We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay again! Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baker House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Baker House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Baker House Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   109 West Fifth St., North Little Rock, AR 72114   |  
Hotel amenities
Largo, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Will stay again! Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days! It was absolutly wonderful! The rooms were gorgeous and spacious! The breakfast was to die for and Sonya & Guy were just wonderful hosts! It is a perfect, central location! We made sure every morning to get up in time to enjoy the wonderful breakfast! Always hot & fresh! We stayed in the Hays Suite on the 2nd floor the first night and the Matthews Suite on the 3rd floor the remaining nights! Both were fantastic rooms! We hope to make a trip back every year to Little Rock and will be staying here at the Baker House every year!

Room Tip: The Matthews Suite is perfect but any room in the house would be great! All spacious with private ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
20
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We loved that the extra big bathroom. It made it a two room suite. We stayed 2 nights and both nights we just walked down the street to dinner. Comfy bed, great breakfast, and friendly innkeeper.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011 via mobile

The Baker house was a lovely place to stay while on my family history tour of Little Rock and Hot Springs. My schedule had me up and out very early each day, well before their normal breakfast time. Each day they prepared breakfast and had it in the fridge for me, along with a beautiful place setting. On my last day the host, Guy, joined me early for breakfast and to say good bye. I appreciated his input on where to eat. Great parking for an in- city location and a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesville, AR
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Bed-and-breakfasts and charming older hotels are not for everyone--to me, it is a matter of expectations. Baker House met mine, and I was delighted with a comfortable king-size bed loaded with pillows in the Laman suite with a private bath with a shower just steps away in the hall. Some folks would have been annoyed by having to step into the hall to go to their private bath, but it made it feel like I was staying in a real home with old-fashioned architecture along with the smell of clean, old wood and the glorious quiet. The coffeemaker wasn't plugged in and I couldn't find an easily accessible location to plug it in, but there was plenty of hot coffee waiting for me downstairs the next morning. There was a smidgen of dust but it was less than in my bedroom. The room is not completely dark due to arrangement of the curtains, so it's like a full moon illuminating the windows. The downstairs butler's pantry offered me some cranberry juice and a packaged cookie when I arrived. This was good because the innkeepers have requested no outside food in the rooms. A sitting area offered a pleasant place to read magazines. Breakfast was served at 8 a.m.: biscuits, eggs, bacon, watermelon, fresh pineapple, juice, and coffee. It was very pleasant to visit with folks at the table. North Little Rock's first bed and breakfast is something the city should be proud of, and you can't beat location in the heart of the Argenta Arts District and the $89 price. The rooms are all on the second and third floor, so those with mobility issues, take note. The handrails are firm, however, and the circular staircase is easier to navigate than a regular one. I hope to come back again and visit soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, Usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed here on a week long trip to Arkansas for two nights. North Little Rock is a separate area from the rest of the city across the river but it was easy to get to for sightseeing and the like. We stayed in the middle of the week and it was quiet. Breakfast was great and Guy was so friendly. The Argenta district is up and coming and the Baker House is a nice cornerstone for that area of town. I would definitely visit/stay at the Baker House if we are ever back in Little Rock!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hays suite because it had a tub and a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Here and There
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Guy the innkeeper and Sonja the owner were wonderful hosts. The house and furnishings were beautiful, perfect for someone looking to stay at a Victorian home. Guy and Sonja were excellent cooks. Breakfast exceeded our expectations. The North Little Rock Argenta district is an up-and-coming destination. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Be advised that some rooms do not have showers (only soaking tubs with a hand wand) and the upper floor rooms can get too warm.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

Passing through Little Rock and needed a one night stay - found Baker House on-line. In a fairly safe area, although it's the only home of it's kind in the immediate area. Some newer fancy condos were across the street, and a few restaurants and a pub were nearby. It is on the trolley line, but we were not there long enough to try it out. We stayed in the Faucett Room - 2nd floor of turrett . Room and adjoining bathroom were large. Bathroom had clawfoot tub, w/handheld shower -better for soaking - not so easy for showering. They had other rooms w/enclosed tub/showers available. We were comfortable in November in our room, but would wonder in dead of winter or heat of summer if the rooms might be challenging to control temp. Linens/bedding were cushy and there was a small TV next to bed. Room did have wireless access. Breakfast was fruit and waffles-served in beautiful dining room. The inn keepers were friendly and helpful. We would stay over again.
I don't see the area as a destination in itself, but if needing to stay in Little Rock, it sure beats standard hotel fare and price is likely at or less than a Hampton. If you love old homes and architecture it was very much like staying in a piece of history.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baker House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baker House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 109 West Fifth St., North Little Rock, AR 72114
Location: United States > Arkansas > North Little Rock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in North Little Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baker House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely Queen Anne Victorian historic house located downtown and the only Little Rock B&B on the trolley line with direct access to the Clinton Library, Convention Center and other downtown attractions. Free trolley day pass at check-in. Walk to Verizon Arena and several local restaurants and galleries. B&B luxury at downtown hotel rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Baker House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baker House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.