the heating in the room, but they fixed it the same day. The SPA area is clean, but the water in the pool seemed a little cold for me and no jacuzzi

Room Tip: The rooms in the hotel are closer to the restaurant and SPA. Also, rooms on the back side of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plovdiv, Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in September,without booking before.They had great promotion on this moment - pay for one night ant get one night free.The hotel is new,big rooms,very comfortable beds, the bathroom was amazing -with two sinks,bathtub and shower cabin.Free WiFi.The view from the room balcony, just amazing and the clean air.
The breakfast was just ok, but the restaurant was perfect and they made really good soups.
Also was good that they have pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there in apartments part of this complex. Everything very clean and good serviced. If you can get up early in the morning and meet the sunrise - You will have great impressions. When sun rises upon??? the peaks of mountains and changes it colurs every day with the different colours (depends of clouds on the sky and other optical effects). Two different restarants - one in national bulgarian style and other one is classical can met all of your requirements in food. Very good breakfast for any taste (just one aspect - instead of different jams for Yougurt (Kisele Mlyako) you will get preserved fruits (pinapple and apricots), but it also very tastfull. Some strange work of WiFi is one more minus. The best place with WiFi covering is Lobby Bar. In other places it is not very good, but this situation is standard in great numbers of bulgarian hotels. We also should remember that the real season in Bansko starting at the end on November, so everything is in a very good level.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We lived in apartment. It was very good inside. Clean and fresh. Everything what you need for self-catering. I felt like in home. Unfortunately service and food was very poor. And this let it down this place. Reception staff wasn't welcoming and friendly. Hardly smile. I think I was smiling more than them. In spa nobody offer me any service... that's why I didn't spend any money. We had half-board option. Breakfast was really boring. Everyday the same food. Unfortunately on your dinner we had to pay for every drink. I think it will be not a problem if they provide better service. They sweep the table by brush and they use the dustpan!!! They didn't change table clothes. Unfortunately I won't ever go back to that place. I rather choose to spend more money and go to France or Austria.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

When I first arrived in Bansko and saw how run down and unloved some of it looks, I was quite concerned about our accommodation. However, I was pleasantly surprised by St Ivan and how clean and fresh it was inside. Our room was well maintained and the bed was extremely comfortable - something that is very important after a long day of snowboarding!

The breakfast was very good, lots of choice and I felt it was great value, considering the rate we paid was fairly cheap. The only thing that annoyed us about it was that on our second day the clocks had gone forward over night, and being from Dubai, we hadn't considered this possibility. Therefore, when we turned up for breakfast in the morning at what we thought was 8.45am, it was actually 9.45 and we had missed breakfast. A bit of a heads up would have been appreciated!

Something else to be aware of is that there were a few schools also staying at the hotel with kids being aged between 12-17. Most of them were well behaved and didn't disturb us in the least, but there were a lot of Bulgarian kids on our floor who made an absolute racket; banging doors every ten seconds, loud music, screaming, hanging around in the corridor and lifts, which I could have lived without. This could have easily been sorted with a bit more teacher presence (and I say this as a teacher myself!)

The location of the hotel was great, just ten minutes walk to the gondola station and an easy amble back from the town at night. Be aware that if you go to Bansko at the same time we did (late March/early April) that all the shops and restaurants are closed/closing for the season. On our first night all we heard as we walked through the town was "Last night, last night!" We did eat at Penguins, which was lovely, but they had hardly anything on the food or drinks menu because they were closing the next day. There are a few places that remain open though; the Chateau Antique was a particular favourite of ours, which we frequented a good few times over the week.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St. Ivan Rilski - Hotel, SPA & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ivan Rilski - Hotel, SPA & Apartments

Address: Sveti Ivan Area, Bansko 2770, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Blagoevgrad Province > Bansko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 96 Hotels in Bansko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ivan Rilski - Hotel, SPA & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious „St. Ivan Rilski” SPA Hotel is an excellent choice for your winter ski holiday, green summer holiday, for organizing conference events, corporate trainings, corporate events of various formats, weddings and family celebrations.The Bulgarian hotel chain FPI Hotels & Resorts selected the best and the most swiftly developing ski resort in Bulgaria – the beautiful Bansko for the location of its winter holiday site – the four-star „St. Ivan Rilski” SPA Hotel, which was officially opened at the end of 2008.One of the indisputable advantages of this hotel is its location. It is situated on the outskirts of the Pirin Mountain close to the lift and near Bansko's ski tracks.5 min drive to the ski-lift15 min walk to the centre of Bansko160 km away from Sofia50 km away from the Greek border ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your St. Ivan Rilski - Hotel, SPA & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Ivan Rilski - Hotel, SPA & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.