We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

As-Sahala Estate and Gardens

Completely private heated swimming pool with kids section
Completely private heated swimming pool with kids section
Completely private heated swimming pool with kids section
Large garden with grass
Traditional Omani outdoor sitting area. Ideal to play games or read with the family at night.
Outdoor eating area overlooking the garden. Equipped with digital outdoor sound system for parties.
Traditional Arabic Majlis conversation area
Seeb
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarah1976
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We loved As-Sahala - it's a great property and a brilliant choice for a family (so long as you have a hire car). Beautiful garden and pool. Would well recommend.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2013
Thank you .It was pleasure having you and your friends at Hind Villa . Looking forward for your next visit. Thanks and regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
jeangot
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Huge estate, completely private and very safe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

When we decided to visit Oman (2 adults and a 2 year old daughter), we looked at available vacation homes in Oman and were surprised that there were very few. We were also not sure if it would be safe to rent a vacation home in Oman.
We almost booked at a standard resort when we found the listing for As-Sahala Farm, and were intrigued. A private farm with your own pool, cinema and animals? Sounded too good to be true...We called the owner Rashid prior to booking, to confirm a few things, such as whether anyone else would be vacationing on the property at the same time, and were told that the only other people there are the caretaker, Mohammed, who lives at the other end of the property, and a few farm employees who work the fields during the day.

We arrived to the farm by car thanks to the excellent maps emailed by Rashid (you will need a car to stay at this property) and couldn't believe that this was the place where we would be spending our vacation: calling this a "farm" is really misleading. I would call it an Estate on 10 to 20 acres of beautiful gardens, fully surrounded by an 8ft wall, with an iron gate at the front. The caretaker lives near the front gate, while the house sits in the opposite corner of the property. The house is very large. The 3 of us only used the sleeping and kitchen area, but there are 2 completely separate living room type areas which we didn't even get a chance to use during our short week there. There are bathrooms throughout all areas (even the kitchen has it's own half bath, as well as the living room), and a very unusual touch were boxes of paper handkerchiefs sprinkled throughout the house, just like in a hotel.

We enjoyed our private pool (half of it is shaded for when the sun shines) and our daughter enjoyed her own private playground with more slides than we have on our city playground at home! There is also a half basketball field, which we didn't use, lots of grass to run on, and an outdoor Omani sitting area complete with area rug and of course our daughter loved visiting the cows, goats and chickens daily.
Within this compound, we felt safer than in any other house we've ever rented elsewhere, and it was a treat to come back to the property each evening after our daily excursions.

The caretaker Mohammed was amazing: even though he hardly speaks any English, he would always understand what we needed and be there at the right time to assist us. Every morning, he would clean the lawn area from flower petals that fell from the trees during the night, and spoil us with fresh milk and eggs in the morning.
The owner Rashid insisted on meeting us personally at the farm during our stay, and explained how he built the farm as a retreat for his family several years before.

We were very sad to leave at the end of our week, and are already looking forward to the time when we can go back.
We would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking to visit Oman, and can assure anyone with safety concerns that As Sahala Farm and Oman in general is a great place to stay even with young children. The farm is located conveniently to countryside excursions, beaches, the city Muscat, the airport as well as to several large supermarket (we found food in Oman to be quite inexpensive). We also found Omanis in general to be very friendly, warm and welcoming, whether in the capital Muscat or in small rural villages that we visited.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Spacious and very private piece of land
Liked least: Bathrooms could have been a bit cleaner
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2013
Thank you .It was pleasure having you and your friends at Hind Villa . Looking forward for your next visit. Thanks and regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Ben K
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely private villa with great facilities for a family holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our family holiday (2 adults, 2 children 4&9 yrs), at this secluded and well appointed villa. The outdoor area is delightful, the swimming pool is great and well shaded for the children and there are nice shaded areas for eating al fresco. Our kids loved the cinema. The kitchen is a little dated but adequate. The owner (Rashid) was very keen to make our holiday successful and the caretaker (Mohamed) was very helpful for immediate questions / problems.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 2 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Pool, privacy, outdoor facilities
Liked least: Kitchen, distance from supermarkets
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2013
Thank you .It was pleasure having you and your friends at Hind Villa . Looking forward for your next visit. Thanks and regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
GretheWil...
Borgholm
1 review
“A Great Family Holiday Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

This is a spacious, private and secure facility with very enjoyable features as shown in the advertisement. The pool was especially well used. For us, who have lived in Oman before, the farm has been a good base to make day trips from with the family, to the various areas and places enjoyed by us in the past. It was also a place to relax in the sun and a film show in the cinema was a pleasant way to end the day.
It is a good idea to become familiar with the Express Highway as soon as possible as this can make it easier to go to many places including the centre of Muscat.
We were very well looked after by the owner and the staff to whom we give many thanks.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The privacy.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 27, 2013
Thank you .It was pleasure having you and your friends at Hind Villa . Looking forward for your next visit. Thanks and regards
Rashid
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
happyholi...
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“An oasis of peace and calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

What an amazing place, a fantastic retreat after a busy day of dong the tourist trail. Thankyou for allowing us the use of all your facilities at As-Sahala. Possibly the best holiday we have had as a family. We woulfd have no hesitation in booking As-Sahala again on any future trip to Oman

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Peace, tranquility and amount of space.
Liked least: I would have to say the Kitchen could be considered getting tired
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 29, 2012
Thank you dear Ray.It was pleasure having you and your wonderful family at As-Sahala Farm. I hope you get a chance to stay longer next time. Looking forward for your next visit. Thanks and regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Nicola B
1 review
“Perfect tranquility ideal place to relax with family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Stayed at As - Sahala for three weeks with my family and two young children , from arrival everything was perfect. We enjoyed the privacy and spent most days swimming and enjoyed barbecues in the evenings, the grounds were maintained to a high standard and the caretaker Mohamed was friendly and most helpful with any requests. The children loved taking walks to the animals, bringing back a freshly laid egg to be cooked.
My son and Nephew played basketball daily and also spent long hours in the cinema watching DvdS whilst the children enjoyed cartoons on the big screen. The layout of the farm was ideal with the children's play area being idealy situated so we could watch them, however due to the Omani climate a shaded section would be a good idea so they could play for longer. All in all I can't find any fault with the farm house ( except that although the kitchen was fully equipped) there was no kettle-- an essential for English tea drinkers. :-) . We all spent a wonderful time in a lovely place and can't wait to return. Many thanks to Rashid for the fruit on arrival we hope to be back soon.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Swimming pool and comfort of beds
Liked least: No shade over playground
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 16, 2012
It was pleasure having you and and your wonderful family at As-Sahala Farm. Looking forward for your next visit in March 2013. Thank you so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
metravell...
Dubai
1 review
“The most relaxing holiday our family had in a long time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

What a great place to spend your holiday! If you’re looking for a quiet and relaxing time amidst date palms on a beautifully kept farm, then this is the place to come. Our three kids were in-and-out of the pool all day long or playing soccer, basketball or table-tennis. They also had fun feeding the farm animals together with Mohamed, the caretaker who also allowed them to take part in some other farming activities. The houses are conveniently split up into cinema/majlis, bedroom, dining/living and kitchen sections. All is very comfortable and spacious. Rashid, the owner, is very helpful and quick to respond to any queries and Mohamed regularly supplied us with fresh milk, eggs and dates. The whole family had a great time. We did not get much of a chance to do sight-seeing because the kids simply did not want to go anywhere else. We’re definitely planning on going again soon.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2012
Thanks dear Gisela; It was pleasure having you and your wonderful family at As Sahala. You are always most welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$454
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
this property has payment protection
Owner
Rashid A
Speaks English
Listed since : Aug 2010
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 16 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing