We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Boy's Dream” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arkansas Railroad Museum

Arkansas Railroad Museum
1700 Port Road, Pine Bluff, AR 71601
(870) 535-8819
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 7 attractions in Pine Bluff
Type: Museums
Attraction Details
White Hall, Arkansas, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Little Boy's Dream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

My son loves Thomas the Train. He loved going to the train museum. It's an old warehouse that is stocked full of old train cars. You and your kids can go into the cars. They aren't just box cars. They are passenger cars, etc. They also have train sets that kids love to watch and railroad equipment, signs, etc. Retired engineers and railroad employees volunteer to work the museum. These folks are full of stories and knowledge. Be sure to ask questions. The only downside is the last time we were in there, they did not have air conditioning and there is no place to buy food or drinks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pine Bluff, Arkansas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Heart of a Railroad Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The Cotton Belt Railroad was once the king of the region of Pine Bluff and with its large shops, employed hundreds at one time. The Railroad Museum occupies one of the surviving buildings once used for repairs. Most of the shops are now gone, but the museum is absolutely full of artifacts and actual train engines and cars that can be toured. The 819 locomotive, a large steam locomotive built in Pine Bluff is on exhibit along with most anything you can imagine having to do with the railroad. The operators of the museum have made this a labor of love and you can see it when you visit.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Shrine of the Cotton Belt Railway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I have been coming here every April for over 10 years. I have always been here during the annual model railroad and railroadina swap meet. I have never actually seen the museum in its natural state because they always have to move some of the exhibits out to put in the swap tables and layouts. Nonetheless, the museum is the only one I know of located in a genuine railroad shops. This sets it apart from almost every other railroad museum in the US. You do not just look at old trains. You learn how trains were built and maintained. I believe locomotive 819 was actually built here It is worth seeing.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My son is addicted to trains. Has been since he was 1 year old. Every year we make a special trip to Pine Bluff just to visit the museum. His eyes light up every time. Its nice to see they perserve so much of our history.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, Arkansas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Choo Choo!!! ride back in the past for FREE!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Kids of all ages will enjoy this free museum. You can get in almost all of the engines and cars; very hands on. I personally loved the memorabelia collected through the years. They even have two switching rooms set up, a true rarity as most were trashed many years ago.
It's run by a bunch of nice old retired railroad fellows for the most part. They have a wealth of knowledge about the trains that have passed through this area.
Finally, don't miss this attraction if you love trains.... and who doesn't? Really.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arkansas Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to Arkansas Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arkansas Railroad Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Arkansas Railroad Museum to your Saves list