We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“color fest weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ponca Elk Education Center

Ponca Elk Education Center
Main St, Ponca, AR 72670
870-861-2432
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 5 things to do in Ponca
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Nacogdoches, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“color fest weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

this is the second time to visit and both times it was color fest weekend. the center has plenty of info on the elk in the area and can tell you about other things like hiking and canoeing. color fest is where the locals come and display their pictures, art work and other things that they do. you can buy things from them which i bought some great pictures of elk and bald eagles from one of the locals that i had met on facebook. the whole area is just beautiful there.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, Arkansas
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Very Informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed in Ponca this weekend to watch the elk. Saw some nice herds. We decided to visit the education center as well. It is a very nice place to learn about wildlife. Hands-on for the kids. Outside they were having an art festival, with some very talented artists. A nice experience.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great Hands-on Experience for Kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here to learn more about where to view the Elk in the area. Was very surprised to see all the interactive displays about elk and other wildlife found in the area. Lots for kids to learn from! They had a very nice gift shop and DVD's about the Buffalo River. There was some wild flowers and grasses labeled along the board walk entrance, but it was very overgrown and needed attention. Very nice viewing area in back with lots of humming bird feeders. They also have maps of the area and are very helpful in telling you where to find the elk and the Trumpeter Swans.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpson, LA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice Little Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband and I visited here while vacationing in the Ozarks. The education center isn't very big, but it has a good bit going on. There are all kinds of info about the elk as well as a lot of other local wildlife. The have a lot of pelts of the local wildlife, too, that you can pick up and touch and feel. Who knew beaver fur was so soft? There's also a little bird sanctuary in the back where birds are busy eating away. Admission is free and there's enough inside to be interesting, but not too much to be boring.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“wildlife extravaganza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A beautfiful place with plenty of hiking floating. Elk, Deer, beaver. Lodging and camping is available for overnighters. wildflowers are beautiful in the spring and one of my favorite places to view fall foilage

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponca Elk Education Center also viewed

 

Been to Ponca Elk Education Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponca Elk Education Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.