We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Delivery - great hotel, great nature hikes, mediocre food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Mount Magazine

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge at Mount Magazine
Save
You added The Lodge at Mount Magazine to your Saves list
16878 Highway 309 South, Paris, AR 72855   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paris
austin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mixed Delivery - great hotel, great nature hikes, mediocre food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Beds were hard but comfortable, roomy, spacious, new and well-appointed. But who'd want to stay inside with those wonderful, uncrowded hiking trails and views. Too bad the food was seriously mediocre, especially for a vegetarian. Not unexpected problem in Arkansas, but I'd hoped for more since the Lodge claimed it had "fine food." Oh, fridge in room, but no microwave. I'd return though.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    65
    17
    8
    1
See reviews for
71
131
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brownsboro, AL
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at The Lodge and thought it was beautiful and enjoyable. Our room was very nice, loved the balcony with an incredible view, and enjoyed having a small fridge in the room. The restaurant was not bad....dinner was acceptable and breakfast was very good. I considered it more than adequate since the dining choices are few once you are on the Mt. Loved the stay at The Lodge and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle America,AR
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

Have stayed at lodge several times and in one of the cabins as well. Everything is very nice and clean. The lodge rooms we have stayed in have balconies and the view is what we paid for. Last time we stayed (earlier this month) there was a full moon. The view, scenery, quiet atmosphere justify the high price. If you are a thrill seeker this may not be the place for you. The cabin we stayed in was fully equipped and very nice. It had an outdoor hot tub on the deck that was awesome. The only tip I could offer to make the cabin stay nicer would be to bring something to cover the windows. There were no curtains or window coverings in living room. At the main lodge building there is an incredible indoor heated swimming pool,I have never been to a nicer one and I have been to several. The restaurant in the lodge serves some of the best southern fried chicken I have ever eaten. The rolls are delicious and are half yeast roll and half some other kind of bread. Remember to ask for bread with your meal as it will not be served unless you request it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

I just love this place for a quiet and relaxing get away. The lodge is beautiful and a fun place to stay. We ate at the restaurant and the food and service was great. They are known for their fried catfish and coffee. I had both and was not disappointed. There is not a lot to do on Arkansas’ highest mountain, but if you want to get away and just enjoy God’s beauty, this is the place. A wonderful night with a cool evening in August. I definitely recommend the Lodge on Mt. Magazine.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

The scenery and hiking at Mount Magazine is great! We hiked 3 of the trails, 10 miles total, and got some nice pictures. The hotel is clean but the beds are horrible! They were extremely uncomfortable and the sheets felt like paper. There is only 1 restaurant at the Lodge on Mount Magazine and it is not good. Food was cold (we ate there for dinner 1 night and breakfast 2 mornings). The closest town is about 10 miles away and just has fast food so if you're hungry, there aren't a lot of options. I would hike Mount Magazine again but make it a day trip and not spend the night.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

We rented a two bedroom, two bath cabin at The Lodge at Mount Magazine in Mount Magazine State Park during the weekend of June 19-21, 2009. The lodge, the 13 cabins, and the visitor center are all nearly new and have the most incredible views from the bluffs overlooking Arkansas' Ozark Mountains. Mount Magazine State Park is located within the Ozark National Forest about two hours northwest of Little Rock. The cabins and the lodge sit on the bluffs and all have outstanding views. Our cabin had a fully equipped kitchen, large stone fireplace in the living room/dinning room, TV, ceiling fans, central heat and air, two bedrooms with king beds & large attached baths, sleeper sofa, and washer & dryer. A large wooden deck held a second dinning table, rocking chairs and a great hot tub. The cabin also had a grill for cooking out. We watched deer and raccoons from the deck and did plenty of stargazing. The Arkansas State Park Rangers led hikes and held nature programs throughout the day. We did several hikes and attended one of the ranger programs. Lots of fun and great exercise for everyone from kids to us middle age folks. The mountain's claim to fame is that it is the highest point in Arkansas, 2,753 feet, and the temperature during the day was about 12 degrees cooler than off the mountain. There were wildflowers everywhere and hundreds of butterflies - the Park has its annual Butterfly Festival in late June each year. Wildlife are plentiful; we saw recent bear "signs", but no black bear this trip. We cooked all of our meals except one breakfast. We found the restaurant's breakfast to be good and reasonably priced. The cabins are a bit expensive and they have a two night minimum on weekends during the summer, but there is room for several people in the two bedroom cabins. The rates are much less during the week and there are no multiple night restrictions. The lodge has an indoor swimming pool, hot tubs, an exercise room and bicycle rental. The entire facility looked new and the staff was friendly and helpful. This is a great place to relax, do some hiking and enjoy the beauty of the Ozark Mountains.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

We stayed here and got a cabin with a hot tub. The weather was horrible but sometimes that just happens.

The cabins are really nice with full kitchen, T.V., big fireplace, separate room/bathroom, great patio and the hot tub was nice and clean.

The hiking was nice and way better then expected considering Arkansas is not known for mountains.

The restaurant in the hotel was good and no problems with service.

If you are looking for things to do other then general outdoors stuff this might not be the place for you. The location is not close to very many attractions which is fine for just enjoying the outdoors.

Spend the extra money and get a cabin is my advice to anyone going here.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Mount Magazine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Mount Magazine

Address: 16878 Highway 309 South, Paris, AR 72855
Location: United States > Arkansas > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paris
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience The Lodge at Mount Magazine. Overlooking the Petit Jean River Valley and Blue Mountain Lake, this resort mountain lodge offers 60 guest rooms with breathtaking views of the valley below. Gracing the south bluff of Arkansas's high point, the Lodge at Mount Magazine is one of the finest Arkansas lodges and offers some of the most breathtaking scenery in The Natural State. With its sweeping views of the Petit Jean River Valley and distant Blue Mountain Lake, lodging in this mountaintop resort combines a majestic natural setting with first-class amenities. The modern, rustic-style lodge offers 60 guest rooms, a hearth room lobby, delicious classic Southern cuisine in the Skycrest Restaurant, a conference center, business center, indoor swimming pool, fitness center, and gift shop, making this one of the most well-appointed Arkansas lodges. The three-wing lodge stretches along the bluff so that the hearth room, restaurant, swimming pool, and all 60 guest rooms offer the view from the bluff.This is a getaway for couples. It's for families and friends to share together, too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Mount Magazine Hotel Paris
Hotel At Mount Magazine
At Mount Magazine Paris
The Lodge At Mount Magazine Arkansas/Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Mount Magazine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.