We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a pleasant experience staying here, with various activities, and the food is good especially the Indian food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calodyne Sur Mer Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Calodyne Sur Mer Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Calodyne Sur Mer Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mirabel Avenue, Coastal Road, Calodyne, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Calodyne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“It is a pleasant experience staying here, with various activities, and the food is good especially the Indian food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Pros:
1. Very transparent in terms of Billing.
2. Service is excellent. (they don't make you wait )
3. Very happening during day with sport activities and night with music and dance events.

Cons:
1. Far from airport.

Recommendation for people travelling to Mauritius:
1. For tourists, its best to negotiate a package with your holiday planner, and avoid currency exchanges within Mauritius, as they don't follow universal exchange rates, but loot the tourists with their own creative exchange rates.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalodyneSurMerAdmin, Manager at Calodyne Sur Mer Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to respond on your "pleasant Experience" at our Hotel all comments are posted on the notice board and positive comments are always motivating and encouraging.
I see that you place far away from the airport as a "Con" we appreciate this comment as we are far from the airport, but the upside on this is that you do not have noisy planes travelling overhead all times of the day and night, it gives peace and quiet.
It is always best to change currency at a reputable exchange counter where the forex rates are displayed and you know what you are getting.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    133
    50
    32
    18
See reviews for
79
161
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Louis, Port Louis, Mauritius
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Overall - I had a good time.

Disadvantage: Fact that its summer, there were loads of mosquitoes and no precautions were taken in the room. therefore during my holiday my baby were bitten badly & could have prove dangerous. i suggest they should take some initiatives by adding some anti- mosquitoes vaporiser in the rooms.

The cleaning were funny & not done properly. my terrace stays with mud all the time & towels were not changed after cleaning - which made me had to call them all the time to ask for towels!
Also, I've seen all colours of brooms & all torn apart :) that made me laugh as I guess that's the reason for uncleaned spaces & unprofessional cleaning!

Food was alright. but would prefer to have more variety such as smoked salmon and all would have been great as we believe we are in a mauritian country hence we should care for not only tourists but for mauritians too!

Wouldn't mind to go again if they do consider my suggestion...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalodyneSurMerAdmin, Manager at Calodyne Sur Mer Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment it helps us improve our service giving you the guest a better experience
While you comment on no mosquito repellent these are in every room and replacement mats are available from housekeeping
We have a save water notice in the rooms requesting that should you need clean towels or extra towels they are available, as a Mauritian you will be aware that water on the island is a valuable scarce commodity and we have to save water where we can, hence the note in the room.
The different colour brooms are for different applications or areas, but I am glad we made you laugh.
Smoked Salmon is available in the Ala Carte Dining Room, but unfortunately not always available on the buffet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had our honeymoon in Mauritius and it was a very pleasant experience thanks to Calodyne Sur mer. We were given a pool facing room. The room was wonderful with good facilities. The pool was great and the animation team and the hotel staff were very friendly and courteous trying to entertain us all the time. We wished we could spend more time at the hotel than we did. Food was decent with some options. It is also great that we have access to the beach from the Hotel. One thing I would like to mention is that it would be great if the beach can be cleaned of algae (if possible). It would be a great place to swim. Thanks to Mr. Joseph who was very helpful with the boat. All the best to the bartenders Manish and Pillai :)
We would surely wish to come back sometime and stay in the same place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The stay was nice so was the environment. We had a superior room and it was gr8 comfort. The bath tub in the bedroom really gave a good sensation. The animation team was great and they always made their best to entertain everybody. The food was ok but the menus lacked variety; you had nearly the same food at lunch and dinner. The beach and swimming pool was great and the staff was real caring. Could be better with wifi everywhere and more sea activities because you only have kayak and pedalos. Last thing, everything costs-even a glass of water while eating is charged and i didn't see this fair. To those wanting to have a peaceful stay, it is a good place..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

the rooms were good & the service was lovely. great food & a must stay location for all married couples. the hotel staff were very courteous & helped you get the food you wanted. lovely swimming pool, coupled with local music playing from 7pm.

last but not the least a lovely place & a great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalodyneSurMerAdmin, Manager at Calodyne Sur Mer Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to place a comment on Trip Advisor, we value your positive feedback as it helps us determine if we are ensuring that our guests have a true memorable stay, we look forward to welcoming you back
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had a wonderful 15 nights stay in september and now we dream of coming back!
Everyone in the staff were very nice without being "too much". Everybody were very friendly and really cared for us to feel good.
The rooms were clean and comfortable, we felt like being home.
The beach was not the biggest but very well kept and big enough! The same goes for the pool. And the view was fantastic!
The entertainment group were very professional and kind to both adults and children. There were activities if we had chosen so all day. But we choose to only relax and that was respected.
It was very nice to watch the Sega dance show but I would have liked to see them more than once in this long stay.
The food was very good but sadly not in our taste all the time since we are not used to Indian cuisine. But we could tell it was very well prepared. We really missed some steaks and fries and such. And bacon for breakfast. ;)
We went on several trips using the taxi company connected to the hotel. They were also very serviceminded and acted as guides, Really nice.
We would like to recommend this hotel to everybody that wants a nice comfortable vacation without feeling the pressure of too much luxury and activities. Just a beautiful clean hotell with nice staff and nice properties.
As a bonus, the village of Calodyne just opened a new supermarket two days before we went home. That means we could by food and stuff that we liked to keep in the room as snacks.
And a new hotell is being built behind Calodyne sur mer, which we hope will be good for the community without being bad for our hotell.
Thank you again for a really nice vacation and we hope to be able to come back soon!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalodyneSurMerAdmin, Manager at Calodyne Sur Mer Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback it is appreciated, all comments are posted on the notice board as it is motivation in itself for all staff to see such positive remarks.
The Hotel next door will be an asset to us and will not affect your next stay at all, of which we look forward in welcoming you back.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stay in Calodyne was really really ultimate. The major factor which made the mauritius trip unforgettable was the calodyne resort. They serve different cuisines each day. Every night they entertain the guests with songs, dance etc. The swimming pool was awsome. The staff were extra ordinary in welcoming and keeping the guests warm at heart. Rooms were neat and cosy. The beach view from the room can't be explained in words. They provids free pedal boating, kaoke and some indoor games. They provide water bottles daily, which is lacked by some of the other resorts in mauritius. Super markets and the Grand Bay city is very near to the resort. Calodyne is a very very good choice of stay in mauritius. You will defenitely carry the name "Calodyne" in your memories for ever.......................

Room Tip: Go for superior room.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalodyneSurMerAdmin, Manager at Calodyne Sur Mer Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments, all our comments are placed on a notice board for all staff to see and they appreciate the great feedback thank you.
We look forward to welcoming you back on the "first anniversary"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Calodyne Sur Mer Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calodyne Sur Mer Resort & Spa

Address: Mirabel Avenue, Coastal Road, Calodyne, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Calodyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Calodyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Calodyne Sur Mer Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CALODYNE SUR MER (3*** Superior)Located in North-East of the island, overlooking the beautiful sea of Mauritius, the recently renovated resort offers to singles, couples and families total comfort and relaxation. For sports lovers the structure offers free canoes and Paddle boats, beach volley, tennis table, bowling, darts and the possibility to reach the private island 'Angel Escapade ' that is situated opposite the hotel which allows you to enjoy the best of the beautiful sea of Mauritius and its absolute tranquillity. The resort also offers a soft entertainment program based on local music, folkloric dance and sport. All services are organized in order to spend a pleasant holiday.LOCATION:The resort is built in modern Creole style and is located about 15 minutes from Grand Baie, 40 minutes from the capital Port Louis and about 1 hour from the airport.ROOMS:82 rooms with terrace or balcony overlooking the waters of the Indian Ocean, the swimming pool or the tropical garden, all rooms have a small living room with angle tea/coffee making facilities, mini bar, telephone, air conditioning, safe, satellite TV and private bathroom with shower or bath tub and hairdryer. There are also excellent solutions for large families with accommodations which consist of 2/3 bedrooms.SERVICES:Reception 24 hours service, swimming pool, beach, Island relaxt and towels. Fusion Restaurant located on the sea, wave bar, and Vielle Rouge Restaurant a la carte.Spa (Ayurvedic massage and body treatments), boutique, baby sitter service, laundry, Internet point, taxi service and more.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Calodyne Sur Mer Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calodyne Sur Mer Hotel Grand Gaube
Calodyne Sur Mer Grand Gaube

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calodyne Sur Mer Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.