We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous views from modern cabins & lodge in State Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Mount Magazine

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lodge at Mount Magazine
Save
You added The Lodge at Mount Magazine to your Saves list
Lodge Drive, 16878 Highway 309 South, Paris, AR 72855   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tremendous views from modern cabins & lodge in State Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

We rented a two bedroom, two bath cabin at The Lodge at Mount Magazine in Mount Magazine State Park during the weekend of June 19-21, 2009. The lodge, the 13 cabins, and the visitor center are all nearly new and have the most incredible views from the bluffs overlooking Arkansas' Ozark Mountains. Mount Magazine State Park is located within the Ozark National Forest about two hours northwest of Little Rock. The cabins and the lodge sit on the bluffs and all have outstanding views. Our cabin had a fully equipped kitchen, large stone fireplace in the living room/dinning room, TV, ceiling fans, central heat and air, two bedrooms with king beds & large attached baths, sleeper sofa, and washer & dryer. A large wooden deck held a second dinning table, rocking chairs and a great hot tub. The cabin also had a grill for cooking out. We watched deer and raccoons from the deck and did plenty of stargazing. The Arkansas State Park Rangers led hikes and held nature programs throughout the day. We did several hikes and attended one of the ranger programs. Lots of fun and great exercise for everyone from kids to us middle age folks. The mountain's claim to fame is that it is the highest point in Arkansas, 2,753 feet, and the temperature during the day was about 12 degrees cooler than off the mountain. There were wildflowers everywhere and hundreds of butterflies - the Park has its annual Butterfly Festival in late June each year. Wildlife are plentiful; we saw recent bear "signs", but no black bear this trip. We cooked all of our meals except one breakfast. We found the restaurant's breakfast to be good and reasonably priced. The cabins are a bit expensive and they have a two night minimum on weekends during the summer, but there is room for several people in the two bedroom cabins. The rates are much less during the week and there are no multiple night restrictions. The lodge has an indoor swimming pool, hot tubs, an exercise room and bicycle rental. The entire facility looked new and the staff was friendly and helpful. This is a great place to relax, do some hiking and enjoy the beauty of the Ozark Mountains.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    74
    17
    8
    1
See reviews for
80
140
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

We stayed here and got a cabin with a hot tub. The weather was horrible but sometimes that just happens.

The cabins are really nice with full kitchen, T.V., big fireplace, separate room/bathroom, great patio and the hot tub was nice and clean.

The hiking was nice and way better then expected considering Arkansas is not known for mountains.

The restaurant in the hotel was good and no problems with service.

If you are looking for things to do other then general outdoors stuff this might not be the place for you. The location is not close to very many attractions which is fine for just enjoying the outdoors.

Spend the extra money and get a cabin is my advice to anyone going here.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MS
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

We were on the Mountain for three days and stayed at the Lodge two nights. Awesome views, awesome service by the lodge staff and the restaurant staff. The lodge is just beautiful. Everything about it made the stay better and better. The restaurant was very nice. The menu is small but the food is very good. We had the steak supper, the hamburger steak supper, hamburgers, fish poboys, club sandwiches and breakfast two days. Everything was top quality and more than enough food to satisfy and I am a big eater. The room is pricey at $159 per night but for a romantic getaway it's well worth it. As for bringing the family, I would not as there just isn't much to pacify and entertain children. Looking for quality time with your partner, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

Lodge personnel were cordial and efficient. Check in was speedy. Our accommodation was a King Suite located at the end of the lodge and had a sitting room with kichenette/dining area equiped with small refrigerator, coffee pot, blender, dishes, utensils - no stove, just microwave. There was a gas fireplace in the sitting area with easy lighting instructions. Both rooms had TV's. The bedroom also had a small jacuzzi tub. Both rooms had balconies. The location was fabulous because we could walk off the end elevator and into our suite. The lodge had a list of activities for participation and, if you get bored just looking at scenery, I would recommend these activities. Our plan was to "do nothing". Service at the restaurant was entirely acceptable. The food was average and just about what I anticipated having eaten at other state park restaurants.
The only negative - apparently, the lodge does not have fitted king sheets as our bed was made with a flat sheet on the bottom, and it was not tucked in. This seems to be a minor problem, but I would suggest the Lodge try to correct the difficulty with bed making.
The first and second day, the weather and the view was unhindered and fantastic, but on check out day we woke up totally surrounded by clouds. This is the chance you take when you choose to vacation on a mountain.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

We have stayed at the Mount Magazine Lodge twice. Once in November of 2008 with fog so thick we could not see the ground from our second story room and again this past week (April 2009). The weather this second time was spectacular and we enjoyed the view from our balcony very much. We love everything about this lodge other than the food in the restaurant. We found it to be very bad both times we were there. Breakfast was good but otherwise stick to the hamburgers and fries or the fried catfish for lunch or dinner. We brought sandwich materials and kept them in the small refrigerator in our room. We enjoyed walking on the trails and the Visitor's Center.
Frances

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

The cabins were beautiful and cozy. Fully equpped kitchens made me wish we had brought more food to prepare. The two-bedroom/ two bath cabin had a jacuzzi on the covered deck overlooking the Petit Jean valley. Fantastic sunset, a fire, and the twinkling lights below made this a memorable evening. Enjoyed three meals in the restaurant which was worth visiting just for the view. Trails ranged from easy to moderate and were clearly marked. The only complaint would be the $12.00 charge for movies - no choice as DVD players were not available.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

We went for Easter weekend 2009. The views when we arrived were incredible. Unfortunately, when the rain rolled in, we were sitting in the cloud. At lower elevations, the rain would roll in - roll out and life is good. Up at this elevation, the mist never went away. If the weather report says rain, either bring lots of books and games or make other plans.

As for the odge, it is super clean and super nice. The staff couldn't have been more helpful The restaurant was even good which usually doesn' t happen when they have a captive audience. (It takes about 30 minutes to get in to town)

Pool was fun, gameroom fun, workout room very nice. My only complaint was the high-speed internet. The wireless signal in our room was hit or miss, but that could be because of the crummy weather.

We plan to go back, but hopefully with better weather.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Mount Magazine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Mount Magazine

Address: Lodge Drive, 16878 Highway 309 South, Paris, AR 72855
Location: United States > Arkansas > Paris
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paris
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience The Lodge at Mount Magazine. Overlooking the Petit Jean River Valley and Blue Mountain Lake, this resort mountain lodge offers 60 guest rooms with breathtaking views of the valley below. Gracing the south bluff of Arkansas's high point, the Lodge at Mount Magazine is one of the finest Arkansas lodges and offers some of the most breathtaking scenery in The Natural State. With its sweeping views of the Petit Jean River Valley and distant Blue Mountain Lake, lodging in this mountaintop resort combines a majestic natural setting with first-class amenities. The modern, rustic-style lodge offers 60 guest rooms, a hearth room lobby, delicious classic Southern cuisine in the Skycrest Restaurant, a conference center, business center, indoor swimming pool, fitness center, and gift shop, making this one of the most well-appointed Arkansas lodges. The three-wing lodge stretches along the bluff so that the hearth room, restaurant, swimming pool, and all 60 guest rooms offer the view from the bluff. This is a getaway for couples. It's for families and friends to share together, too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Mount Magazine Hotel Paris
Hotel At Mount Magazine
At Mount Magazine Paris
The Lodge At Mount Magazine Arkansas/Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Mount Magazine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.