We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Oaks Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mountain View
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country Oaks Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Country Oaks Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
17221 Hwy 9, Mountain View, AR 72560   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Mountain View B&B and Inns
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Perfect Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Country Oaks can be whatever you might want it to be. It is a perfect retreat for some quiet time or a base for exploring Mountain View and its culture of music. There's a small lake for fishing, a wonderful wraparound porch for reading or whatever, and a huge lawn full of towering oak trees. The bedrooms are spacious and will not disappoint. The owners have created a real haven. They make you feel very welcome.
As we were walking out the door on our last trip, another guest was getting into his car. He looked at us and said that he hated to leave and that it was like leaving family.
My husband and I readily agreed. We have stayed here several times since 1999. We will come back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This was our first trip to Mountain View and Country Oaks Bed & Breakfast! We only stayed one night but could have stayed more if time permitted...driving down the lane we had a beautiful view of the pond and immediately wished we were staying longer to be able to do some fishing. We stayed in the Children's Room which was very comfortable and clean. Enjoyed walking the property and looking at the gardens. Breakfast was great and even had tomatoes from the garden! Our hosts, Jerry and Carol were super nice and very friendly! Will definitely return when we can stay longer!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

My husband & I have really demanding schedules so peace, quiet and lack of hassle is an important component of our relaxation travel plans. Mountain View is close enough to home that we can easily drive for a quick weekend away. I selected Country Oaks because of the photos I saw of the grounds - and the catch & release fishing pond!

First up - getting there! Resist the temptation to trust your GPS - they do not work in Mountain View for some mystical reason. We had no trouble finding it thanks to the perfect directions provided on their website! First impression as we turned off the highway was simply "Oh!" The grounds are beautiful! Over the course of the weekend, I walked around a bit and at every turn was greated by a beautiful planned view. It is evident that someone with a strong vision for the future laid out the landscaping. I was even more impressed when I learned that when the owners first started building the property was just a vacant piece of pastureland. Early risers will appreciate being able to catch the sunrise over the pond from the rocks that look like God just dropped them in place!

We stayed in the "Kitty Room" in the Main house. The house is beautiful and really looks as if it has "always" been in just this spot! Inside the attention to design and construction details are evident everywhere you look. Each room features a different decor theme - cutesy stuff that doesn't do much for me cause I'm not into home decor but I did appreciate the application of the theme - all the way down to the Kitty on our door key! Huge room overlooking the back of the property. Fabulous windows to be able to enjoy the view - I love being able to open the windows to listen to the birds sing - a couple were tough to open but that goes with living in a climate that changes by the hour sometimes. A rocker/recliner was provided so I could enjoy reading into the night in comfort with a nice bright reading light too! The bed was quite comfortable - very firm and lots of pillows. Individually controlled room A/C was great as was the ceiling fan.

The bathroom is gigantic! The soaking tub is a real delight! In addition to the soaking tub, there is a nice shower - we enjoyed excellent water pressure and adequate hot water.

It was my understanding that both days we were there, they were full but you would never have known it. The place is just so spacious - most of the time, you felt like you were the only people there!

Breakfast both days was tasty. I was a little curious to see how that turned out because of some previous reviews but put your mind at ease. Food is presented buffet style so if you get a hearty appetite at the front of the line I suppose a dish might run out but our hosts were right there and I'm sure they would have taken excellent care of every guest without missing a beat!

Owners Carole and Jerry are lovely and engaging people. They incorporate their support of the locale Humane Society by providing soft drinks/coffee/cookies for guests to enjoy and help out by leaving a donation if you wish. Cookbooks, specialty soaps and a variety of jams and jellies are available for purchase as well. I can hardly wait to try the Baked Apricots!

While Mountain Home is probably not a "foodies" dream destination there are lots of tasty lunch and dinner options available. Carole offered lots of great suggestions - be sure to get directions to the Timbo Dairy Bar - delicious and a beautiful drive!
All in all, we enjoyed our stay ever so much and look forward to returning soon!

Room Tip: Sewing & Kitty Rooms have nice sunset views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocomoke City, Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Turn of the century style with 21st century convenience awaits you at Country Oaks. Luxurious bedrooms and glorious tiled bathrooms with access to elegantly furnished parlors tempted us to remain inside and admire the decor. Pantries are stocked with coffee, tea, soda, and warm chocolate chip cookies. With dishes and utensils, it is easy to prepare a simple meal to eat at the dining table in one of the parlors. Numerous porches with comfortable rockers are perfect perches for admiring the beautiful landscaping and feathered friends. A breakfast buffet is provided in a large dining room. Our taste buds did not get bored with the variety of entrees and sides. It was interesting to socialize with the other guests.
Jerry and Carol were so attentive to our needs. My husband locked our car keys in the trunk. Both hosts worked with their network of friends until they found someone to unlock the car.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

This is a wonderful place to stay and completely unwind. The rooms are clean, comfortable and the food is great. Carole and Jerry are great hosts and the two dogs are great fun. We had a really lovely stay here and would love to visit again. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

We spent two wonderful days at the Country Oaks Bed and Breakfast and it was the best stay we have had in a long time at any B&B. This place is super clean, spacious, quiet, relaxing and just plain "calming." The views are breath-taking.
Jerry and Carole do everything to make your stay pleasant and just plain memorable.
The food...well let me just say, I did not bring a calorie counter! LOL Breakfast was delicious and yes, nutritious.
Those cookies..my oh my, how absolutely sinful(just kidding they were wonderful).
The trails are fun to hike on, just bring bug spray(Arkansas is known for its bugs), and take time to just stand and view the beautiful lake.
The rooms are decorated in victorian style and I love it.
What peace...close to Mountain View, yet out in the peaceful valley. Love it!
I can only imagine a beautiful garden wedding out here!
We WILL RETURN...and you should try this place...you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, TX
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

This was our 1st Anniversary, so we wanted something quiet and romantic where we could relax and get out of the rat race for a few days. We loved this place. The rooms are spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Loved the sausage! The Innkeepers were friendly and talkative, and had some suggestions for things to do and places to eat.

We enjoyed our stay, and would suggest this place to friends and family if they stayed in Mt View.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Oaks Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Oaks Bed & Breakfast

Address: 17221 Hwy 9, Mountain View, AR 72560
Location: United States > Arkansas > Mountain View
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mountain View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 68 acres, just one mile from the town square. Large guest rooms, large private baths, full breakfast, quiet setting, private lake, catch & release fishing, hiking trails. Music shows, Ozark Folk Center, Blanchard Springs Caverns, Bike Trail, White River nearby. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Oaks Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.