We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adriatik Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Adriatik Hotel to your Saves list
Adriatik Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lagjia 13, Durres, Albania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Durres
Vienna
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not bad for the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Nice hotel directly on the beach of Durres. Rooms with sea view are available at 90€ per night, the price depends on the season. restaurant is ok, breakfast as well. Our room was clean and spacious. We had no reason to complain. Staff was multilingual and helpfull.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    14
    4
    7
See reviews for
8
14
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Our guide book said 'most luxurious hotel in durres'. for $100 per night (80 euros), I expect a lot more luxury. the walls in the lobby are lined with communist looking pictures (and bill clinton). Like the Butrinti hotel in Sarande, this hotel is 'faux' luxury. It's crappy and run down, but the locals are all convinced it's on par Ritz Carlton, when it's actually a road side best western (for $40/night) except that a best western has working wireless and a better bathroom).

BUT...i have a direct view of the ocean, and my windows are wide open and I can hear those gentle Adriatic waves crashing on the shore. how lovely.

The service is very good, English too.

Room Tip: walk along the boardwalk up the coast to eat at the villa lule. I had a seafood pasta that was unbel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Pros: Very good staff service, room was clean, hotel restaurant is very good. Most staff speaks good English. Free wireless, though it often doesn't work in the rooms--you may need to go down to the lobby or up to the 4th floor, where the signal is good.

Cons: Little to no water pressure--either nothing, or the barest tiny trickle, comes out of the bath or shower. That was really disappointing after 24 hours of air travel, and is the one thing that would keep me from staying here again. I had to take showers at odd times (at lunch, 2 AM, etc.) or not at all. Several colleagues had similar problems with either non-working showers, or random hot-cold water.

Room Tip: Water pressure might be better on first floor, but better view and breeze on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

I stay several time and also now i am just back.
directly on the beach its offering a full panorama on the Durres port.
all the service of 5 star , with big pool and clean room.
Best lodging in Durres.
No restaurant service available.

Room Tip: Book the rooms with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

3 nights in the begining of December 2011. First day surpised with resonably good food quality and choice, but later that realised that they offer the same food from the day before. The worst squids in my life. Clean rooms, renewed recently. Definetely not a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leskovac,Serbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I was with a friend two days in hotel and we spent nice time and rest. The rooms are overlooking the sea, the beach is long and beautifully decorated. The only thing I did not like the toilets because it is too small and not nice for the 5-star hotel. Everyone was friendly. Receptionist are communicative and professional. Prices for coffe and drinks are OK with the place and a hotel. I am pleased with the service at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

We had 2 nights in Tirana prior to our stay in Durres and decided to arrive via train. The trains in Albania really are one of the few old style communist experiences left. It cost less that £2 for the entire family to travel from Tirana to Durres but it is not for the feint hearted! The train had very few windows left at all and was covered in graffiti. There seemed to be a lot of people who stayed on the train for much of the day. It is a fantastic way to see Albania but keep your wits about you! You can travel via bus (situated next to the train station in both Tirana and Durres) for a few pence more. The buses do not run to timetable they sit and wait til they are full and set off. The journey by bus is much quicker than via train and if you are lucky there will be someone that jumps on selling banana's!

We stayed in October and the hotel was very quiet. You only have to do a quick google search to see the beaches of Durres heaving with tourists but in October a lot of the area surrounding Hotel Adriatik is closed. The pool looked amazing but was unfortunately drained for the winter.

The rooms were clean and well equipped and free wifi is available throughout the hotel. Compared to UK prices drinks in the hotel bar and in the mini bar were cheap. There werent many other guests staying whilst we were there in fact the staff may well have outnumbered us.

The bar staff were excellent! Attentive and patient and they serve over 30 types of hot chocolate so thick you have to use a spoon to consume it. The Albanian red wine was absolutely delicious.

The breakfast is good, there is an omlette chef and then various meats, pastries, cheeses, fruits and bread. You arent allowed to take anything out of the breakfast room and they do keep an eye on you.

We managed to persuade the waiters to get us out some sun loungers (for us 25 degrees was rather warm!). There are some great little restaurants along the road and a bar which looks like a space ship built in the sea just down the beach which was rather novel. If you go into Durres itself there is an amazing fish restaurant (who bestowed numerous free dishes on us including mussels and sorbets) opposite the castle.

To go into town you will need to use a taxi, the hotel has its own mini bus but they charge more than you will pay anywhere else. If you walk to the end of the drive you will find a taxi easily. Most taxi operations are a bit ad hoc but we had nothing but good experiences during our entire stay in Albania.

I found our stay at Hotel Adriatik very enjoyable and relaxing, I'm not sure i'd like it so much in the heaving summer months.

I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adriatik Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adriatik Hotel

Address: Lagjia 13, Durres, Albania
Location: Albania > Durres County > Durres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Durres
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Durres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Adriatik Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Adriatik Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adriatik Hotel Durres

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adriatik Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.