We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Victorian retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Mountain View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mountain View
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Mountain View
Save
You added The Inn at Mountain View to your Saves list
307 W. Washington St., Mountain View, AR 72560   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Mountain View B&B and Inns
Gatesville, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great Victorian retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

A huge beautiful house, nestled on an acre in town, surrounded by mountains. It couldn't get any better. Mark was a great host, a wonderful cook, and easy to talk to. The room was clean and cozy, and the bed was comfortable. An amazing place to stay for young and old, especially for first-time Bed and Breakfast visitors like us.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Violet's Arbor room. There was no bathroom inside the room, but a private one a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markleenelson, Owner at The Inn at Mountain View, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Thank you so much for the incredible review! Hope you become regulars here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
32
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BARTLETT
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We've been to Mountain View many times for the festivals or just to listen to some good bluegrass music. I've always wanted to stay at one of the B&B's that are around the court square or even just outside of Mountain View. We got just that chance this weekend. We reserved the room (Rose's Retreat) just a couple of days before we were to be in town. In busier times, that would have been impossible. The room was smaller than I thought it would be, but it was nice. It probably was a little to "girly" for me, but my wife liked it. This was the weekend after Valentine's. The inn was full by the time Saturday night rolled around. So that meant that breakfast the next morning was packed. Every B&B has a different way of setting this up. This inn was unique as there were 3 round tables, all having a lazy susan in the middle with all the food. When everyone got what was in front of them, the turning began. You had to get what you wanted quick! It turned out to be a lot of fun and we had great conversation with our table throughout the breakfast. We really liked the fact that the innkeeper/owner (who is selling this B&B by the way) said a quick "blessing" before we began. You would need to be a Christian to appreciate that.

All in all I hope we get to stay here again. There wasn't much going on in Mountain View on this February weekend. No musicians were in the park. It would be a great place to stay and listen to them play when the weather turns warmer.

Room Tip: I don't think you could go wrong with any room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markleenelson, Owner at The Inn at Mountain View, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. Hope you come back again. We did have a great weekend for February!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We came up for a class and stayed in the Garden Suite for a Friday and Saturday night in November. I grew up in a house about twenty years younger than this house - it felt a little like going back home for me!. From the many little touches to welcome you in the garden and on the porch to the warm and comfortable decor inside, everything about this place says relax - chill out and have a good time!
Every corner is spotlessly clean. Our room was on the ground floor (The Garden Suite) it was spacious and oh so comfortable. This suite actually has two private entrances - one off the front porch and one out the back by the parking area.
One seating at 8:30 for breakfast but it worked out good for my class - I could walk across the square and be there only a few minutes after 9:00. Breakfast was hearty to say the least! Country style bacon with fresh hot biscuits and gravy, eggs, fried potatoes and fresh fruit. One day we also had pancakes and the next day we had french toast. Beautiful table setting, served family style - great chance to visit and get to know a little about your fellow travelers.
All in all - loved my stay and hope to get back soon!

Room Tip: The Garden Suite would be good for a family or close friends to share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markleenelson, Owner at The Inn at Mountain View, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Wow, thanks for the incredible review! So glad you had a great time staying here! Hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We have stayed at the inn many times over the years. We always enjoy the delicious breakfast, the front porch rockers, and, most of all, the great people we meet. Mountain View is a beautiful retreat from the busy world. Love old time music and beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markleenelson, Owner at The Inn at Mountain View, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
We look forward to your return visits. Come again soon and sit on the front porch with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walls, Mississippi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We have been coming atleast once a year since 1984, it is a wonderful place. We look forward to coming every year!!!!

Room Tip: Grandmothers attic and Mollys secret
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markleenelson, Owner at The Inn at Mountain View, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thank you for the wonderful review! Hope to see you again soon and many more times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klagstorp, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

This is a cosy litte place with a nice veranda. Good location. Close to the park where they are playing folkmusic every night. The service was perfect and the room was clean and tidy. The Inn has a personal touch and feels like home in a minute.

Good beakfast every day with one seating only - a good opportunity to get to know others. There is coffie and cake whenever you want and there are music instruments that you are welcome to play.

Mountain View is a must see in Arkansas and The Inn at Mountain View is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markleenelson, Owner at The Inn at Mountain View, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Thank for the review from my Swedish visitors. Hope to see more friends from Sweden! My heritage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

The food was great and the beds were so comfortable. Everything was so beautiful and even though there were a lot of people staying that weekend, it was really very quiet. I never heard anyone else.

Stayed April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markleenelson, Owner at The Inn at Mountain View, responded to this review, June 25, 2011
Glad you loved your quiet stay with us! Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Mountain View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mountain View

Address: 307 W. Washington St., Mountain View, AR 72560
Location: United States > Arkansas > Mountain View
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Mountain View Bed and Breakfast is a historic Mountain View B&B located on the famous courthouse square. We are at the heart of the Folk Music Capital of the World, Mountain View, Arkansas!The Inn at Mountain View is a large, two-story Bed and Breakfast on the courthouse square in Mountain View. This historic home is listed on the National Historic Register and has been overlooking the Mountain View court square since 1886. We offer 10 guest rooms and suites for overnight lodging. Each stay includes a full country breakfast full use of our common areas including parlors, porches and grounds. We also offer a number of services for business travelers including wireless Internet, a small meeting room and a larger conference/game room. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Mountain View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.