We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa del Suizo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Casa del Suizo to your Saves list
La Casa del Suizo
Julio Zaldumbide N25-42 y Valladolid | Punta Ahuano, Puerto Napo, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puerto Napo
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed in this resort for 2 nights as a part of tour group.
This place is just is just what you really need on vacation to get away from it all. No phones, No TV and No Wi-Fi. Just you, your companion and pure nature with chirping birds and croaking frogs. What a bliss!
The resort is nestled on an island separated by the streams of Napo River. Attached to your room out on the porch you have two comfortable chairs and a Hammock overlooking the lush garden with numerous multi colored flowering plants and trees complete with the view of river. The windows facing the river are large screens (no glass windows) and on the other side of the room there are large screen ventilations near the ceiling for cross ventilation and allowing the natural flow of soft, seductive and caressing breeze.
Yes this is not a four star hotel, but you do have comfortable bed matress and a clean bathroom with hot water for shower. They have a bar and the food in the restaurant was reasonably good. The resort provides opportunities to very hard working & honest locals from Quechua tribe. We had a refreshing ride down this Amazonian tributary and went for hiking in the Jungle and tubing in the Napo River.
Overall a very unique and enjoyable experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    81
    21
    8
    10
See reviews for
52
72
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Five days of Heaven. This beautiful perch on the banks of the Napa River offers the perfect get away from a busy world. From rafting down the Napa to zip-lining through the jungle the staff always has an activity should you wish it or else you can just relax in the hammock available on the balcony of each room or swim in the pool. The food is delightful which is included in the price - all three meals. And the staff can not be beat.

Room Tip: Don't forget your binoculars, wear comfortable slacks and bring your bathing suit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is far away from Quito and well worth the trip there. There is a swimming pool. There are excursions to tour the rain forest, you can build a raft. There is a trip to the reserve for animals.The rooms are great. One of the neat things is the canoe ride that you have to take to get there. Well worth it.

Room Tip: Any room is good, we had the room facing the Napo river. It stormed during the night and that was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchtown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

La Casa del Suizo is a very cool experience. The Amazon lodge is accessible by canoe and the staff managed to get our bags uphill from the Napo river to our room without incident. This is the outer jungle and visitors need to be prepared for a rustic experience. The room fan was adequate for cooling us. I used plenty of bug spray, took malaria medication as a precaution and escaped without a single bite. The meals were good and we had no problem with the food including the salads. I really enjoyed the sounds of the jungle at night. Frankly, the people who complain about the lack of television or internet are missing the purpose of this experience. The staff are friendly and hard working. We enjoyed the excursions to the butterfly habitat and the wildlife reserve. My favorite trip was our hike through the jungle. We visited a family and I learned a lot about the people and the ecology. I ate Lemon Ants. They do taste lemony. My husband relaxed at the pool although I stayed busy. The pool could use a few lounge chairs. The little town behind the lodge has a few artisans that are worth a visit. The views of the river and jungle are amazing. I saw insects and flora I've never seen before. There are some interesting insects and the largest snails I've ever seen. I spotted a howler monkey in the wild. The grounds are beautifully maintained. I loved my time at La Casa del Suizo and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The hotel itself is a large property with a large lodge and motel-like rooms. The rooms were comfortable but had no a/c. The rooms had one fan that made the room bearable during the day. The room had a balcony with a hammock. Beware of mosquitoes--I got 5 bites and they all got infected even using mosquito repellent. One could hear the birds in the morning and the frogs at night; but other than that, we did not see any other wildlife which was kind of disappointing. We did go on a hike in the Amazon forest and this was interesting. We also did a wooden raft trip down the river and that was very peaceful. The food was fairly good but barely ever on time. We were disappointed that there was no music playing at all even though we spent Christmas Eve and Day there. I had a sports massage and this was wonderful. The massage area was located next to the river so one could hear the water hitting the rocks while getting the massage. The rooms did not provide privacy in the sense that one could hear the people next door through the screens around the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the river or the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We also stayed here on a Gate 1 tour and really enjoyed it. It is about a 15 minute canoe ride from the bus drop off. We had come from 2 other wonderful resorts and were very pleasantly surprised to find this in the middle of the jungle. The little town had a few artists that we enjoyed visiting. It is a very relaxing place and the service was excellent.

Room Tip: We stayed in 904, it was large with a nice view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This amazing property was founded by a man from Switzerland and he married and had a family here. The sounds of the birds of the Amazon and of the gentle rain were music to our ears. Unfortunately, our fellow countrymen (the Ugly Americans) a group of medical students from Pittsburg and Minn. spoiled it for us all. They were drunk and partying late into the night and used bad language. We asked them to be quiet but that made it worse. When we tried to complain, we found no one on the desk. We felt we were all alone and at the mercy of the young students. Since there is no way to close the rooms, there was no way to shut out the noise. It took a gentle Southern lady reading them the riot act and telling them that this was a family hotel and not a party place to get them to settle down. They responded by "Yes Mam and immediately quieted down. The hotel should have accomplished this. We were on a Gate 1 tour and will alert them about this problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. We were on the river and it had beautiful sunrises, but the screen made it a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casa del Suizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Suizo

Address: Julio Zaldumbide N25-42 y Valladolid | Punta Ahuano, Puerto Napo, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Napo Province > Puerto Napo
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puerto Napo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your La Casa del Suizo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Suizo Hotel Quito
La Casa Del Suizo Quito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa del Suizo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.