We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Crown Inn to your Saves list
The Crown Inn
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   The Square, Bishop's Waltham SO32 1AF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Trip Advisor - 10% off
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had lunch with friends at The Crown in Bishops Waltham earlier this week, and found it to be a very welcoming pub with a good restaurant. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food is very good. The village of Bishops Waltham is worth wandering around, and The Crown is an ideal venue to meet friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    31
    10
    14
    9
See reviews for
18
38
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Lovely friendly place to eat, on arrival shown straight to table. Staff very friendly and attentive, good excellent, full of flavour and very hot and did not have to wait long. Compliments to the cheff and his staff on an excellent evening. Will visit again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Lovely refurbishment but shame about the food and wait.
Waited forty mins for our three plates of Mains. The waitress did apologise for the wait when she delivered the food. We would rather be told re a long wait upon ordering thus being able to make a decision
whether to stay or not.
The fish and chips were very greasy. Not so much white fish flesh but more batter. Homemade chips but swimming in grease. Ham, egg and chips. Again chips soaked in grease and salted, surely better for the customer to make their own decision re salt. Ham completely tasteless.
Steak pie and veg. Homemade pie great and tasty but shame about the small portion. Veg cooked to perfection but again a tiny portion.
The table next to us gave up waiting and left before their food came.
It would have been nice if the waiter removed the unused wine and tumbler glasses thus giving us more room.
Won't be back and won't recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bishop's Waltham hotels

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Being a fullers, I was hoping for a reasonable meal.

I was disappointed! Went for the burger as it is difficult to get wrong and offers a good comparison between different pubs.

The chips were flacid, waterlogged travesties of potato. The burger itself was ok but they put an elderly slice of beef tomato directly onto the bottom bun, leading of course to very soggy inedible bread. This is a schoolboy error! The cheese (at £1 extra) was a tasteless goo which seemed very cheap.

That is all I can say, since apart from the generic tomato relish, that's all that was on the plate.

It may have been because it was a quiet Monday evening, but I doubt I'd go back unless I'd had a trusty recommendation that the basics had improved.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I love the Crown and its new look, but they do need to sort out the food! It was my big 6-0 and they had kindly sent me a 20% off voucher, but I didnt realise they meant 20% of the portion size! I ordered beef medallions on mash with vegetables..I received 4 thin beef slices on mash that had turned liquid underneath. The vegetables were a few sticks stuck in a little pot. I am not one for large portions - the Hungry Horse approach horrifies me, but this was ridiculous, and very poor value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Waltham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I live locally and like most people I was very pleased when Fullers did such a good job renovating this old pub. I have tried the food there on and off since it opened, always hoping it will improve. We tried again this Sunday. What could be easier than chicken and chips to get right? Especially as its from their 'grill' (hopefully fresh and piping hot?) The chips were flabby and tasted faintly of fish. The chicken was tired, tough, dull, no crispy skin and like it had been reheated. Really disappointing Crown! I told the waitress and there was little acknowledgement, no offer to reduce the bill. I will not have the confidence to try again as my experience with the food has always been disappointing. They will have to up their game to compete locally or is it just complacency? The publicity on the website about the menus gives such a false impression!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

So bad we had to complain, which we hate doing. If they think a 'quails egg' is a hard boiled egg cut in to quarters they should wear glasses. The Ploughmans had stale bread, and the service was disastrous. When we tried to question these discrepancies the waiter never returned, and the so-called General Manager played with his Computor in a corner! I have not stayed there so maybe the Bedrooms are more favourable. We wrote to the Management, and they said improvements were being made, so hopefully......!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: The Square, Bishop's Waltham SO32 1AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Bishop's Waltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bishop's Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Crown Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Inn is a charming 16th Century coaching inn situated in St. Georges Square near the centre of Bishops Waltham, a delightful small country town set in the heart of the beautiful Hampshire countryside in the Meon valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.