We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Vue is The Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Vue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Vue to your Saves list
La Vue
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Back Street, South Hill AI2640, Anguilla   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 South Hill B&B and Inns
new york
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“La Vue is The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Just returned from our 5th stay at La Vue, and I can honestly say this place is hands down the best in terms of rooms, location, price, views, and a great staff! It has become our home away from home, and I would recommend this place to all my family and friends.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are well worth the little extra $$. Having your coffee on the terrace while overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    23
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
26
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

This place is a treasure of Anguilla.The room was FAB.The staff were wonderful.I wish I was still there.Views over Sandy ground were magnificent.Easy access to all areas.I cant fault the place and I hope the prices dont rise too much.Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Not quite home, but the hotel is clean, comfortable, 10 minutes from the The Valley (in the centre of the island), with very pleasant staff. It is is just above a very nice beach with good snorkeling and lots of night life. A pool is being built now.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I wrote a review of my stay at La Vue, right after my 4 day stay there in April, 2010. For some reason, it was never published by TripAdvisor, and since I never check my "contributions" I only noticed recently that the review was nowhere to be found.

Since it has been almost 2 years, I don't recall what I wrote, but I do recall the warm welcome by the Hughes and their staff, as well as their willingness to go the extra mile to ensure my stay, as a solo traveller, was as relaxing and stress-free as possible. This included a ride to and from dinner at Tasty's my first night on island. They could have just ordered me a taxi - but no - it was like being looked after by family!

I stayed in a garden view room, at the back of the property, therefore did not have access to that beautiful sea view. I didn't really miss it though, as I was only staying for a few days, and my mission was to rent a car and check out as may beaches as possible. La Vue's location is perfect for this, as it is situated sort of between the east and the west side of the island with easy access in either direction. Since the view of Road Bay/Sandy Ground really IS spectacular, both in the morning and at sunset, I would say that for longer stays, you might want to upgrade to a room at the front of the property. Still, a few steps through the lush little garden provided me easy access to that same view. The location also made it easy to drive to Sandy Ground at night to take advantage of some wonderful restaurants and Elvis's beach bar.

The room itself was spacious - with a comfortable king-size bed, and a surprisingly big kitchen with ample counter space, full-size fridge, coffee-maker, micro-wave and basic cooking utensils, plates, mugs, glassware, etc. The only glitch for me was the bathroom, which didn't really have sufficient counter area to deal with hair dryer and curling/straightening rods. Females need a bit more elbow room in the bathroom, I think. The tub was fine, however. The room was always immaculately made up and clean. I found this really surprising, only because there was some construction going on outside the room -- Kirk was building a bar in the garden, therefore, some debris directly outside the room's "back door" could easily contribute to the presence of insects and dust indoors. But, I found none of this. The room was just pristine every day upon my return from the beach!

The added touches, considering the low rates for a garden room, were what made things special here - free wifi (worked very well and speedily!), big bottles of spring water in the fridge and more to spare if I asked, a full tin of Santo Domingo coffee in the room, and those simple, but delicious continental breakfasts with fresh fruit, banana or other breakfast bread and pastries along with coffee, tea and juice.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Excellent, excellent value for the money!

Room Tip: Save your money, if you don't need a sea view from your room, and book a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Very nice little B&B. We had a room on the second floor with a large open space, small kitchen area, and bed. The balcony was nice, and the view amazing.
The owner plans on adding a third floor, as well as a pool in the back of the hotel. This will add a lot, to a well-situated place.
The people were outstanding, and as always with the people of Anguilla, friendly, honest and helpful.
We were able to walk down the hill to Sandy Ground via a path, and made it easy to get to several restaurants; as well as Elvis' beach bar, and we saw a few bands at the Pumphouse.
I would recommend this place as a good deal , especially in high season, and a good base to explore the island.

Room Tip: second floor , view of Sandy Ground
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplsMN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Just got back from Anguilla.Stayed at La Vue. Would definitely go back. Very good value. You're not on the beach but you overlook the beach at Sandy Ground. Our room had a balcony, king bed and a well equiped kitchen. It was great! Easy location to get to everything. Staff and owners are awesome! No pool currently but it's in the plans for next year.

Room Tip: We looked at a few and liked them all but we had the corner room #201 and were very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I highly recommend this hotel. We rented the ocean view suite which has a gorgeous view of the sea overlooking Sandy Ground. The hotel is very clean and brightly colored and the staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. Its a recently constructed hotel with modern amenities that's a value when compared against other hotels in Anguilla of this caliber. We've stayed at another hotel for the last 6 years and will definitely make this our new hotel in Anguilla.

Room Tip: The best value are the ocean view suites. Not sure of the view of the garden view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Vue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vue

Address: Back Street, South Hill AI2640, Anguilla
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Anguilla > South Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in South Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Vue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Vue Boutique Inn (Winner of the World Travel Awards 2014 "Anguilla's Leading Charming Escape) is enviably located on Backstreet of South Hill, in the heart of Anguilla, where it captures the most breathtaking view of Sandy Ground and Road Bay. La Vue Boutique Inn is a family owned and operated inn, which offers all the charm and intimacy of a traditional inn, but with all the amenities of a full-service hotel. The French architectural style building features 32 over-sized and affordable rooms, each designed with comfort and relaxation in mind with king-sized beds, air conditioning, efficiency kitchen, free internet WIFI, cable TV, private bath and private balcony. Flavours Restaurant, our newly opened full service restaurant at La Vue, serves an array of West Indian dishes. Our open concept allows every guest to enjoy the awe-inspiring View right from their dining table, an amazing location for wedding receptions. The Pool with a Bar and Grill is another addition to La Vue, which guarantees pure relaxation and comfort while enjoying the most of what we have to offer. At La Vue there is an eclectic boutique with amazing Caribbean selections to appeal to varying fashion senses. We have also added a fully equipped conference room for hosting seminars, meetings and like events. La Vue is just a short stroll away from beautiful Sandy Ground Beach. Due to its convenient location, you are never more than 10 minutes drive from the 33 powdery, white sand beaches of Anguilla, golf course, art galleries, Clayton J. Lloyd International Airport, Blowing Point Ferry Terminal and Anguilla's Heritage Sites. Enjoy the La Vue experience on our tranquil island We look forward to welcoming you to La Vue Bed and Breakfast and extending our true Anguillan warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Vue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vue Hotel Anguilla
La Vue Anguilla/South Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Vue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.