We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calodyne Sur Mer Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Calodyne Sur Mer Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Calodyne Sur Mer Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mirabel Avenue, Coastal Road, Calodyne, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Calodyne
Moka
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Pluses: The rooms were very neat and comfortable. The interior design was also pleasing.

Good food and buffet. Quite varied but still limited choices. Chicken was not available.

Entertainement quite good with shows, dances, some boat house activities.

The guys responsible of the entertainement were also very nice, and helpful.

Minuses: The boat house equipments are limited and old or broken. It has only pedalo and canoe.

We were told that the pool cues were also broken...

The entertainement (shows) starts quite late.... Around 21h30.

The swimming pool was not so clean.


Overall its a very good hotel considering the price (local winter price) we paid. Good value for money and I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    133
    50
    32
    18
See reviews for
79
161
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Was much better in the past. Service especially food not good. Same food for 3 days. No variety.
Don't think I will go there again. No value for money.

Try to take time to decide. Have a look at various hotel before booking. Don't act like me. I booked based on past experience there but now the service is poor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalodyneSurMerAdmin, Manager at Calodyne Sur Mer Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, your comments are noted and have already been actioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Although the vegetarian food was limited, but this was the case in every hotel at Mauritius, including the top ones, where the situation was very bad. Vegetarian food was not much, but was tasty.

The rooms were clean, the front desk and the manager, along with other staff were really hospitable.

We enjoyed our stay at Calodyne Sur Mer and we would really thank Mr. Robin, Mr. Avinash Cheena, Mr. Sudhir, Ms. Stella, Mr. Vessan, Mr. Manesh and Mr. Kushal along with Mr. Joseph and Ms. Sabrina.

There was no problem with the service at all. Guys you can select Calodyne Sur Mer as your resort as it doesn't really look like a typical lodge or hotel. Enjoy the difference.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We planned a trip to Mauritius in March this year through a travel agent and stayed at "Calodyne Sur Mer". The property is clean and is maintained however the food was quite a problem. We are vegetarians and the Hotel had very less to offer for food. The travel agent did not inform us about this before we left from India.

Although we had a wonderful time while our stay in Mauritius but I would suggest that going through a travel agent is not a good idea. Inspite of using Thomas cook's services, there was a huge information gap that we got to know of after reaching the destination.

Some staff members at the hotel although were very helpful and paid heed to our feedback (Mr. Haroun and the restaurant manager at Sur Mer in particular).

Some Advise for anyone palnning a trip to Mauritius:
1 . Plan a stay near Port Louis
2. Carry lots of water with you at all times (drinking water) while at Mauritius
3. Do visit Caudaun Water front, go for the dolphin cruise (for sure), chamarel(coloured sands) and jumbo hyper market is a good place to pick up a lot of eatables, beer and water for your stay there
4. Food at a few Indian restaurants at Port Louis is worth it (for both vegetarians and non vegetarians)
5. Flee Market is good for shopaholics in case one wants to pick up a lot of gifts/memoirs etc
6. Try and book a stay directly and not through a travel agent
7. We met someone who hired a car and found it very economical and relaxing through their stay as it is a cheaper mode of transport in Mauritius

I give full marks to the place it is absolutely neat and clean, and the natural beauty is at its best. We were lucky to find helpful staff at the Hotel too.

Hope the review helps.

TM

Room Tip: People who know French or are non vegetarians can ave a wonderful stay here..The family rooms are cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

in the resort service is good and this is good place for new couple.

Room Tip: room on the right and last villa is seaview and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bois Cheri
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

It was a pleasant holiday with friends....
I enjoyed two night there....
The animation there was really good with Denis and Sabrina....
They make us rock the night with beautiful songs and make us dance....
We had also played musical chair...
It was real fun...
The kids specially enjoyed a lot with Denis in playing and dancing...
its was just fantastic...the activities also was great such as kayak and pedalo....
From our arrival to departure everything was amazing!!!....
The service was really good....
The staff also was very kind...
great variety of foods....
Again thanks to Denis and Sabrina....
from the spies girls...
Damini, Ayesha ,Deepa and Greenchef co ltd.....

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakedistrict
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is billed as a resort, but its a hotel for locals. The first room we had was so defective that we were moved to another after compliant. There were no beach towels when we arrived, or early the morning after. Amon the boat house man was permenently asleep! The food was very bland, certain foods (pork/bacon/sausage)unavailable. With the all inclusive the wine is served via a cask and from a water jug! There is a major development next door with an old hotel being knocked down and they are dredging the local beach. Its very safe bathing, but the water is very milky. We have stayed in Mauritius 6 times and there are many other hotels which are half the price and double the quality, so beware!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Calodyne Sur Mer Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calodyne Sur Mer Resort & Spa

Address: Mirabel Avenue, Coastal Road, Calodyne, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Calodyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Calodyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Calodyne Sur Mer Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CALODYNE SUR MER (3*** Superior)Located in North-East of the island, overlooking the beautiful sea of Mauritius, the recently renovated resort offers to singles, couples and families total comfort and relaxation. For sports lovers the structure offers free canoes and Paddle boats, beach volley, tennis table, bowling, darts and the possibility to reach the private island 'Angel Escapade ' that is situated opposite the hotel which allows you to enjoy the best of the beautiful sea of Mauritius and its absolute tranquillity. The resort also offers a soft entertainment program based on local music, folkloric dance and sport. All services are organized in order to spend a pleasant holiday.LOCATION:The resort is built in modern Creole style and is located about 15 minutes from Grand Baie, 40 minutes from the capital Port Louis and about 1 hour from the airport.ROOMS:82 rooms with terrace or balcony overlooking the waters of the Indian Ocean, the swimming pool or the tropical garden, all rooms have a small living room with angle tea/coffee making facilities, mini bar, telephone, air conditioning, safe, satellite TV and private bathroom with shower or bath tub and hairdryer. There are also excellent solutions for large families with accommodations which consist of 2/3 bedrooms.SERVICES:Reception 24 hours service, swimming pool, beach, Island relaxt and towels. Fusion Restaurant located on the sea, wave bar, and Vielle Rouge Restaurant a la carte.Spa (Ayurvedic massage and body treatments), boutique, baby sitter service, laundry, Internet point, taxi service and more.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Calodyne Sur Mer Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calodyne Sur Mer Hotel Grand Gaube
Calodyne Sur Mer Grand Gaube

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calodyne Sur Mer Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.