We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great People!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Angler's White River Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mountain View
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Angler's White River Resort
Save
You added Angler's White River Resort to your Saves list
P.O. Box 1254, Mountain View, AR 72560   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Mountain View
Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great People!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

I must start out this by writing that the person who helped us with our reservation and who helped us after we arrived was really nice. Her name is Elaine, I believe. She was very helpful and provided wonderful customer service. She was really a "one-man (or woman) show." She did everything, it appeared. Took the reservations and ran the store next to the motel. Mountain View, AR is a beautiful place. All the people we met there were extremely friendly! The motel itself is situated within several yards of the White River--a beautiful location. We were unable to stay in the lodge area, which is attached to the store and restaurant. We stayed in the older, unattached motel section. It was old, with a few rickety floor boards. Details were not important to the cleaning staff, it seems. All I can say is that is was not very clean. There were dead bugs on the floor, which was very old carpet. Under the bed we found old clothes that had been stuffed there. There were no odors and no smell of dust. And that was appreciated, since our family has allergies. But we could tell there was grime and dirt in the corners, nooks, crannies (especially the bathroom) and we were not sure about some of the stains on the bedding. Small (12in) tv, with limited cable, but enough for our needs. Bathroom was very small, with toilet not fastened well to the floor. It rocked a bit. However, it was inexpensive (about $71 per night) and the people and activities around the area and Mt. View were really great. When we reported the clothes under the bed, a waitress from the restaurant/store came over and got them from under the bed. We were not there for the fishing or the fishing guides. We were there to get away from the city and spend some quality time together. And that's what we did. We did not focus on the room. We were able to focus on each other and our shared activities away from phones, offices and computers and computer games. It was the get-away and the people of Anglers and Mt.View that made this trip and the motel well worth our trouble.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms in the lodge--attached to the store. They may be nicer than what we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    6
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
13
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abnormal, il
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I don't know where to start. We got the all inclusive 3night/2day package. Our guide Jason Brown got us literally hundreds of trout and hundreds of stories. If he wasn't picky about our catch we would have hit our limit in less than an hour. He's got some friends that guide too but why mess with perfection. As far as the resort, don't go here on a diet. There wasn't a minute I didn't wish I had a tapeworm. The resort's food was awesome and plentiful. Our package included breakfast on days they weren't even open to the public and they went ahead and made fresh biscuits, fresh gravy, and fresh grits. I ordered ham and it was the size of a porterhouse. As far as the shore lunch, awesome and huge. They made some of the best chocolate chip cookies I've ever had. The motel part was a little small for 3 grown men but we opted for the loft on the 2nd and 3rd nights and it was perfect. Our TV was only 17" (it was Sunday and Monday night football) but the scenery was 500'. Just make sure you have enough whiskey and beer. The county is DRY.(at no fault to Angler's). I go to Lake Kabetogama in northern Minnesota every year for walleye, but this is so much better and I will come back to Angler's. Every F.I.B. should stay here. LOVED IT, LOVED IT, LOVED IT!

Room Tip: Go for the loft if there is more than 2 and your not married.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searcy, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

This is our third fishing trip through Angler's with guide, Dean Harmon. He is absolutely the best guide in our eyes! We always catch fish with him, no matter the weather!! He is professional and courteous in every way, and goes above and beyond his duties as a guide. We look forward to returning in the fall to fish with Dean!! J. Doyle and M. Perry

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cut Off, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We had a great time and a great fishing experience. The guide was great and the scenery was awesome. Can't wait to go again next year.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We had a great time during our visit at Anglers White River Resort. Chirs and Julie made us feel like family from the time we arrived. The rooms were clean and recently redone with new paint, carpet, tile and flat screen TV. The food was outstanding, with Chris giving it his personal touch to make sure it was just what you ordered. For the price the package plan is the way to go. It is a great value for your money and the customer service is beyond reproach. Make sure you ask for Dean Harmon for your fishing guide! We fished with Dean for a day and a half. We fished for browns the first morning and caught several nice browns up to 21 inches. That afternoon we fished for rainbows and caught about 40. The next afternoon we fished for rainbows and caught at least 50. An exciting time on the river. Make sure you have Chris prepare his fried cheesecake for your dessert. It is beyond delicious and worth the drive just for it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nemo, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

If you want to catch large numbers of quality trout on the White River then Angler's White River Resort is where you need to be; you can spend more money in several other places along the river but you will not catch more fish or consistently bigger fish anywhere. We fished two days with Jason on this trip and even with extremely tough water conditions managed to catch 50 plus fish each day and produce daily bag limits of one pound average fish each day. Angler's White River Resort with their all inclusive fishing packages is by far the best value for your money anywhere along the White River. Owners Chris and Julie make you feel right at home, the food is outstanding, the motel accomadations are clean and comfortable and Jason Brown is one of the best fishing guides on the river; period. This was our third trip to Angler's and it truely was like going home. Thank you Chris, Julie, Jason and the entire Angler's staff for making our annual trip to Angler's our most anticipated vacation each year. We are already looking forward to seeing you again next summer.

God Bless,

Joe & Jami Lovelady
Glenrose, Texas

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryant, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed at Angler's 4 nights, and had a great time. The fishing was great, even though the river was up a bit from the the recent rains. Our guide, Jason, was incredibly patient and knowledgable. Definitely worthwhile to take a guided trip at least once while there. Everyone at the resort - owners Chris and Julie, their precious daughter Ruth, the rest of the family and staff - went out of their way to make sure every possible need was met. I don't recall ever experiencing such outstanding customer service as we enjoyed during our stay at Angler's. The room was rustic but clean; just what you would want for a fishing trip, and the proximity to Blanchard Springs/Cavern makes it a must-see while there.

Room Tip: The loft rooms give you a great view, and very convenient to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angler's White River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angler's White River Resort

Address: P.O. Box 1254, Mountain View, AR 72560
Location: United States > Arkansas > Mountain View
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Mountain View
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Angler`s White River Hotel Mountain View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angler's White River Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.