We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful cave worth the trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blanchard Springs Caverns

Blanchard Springs Caverns
Route 14, Mountain View, Mountain View, AR
888-757-2246
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
Attraction details
Springfield, Mo
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful cave worth the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I just got back from Blanchard Springs. We have visited lots of caves and this was the prettiest I have seen. We did the dripstone and discovery tours both were good. The discovery tour does have a lot of stairs but it was not too bad. If you have trouble with stairs skip it. If you are like me and a tad bit out of shape you can make it. You will love this cave!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    37
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Multiple Caverns to See”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This site is really many caverns strung together. You end up walking like a mile underground, and then get bussed back to the visitor center (1.5 hour tour). The caverns are different and interesting. If you are not a big cavern person then maybe they all look the same, but the guides are good at pointing out the interesting bits.

And, you are out of the sun and in cooler air. Although you are warned that the air is 58 degress or something,the air did not feel that cold, lots of people were just in shorts and a t-shirt (Memorial Day weekend). I had a light jacket and was almost too warm.

It is also amazing that after completing the tour, on your bus ride back you are going up almost all of the time. You can also see a lot of hills and just being on the tour it seems like they could all have caverns under them.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great formations and you can beat the heat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We did the 1.5 hour tour. The first few 'rooms' were impressive in size. The last few 'rooms' had impressive formations. The guide was good. The pace was a little on the slow side. It was cool to see the bats wizzing by periodically. The cave's cool temps provided a nice break to the heat up top.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEFUNIAK SPRINGS
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Beautiful, awesome staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We came to see the caverns and weren't disappointed. This is a beautiful place, not just the caverns, the rest of the area around it is beautiful too. Well worth the drive to see it. We got to go on a tour with a great guide, she was awesome. We were the only two she had for the tour, so she was able to tell us a few things she doesn't normally have time to on the regular groups.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I visited a few caves systems. This one by far is the prettiest. Don't walk on the slippery rocks st the waterfall though.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blanchard Springs Caverns also viewed

 

Been to Blanchard Springs Caverns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blanchard Springs Caverns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.