We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Cabin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Outdoor Center

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ponca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buffalo Outdoor Center
Save
You added Buffalo Outdoor Center to your Saves list
Hwy 43, PO Box 1, Ponca, AR 72670   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Country Cabin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This is a cozy and relaxing cabin, The beds were comfortable. The fireplace was definitely needed since it snowed one (in late March). Great location to trails. The lodge lobby is convenient and helpful.

Room Tip: You never know when bad weather will pop up so plan for a day inside. Bring swimsuits for the hot t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    15
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
33
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Friendswood, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We just came home from a wonderful visit to the Buffalo Outdoor Center. We rented the Mountain Magic cabin and could not have been happier. The cabin was immaculate, well maintained, and cozy. The views were magnificant! There was plenty of room for our family of four (a six and a seven year old). The kids loved the upstairs loft. We all loved having a hot tub. It was very nice to have wifi available, as cell phone service was a little spotty. The staff was friendly and helped us plan family appropriate hikes. The cabin is very private, but with the BOC down the mountain, we felt very safe and comfortable. I am extremely picky about where I stay and would come back to BOC any time! Such a special family trip. Thank you!!

Room Tip: We can only speak to Mountain Magic, but it was a perfect family cabin. Private, enough room for 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the
Songbird cabin the first night. The fireplace and cabins are rustic but really comfortable and clean.
The staff is really friendly and accommodating. They are super organized, with lots of suggestions for stuff to do. We will be back in October. The area and river are stunning. The only complaint I have is a broken window in the cabin that fell on my fingers slicing into my fingernails. The staff was sincerely apologetic, but since the injury to my fingers means I'm losing two fingernails according to the doctor, I would like to have seen them offer to refund at least the night the broken window came down on my fingers. However, even this won't keep us from highly recommending this place and we'd love to come again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudonville, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Recently stayed in the lodge for business meeting, building was well laid out for a company to meet / retreat. From work time to relax time the lodge had everything we needed. The views are great and staff hospitable. If your looking for a non conventional place to meet this is the spot.

Room Tip: King bedroom had great walk in tile shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed at BOC in Cabin X and River Wind Lodge. Both were spectacular! Cabin X was in a very private setting, hot tub, beautiful scenery, and cozy. River Wind Lodge is a huge, brand new lodge that is geared toward larger groups with 10 well appointed and clean bedrooms, huge projector screen, double sized kitchen, and a living room that is absolutely spectacular. To have business meetings in this room for 2 days was amazing. We wanted to stay longer, but it was time to go home. The staff was very personable and helpful. Looking forward to the next BOC adventure!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is a perfect place for couples, friends or families to get away a little bit. There are beautiful hiking trails with outstanding scenery and option for kayaking. On a side note the cabins are on a dirt road and its uphill so depending on the weather you might need a 4x4 vehicle. Also there is zero cell phone signal, but only about 7 miles away from ponca I had some bars with AT&T.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, AR
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stop at the BOC frequently and have stayed in most of their cabins. I have my favorite cabins but, sorry, I'm not going to share that for fear they will become too popular to book.
But, I can guarantee you will have a memorable experience. The views across the mountains are absolutely breathtaking.
Every cabin is special. Almost every cabin has a bottle of champagne waiting in the frig, and most cabins have hottubs.
If I had a complaint, it would be that the bathrooms dont have anything but sliding doors and don't provide the privacy I prefer.
Mike the owner, does everything in his power to make every stay perfect. His staff at the BOC follow suit.
Fireplaces are well stocked and easy to start. You will truly feel relaxed after a couple of days in any cabin. It is a short drive to Boxley Valley and the elk, Ponca and the Ponca elk center, about fifteen minutes to Lost Valley State Park and about a half an hour from Hawksbill Crag (Whitaker Point) mostly because of the last six miles of dirt road to get there. It is also only three miles from the Ponca Bridge and the Buffalo River. Jasper, AR and all of its uniqueness is about a half and hour.

Room Tip: When staying at the cabins, there is no television. They have free DVD's to check-out at the BO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffalo Outdoor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Outdoor Center

Address: Hwy 43, PO Box 1, Ponca, AR 72670
Location: United States > Arkansas > Ponca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Ponca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Arkansas' finest river and trail scenery, Buffalo Outdoor Center has a long-standing reputation for offering quality log cabin rentals in extraordinary Buffalo National River country. We're also the area's leading outfitter for float trips on the Buffalo National River, a pristine national park offering beautiful scenic seclusion. And, we offer Arkansas' only true wilderness zip line adventure, a fun-filled 2-hr tour that's great for the young and the young at heart! Couples and families join us year 'round for adventure getaways that are tops in extraordinary scenic beauty and, most of all, great fun! We have cabins in a variety of price ranges, from family cabins to romantic cabins for two. Several of our cabins feature outdoor hot tubs with sweeping 30-mile views of Ozark Mountain country. Hot tub cabins book early, so if you have certain dates in mind, it is never too soon to call and book. And, while we're in the beautiful middle of nowhere, several of our cabins offer free wifi for those who still wish to remain in touch with folks back home. We've just opened a new 5,000 square-foot retail center, featuring great souvenirs and quality outdoor apparel and gear. Got an appetite? Let our deli build you a mile-high sandwich crafted with fantastic locally-baked breads, natural meats, cheeses and fresh veggies! When it comes to adventure activities, we can keep you as busy as you want to be! Our zip line is hugely popular and open March through November. When it comes to hiking or canoeing, there's none finer in Arkansas and arguably mid-America. Elk watching is also a popular activity. The Ponca area is home to a large elk herd which roams the Boxley Valley and can frequently be seen from the comfort of your car. The best seasons for elk viewing are fall and winter. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Buffalo Outdoor Hotel Ponca
Buffalo Outdoor Center Ponca
Buffalo Outdoor Center Arkansas/Ponca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Outdoor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.