We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RGPP Sussex” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wiveton Bell

Wiveton Bell
Blakeney Road, Wiveton, Holt NR25 7TL, England
+44 (0)1263 740101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 restaurants in Wiveton
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: English, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Award winning Pub in idealic setting on the village green opposite parish church. Sunny south facing garden, traditional interiors with a modern edge, stove fire in winter, local beers and local food, dogs and children welcome. See website for full details and to book online.
Sharpthorne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“RGPP Sussex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a lovely family meal. Immediately we were welcomed with warmth and a professional approach. We had our lovely lab with us and a nine year old boy and neither was a problem for the staff. I was advised about wine and offered some tasters which was really helpful. The food was beautifully presented, arrived promptly, hot and was obviously freshly cooked and not kept hanging around in the kitchen. The staff were attentive and we observed them working as a team which my son said helped with the lovely atmosphere. We had a chat with the manager and she is obviously employing the right kind of staff with the right temperament. We come from Sussex and the prices are on apar for local bistro pubs. We've eaten a few local pubs whilst on holiday and this is our favourite.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    185
    129
    60
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Poor,poor,poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have to agree with Mark B. Very friendly, very amateurish, very expensive. The greeting was fine when four of us went for Sunday lunch but it was all downhill from there. After ordering and having a drink at the bar, we noticed a waiter walking around with two lunches in his hands. After roughly five minutes the manageress(sic) came over and told us they were part of our order and would we like to go to our table. The other two meals then arrived by which time the first two were nearly cold and the latter two the gravy had congealed from being left under the lamps in the kitchen too long. The wine we had ordered appeared half way through the meal, was poured straight into the glasses without being offered to taste. The soft drinks ordered arrived at the end of the meal.The quality of the foood was poor - £14.95 for loin of pork which was 70% fat is not acceptable.
That apart, my wife went to the loo when we left - there was no hook on the door, nowhere to put her bag or coat.
That sums the place up - Sunday lunch for four £115.00 .looks good, looks expensive but is actually very poor quality.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales U K
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not the best by far”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is totally a restaurant pub.The tables are arranged in lines in order to accommodate as many people as possible and doesn't make for a good ambience or a special place to be.I had asked for the staff to check as to whether it was safe for me to eat items on the menu and they made a mistake or they didn't appreciate how serious it is if a coeliac eats wheat or gluten and I was very poorly as a consequence.Surprisingly this pub has an Alistair Sawday recommendation.I will be more circumspect when making a choice as to where to take people out to dinner in future.What a shame these establishments in this economic down turn don't really make every effort to keep clientele.No doubt they have a market for their very run of the mill food but this isn't a special place to have a meal from all the guests with us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, service and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stopped by this rustic, village pub on a Tuesday Evening and much to our surprise it was very busy, we were lucky to get a table! The service was friendly and attentive right from the off, it was faultless. My main course of Local Chicken Breast and Sticky Toffee Pudding for dessert were both delicious and well presented. The fire was alight and brought about a warm, buzzing atmosphere. Overall, we were delighted with our visit, the only downside being the prices of the dishes reflect that of an inner city bistro as opposed to a country pub, which may be off putting to some.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Most recent Wivvy Bell Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We have eaten at the Wivvy Bell on numerous occasions. Living locally we have been able to review the establishment from its beginning.
Our most recent meal was way under power, the service was polite but amateur, the food not reflective of its price, I have concluded we have been giving our custom based on the venues past reputation but in the real world their are far better places to eat that provide real value for money.
I'm sorry Wivvy Bell you have taken your eye off the ball and your demise is event to those of us who have previous experience of what was once a first class establishment, you can survive only so long on your laurels which you have truly rested upon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wiveton Bell also viewed

 

Been to Wiveton Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wiveton Bell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.