We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deefer Diving Cariacou” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deefer Diving

Deefer Diving
Main Street, Hillsborough, Grenada
+1 473-443-7882
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Set on the beautiful island of Carriacou, Deefer Diving sets out to provide the highest standard in diving. We offer PADI courses from beginner to pro, fun dives and boat charters. We pride ourselves on our personal friendly service.Deefer Diving are Carriacou's leading Dive Centre. With a PADI 5 Star Resort rating, our locally built diving catamaran, a wide range of rental diving equipment and an experienced team dedicated to taking care of you before, during and after the dive.Deefer Diving have the ability to offer a customised diving schedule which will fit your diving and holiday plans perfectly.Deefer Diving also offers Recreational Sidemount Diving. This new, minimalist way of diving is becoming the latest way to experience the underwater world, allowing divers to improve stability and buoyancy control, maximise bottom times, and dive with a flexibility and freedom never experienced before.Come on in - dive with us!
Foothill Ranch, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Deefer Diving Cariacou”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

A terrific dive center on Carriacou. Gary and Alex provide excellent equipment and a vast knowledge of the dive sites and aquatic environment of the island. We dove in a small group and Gary's attention to each individual made for safe and well planned dives. Afterwards I received a complimentary cup of coffee. How cool is that?

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deefer_Diving, Owner at Deefer Diving, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi John! Thanks for the great review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your time with us! Drop in for coffee any time you find yourself in this neck of the woods again! All the best, Team Deefer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Welcoming, passionate and professional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

I've dived in many places with many dive centres, guides and instructors, and this company is superb. From the moment you arrive at their cool dive shop you're welcomed and introduced to the possible dives and options. Alex was a wonderful instructor and guide and as I'd not dived for 15 months she gently brought me back into the sport. Whirlpool and Sharkies dive sights are out of this world but made even more spectacular by having a caring, knowledgeable and expert guide to take you there, 'show your round' and then know every single species you saw! The one on one dives I got we're just the excellence for me, and it's something they hold dear, to provide personal diving experiences. They collected me and dropped me back at my yacht with ease which just made everything so stress free and enjoyable. I cannot recommend them enough and wish I could have stayed longer and dived with them more than twice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deefer_Diving, Owner at Deefer Diving, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review! It was lovely to meet you, and a pleasure to dive with you!!

Hope you had a fantastic holiday, and that we will see you again some time!

All the best, Team Deefer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
“Grand place to dive with Deefer Diving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great Bunch people and great knowledge of local area's.
Had a great time diving at some awesome locations but if you go, you have to do sisters and sharkies.
Thanks to a 5 star dive center and highly recommended.
Can't wait to do it again in the future.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deefer_Diving, Manager at Deefer Diving, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hey Peter,

Thanks for the great review, and we're so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and diving in Carriacou. We hope to see you back here again soon.... I may even have some marine electrics for you to have a look at too ;)

Team Deefer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great staff, great diving, don`t miss out !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Me and my girlfriend went for 3 dives with Deefer divers, and we loved all of them. It is so nice and refreshing to meet someone like Gary and Alex who have a genuine interest in showing people a good time. They were both enthusiastic about the diving and about the abundant fish life and would explain everything about the dive sites very well to us. An all over friendly and welcoming attitude from everyone at the dive centre.
After having dived with other dive centers on other island, where the divemaster never spoke to us, and did`nt even ask our names, this was a completely different experience.
They also prioritize safety on the dives, without loosing out on any of the fun.
Another good reason to dive with these guys is that they are making a genuine effort to help out the local community by supporting the animal charity on the island, both by auctioning of dives to the charity as well as giving good deals to the hard-working visiting vets ;)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deefer_Diving, Owner at Deefer Diving, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback Stig. We're fortunate when we can share what we are passionate about with other willing divers and it was a pleasure to spend time with you both. Whilst we are sorry you were not able to win the diving we offered at the Animal Hospital raffle, it means that you'll have to come back and have another go next year. Team Deefer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic dive team”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have just returned from diving in Carriacou with Gary and the rest of the team at Deefer. We were incredibly lucky to choose Deefer; we only had Trip Advisor to go on for recommendations as neither my husband or myself had dived in open water before. Having undertaken the confined water dives in the UK we wanted to complete the PADI course abroad. All the team were friendly on land but also professional in the water - they took dive safety really seriously. Gary went through much of the dive theory with us, and was clearly knowledgeable; his explanations were a lot clearer than those we received during the first part of the course in the UK. We dived with both Gary and Kenneth for much of the time. Special thanks to Kenneth for his patience when diving with me!

We never felt rushed and were made to feel very welcome. Alex knows everything there is to know about the marine life on the reefs. The dive sites we visited were beautiful and we saw amazing fish, corals, sharks and moray eels.

Carriacou is a beautiful island with friendly people. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Deefer to anyone who wants to learn to dive on the island. We hope to return one day

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyward23, Owner at Deefer Diving, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Hi Karen. Thanks for the amazing review. We all really enjoyed having you dive with us in Carriacou and we are always thrilled when we can certify new divers and share a little bit of what we love. Anytime you're passing by, we can finish off those other two dives too ;)

Team Deefer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deefer Diving also viewed

Hillsborough, Carriacou Island
Carriacou Island, Grenada
 
Carriacou Island, Grenada
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Deefer Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deefer Diving, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.