We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven that needs a little TLC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oualie Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Oualie Beach Resort to your Saves list
Oualie Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Oualie Bay, New Castle, Nevis   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Alhama de Almeria, Spain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Heaven that needs a little TLC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Oualie beach has long been a delightful favourite of ours. We staid over the weekend this month and again it did not disappoint. The Staff are very friendly, the beach is as lovely as you will find anywhere. However the rooms need a makeover, the chalets on the beach are incomparable, but the paint is peeling off, the mosquito screens have holes and the ater system broke down twice during our brief stay. Breakfast was lovely as was a simple grilled mahi mahi lunch. The great thing about Oualie is you can almost forgive anything because the location is an absolute idyl in the Caribbean, in all our days we have found very few places that are lovelier and reasonably priced. Lets hope the management nurture this teasured place

Room Tip: They're all delightful but a bit down at heel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    91
    21
    11
    2
See reviews for
31
135
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

the food was great, the staff was courteous, the beaches are clean and refreshing. it is definately a place to vacation. i do think i want to go back to the beaches in my area in florida after being here...night and day difference compared to my beaches. i will definately be back soon. i wish i could consider living there.

Room Tip: choose a room with window over-looking the beach for a way better experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife Susan and I stayed here the week of January 14th. It is located on one of the nicest beaches on Nevis with a great view of the sunset and St. Kitts. Our room was large with a fridge and a screened porch for cocktail hour. Flat screen TV, with lots of cable stations, if you care. Bath room, with double vaniety & shower. The rooms are not quite Four Seasons quality, but you're closer to the beach and they are way more than adequate.

We had breakfast every morning, two lunches and one dinner at the hotel. The menu was simple, straight forward, and the food came out consistently as advertised. The service was always prompt and friendly.

Our only compliant was that the internet was down for about a day and a half. Managment at least understood that some of us need it, even, (or in my case especially) when on holiday. Once that got going, the speed and signal was adequate.

Any one that goes to Nevis, knows that prices can be very high. Oualie is the most reasonable place on the island for a high quality beach front hotel. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runnemede
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We went for the breakfast buffet on Sunday and if was very good. Always enjoy the open air dining area and beautiful scenery as your right on the beach. Oualie is a beautiful and quiet beach. You can even eat on the beach under the palm tree's. They also have a small bar area just off the restaurant.

Room Tip: Only went for dining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unidentified
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent seven nights at Oualie as part of a flight/hotel package (ordinarily not our thing, but we didn't have much time to book and it was the easiest way) so I don't know how much Oualie would charge for rooms alone. Airport transfers were included in our package; the Seamoss guys picked us up at the St Kitts airport and drove about 15 minutes to the coast, we hopped on a boat that took another 10 minutes or so (depending on climate and wind) to Nevis. We saw some passengers pay USD60 per person each way.

We were housed on an upper-floor room in one of the two-storey cottages and had a nice view overlooking the ocean from fewer than a hundred feet away. The room was large, clean, and plainly furnished. We did not get a four-poster bed as some guests have written about -- instead we were given two twin beds with somewhat lumpy mattresses. The linen was not changed every day, but they did change the towels and did a good job cleaning. There's a mini fridge, a ceiling fan, a/c, and a small tv with dozens of channels from the US, which was a treat. There were two safes in our closet, but both were locked and they never did find someone to fix them.

There was a balcony with screens all around to keep out the bugs. It's pleasant to sit up there, even when it's raining.

Beach towels are provided. And they had a British/UK adaptor to loan us.

The bathroom was clean. There's a hair dryer, soap and shampoo they re-stock regularly. The water was mostly cool, at best lukewarm, although by midweek we started getting warm-hot water.

It was hard going trying to pry the windows open, but it was worth it as there were very strong winds for the entire week. (Some locals said it was unusual, but everyone else seemed to think it was typical.) Strong enough that it wasn't pleasant to sit on the sand, since grains were getting everywhere. But there's a lot of nice green lawn to choose from, and they do have hammocks strung up in the shade at various points along the beach. Sandflies do live happily off visitors so beware, especially when there is no wind and especially at sunset -- which is early in January.

There are no hawkers or vendors on the beach as well so it can be very peaceful. A dive shop is right next door.

We had no issue with noise from the bar/restaurant, but we were a few buildings away. The food is not bad although somewhat repetitive. (Sunday breakfast is a buffet, and they do cook a pretty decent pancake. Waffles are also good.) We encourage everyone to try Gallipot, which is about a 10-minute walk away, heading south.

Transport is the only main issue. There are many buses (minivans with a licence plate beginning with the letter H, costing USD2 per person), but not on Sundays. A taxi ride to Charlestown will set you back USD15 each way for the 10-minute ride. So you're better off renting a car, but you'll have to purchase a temporary licence for USD25 and with the taxes and service etc, you'll end up paying around USD75 a day for a car that's being advertised for USD60/day. Still, it's worth it as all the restaurants are a drive away. (In addition to Gallipot, we liked Lime's on the beach, next to the Four Seasons, and Bananas up in the mountains although the owner is a bit snobby.)

Service at the front desk is somewhat erratic. Some folks are super-friendly, others not so much. But they all know their stuff and are generally helpful. There's a computer desktop in the reception area for guests to use. They helped book us a car rental and can organize excursions (or point you in the right direction).

Again, it was very pleasant, and the vibe is very relaxed (unlike what we saw in St Kitts), but I would warn folks that this is really a no-frills place for USD200+ a night (which I saw advertised somewhere), which should in reality cost USD100/night for what you get.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed here for two short nights, wished it could have been longer. You will not be disappointed. The staff at the front desk, restaurant and of course the beautiful white sands, palm trees and the unforgettable blue Carribean Sea, made this a vacation never to be forgotten. The rooms are a lovely size with a truly unforgettable view of the beach. Had the pleasure to chat with Michael, the Chef, found him approachable and passionate about both his work and the island he calls home. I, being a chef by training, can be very critical at times. I am very glad to report I had no complaints at all. Loved the Buffet on Tuesday night and the relaxed atomsphere. I miss having my breakfast while gazing across the sea, watching the ferry go about it's work. I am counting down the months until I return with my family in 2015 . Next time will try the adventures offered here. Can not wait to reveal this gem in the Carribean to my family!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were not expecting the level of service that we received during our stay. This was a pleasant overall experience for our celebration. The restaurant had us coming back as it had a soulful elegance that we will always remember. For those that can afford a trip to the Caribbean this is a definite destination.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oualie Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oualie Beach Resort

Address: Oualie Bay, New Castle, Nevis
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oualie Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful 3.5 star beachfront resort on the best beach on Nevis. Gingerbread cottages hold 32 rooms with cool, screened verandas offering stunning sunset views over the Caribbean Sea. The ambience is casual. All our fish, lobster and grass fed beef tenderloin are kept FRESH on ice, never frozen. We source FRESH local, seasonal vegetables and fruit whenever possible. Our cuisine is a fusion of Continental and Caribbean flavours served at our beachside restaurant. On site amenities include scuba, snorkelling, spa treatments, sailing, windsurfing, mountain biking sport fishing and FREE High Speed WiFi everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oualie Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oualie Beach Hotel Nevis
Oualie Beach Nevis
Oualie Beach Resort Nevis, St. Kitts And Nevis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oualie Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.