We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PARADISE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nisbet Plantation Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nisbet Plantation Beach Club to your Saves list
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Newcastle Beach, New Castle, Nevis   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter - 6th Night FREE
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“PARADISE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We recently stayed at Nisbet for 6 days, and loved it! Our room (Burnaby upstairs suite) was huge, with a lovely bathroom and large balcony overlooking manicured grounds and the beach.

Nisbet is a special place: a former plantation, it sits on a large garden on the beach, complete with pool, beach restaurant, palm trees and lovely tropical flower shrubs. The staff is incredibly friendly (as is the entire island, by the way) and everything is very well organized, from the seamless pick up at the airport to the wonderful kitchen staff who prepared delicious dinners, and all in between (special thanks to Angela at the beach restaurant, and the ladies at reception who always had smiles and expert recommendations for us).

If you want an authentic, luxurious and classy island experience, this is the place to stay on Nevis. Highly recommended for sophisticated travelers who are looking to stay away from cookie cutter high end hotels.

Room Tip: Burnaby, upstairs suite: great view, the furthest from the center of the property, so most private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    50
    20
    11
    5
See reviews for
65
425
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, VA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We've been five times and still can't wait until we can return. Our first trip (in 1999), we missed our connection in Puerto Rico, and had to take a much later flight that put us into Nevis around 10 p.m. Not only was someone from the resort at the airport to greet us, they had dinner waiting for us in our room. The resort is absolutely lovely, everything you could want, but the staff makes your experience beyond compare. For whatever length of time you spend there, they become your family. They know you by name - not just some of the staff, but everyone you encounter. You get the feeling they genuinely care for you, your comfort, and enjoyment. There aren't enough accolades to be said about this resort.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are on the Avenue of the Palms, which is gorgeous. There isn't such a thing as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I visited the Nisbet Plantation to celebrate our 35th Anniversary. We fed monkeys each morning along the property line, saw hummingbirds all over the property, picked up beach glass daily, saw two rainbows, slept with our shutters and door wide open each night to listen to the breeze flow through the palms and the water crash, appreciated the staff who were gracious, ate open air breakfast and ate dinner on the screen porch nightly, had tea and refreshments at 4 pm daily and enjoyed Bailey's colodas and lunch on the breezy beach. This destination is a dream come true for those who want to settle in, relax and gaze out at amazing water and views of St Kitts. I tried to memorize the view so that I can reflect back during busy days in Michigan. We were very happy at the Nisbet Plantation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

As I was preparing to write this review, I read two others that were written by guests who were there the same week (and became our new friends). Both reviews (by Marilyn H and Chris R) were accurate. In fact, the one Chris wrote was so eloquently and accurately stated, I wanted to just say "ditto"!! This was our second visit to Nisbet, and we certainly hope will not be our last. We would go there every year if we could afford it. We have traveled many places throughout the Caribbean, Mexico, Bermuda, and have never found anything that even comes close to the service, atmosphere and charm of Nisbet Plantation. The staff is what makes this place - you will fall in love with these people. Many of them have worked there for 20 to 30+ years. This is truly a resort where "ladies and gentlemen enjoy serving ladies and gentlemen". Quiet and classic, this is not a big "party" beach club, nor is it suitable for children. No phones or TVs in the cottages, which is great. We didn't even take cell phones, iPads or any electronic gizmos. Truly a relaxing vacation. We can't wait to go back, and hope to see some of our new friends again. Please read the reviews by Chris and Marilyn that I referenced earlier.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in the upper level junior suites...they are the best for space, view and lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Nevis is the classic private Caribbean island and Nisbet Plantation is the classic Caribbean resort of the 1950's & early1960's. We do not believe that you can find this kind of atmosphere, service and 24-hour detail to making everything perfect anywhere else in the Caribbean. By 8 o'clock each morning I found that the maintenance staff had the spacious private Atlantic beach cleaned to perfection. Breakfast was ready to be served at poolside by 8:00. The daily summary of news from Great Britain and the US were brought with your menu. Lunch and drinks available throughout the day - beachside or at the bar - whatever your pleasure. Cocktails and dinner at the Great House except for a beach BBQ and dancing one night. Drinks afterward in the bar/lounge if you wish. The service does not stop and the staff does not go home until you do. The menu was varied every night and the fresh seafood superb. Nisbet provides a wonderful atmosphere to set your own social pace. "THE BEST"

Room Tip: The smaller rooms are a little further from the ocean, but have a screened porch. Everyone shares a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We went to Nevis for 9 nights last July and spent the first five nights at the Nisbet. (The second four nights we were at the four seasons). This is a very welcoming place. The staff is just amazing and knew us by our first names by the second day. The resort is very low key-- you get up, have a lovely breakfast looking out over the pool and then grab a beach towel from your room and head out to the beach. The beach itself is lovely but very natural - yes, there are some rocks and seagrass to navigate but it wasn't that huge of a deal. The resort is quiet but it is not stuffy at all-- the staff was so warm and jovial. We each had a massage at the spa and both were good although the spa itself is really not much to look at. Food was consistently good and we really enjoyed the dinners at the great house-- just so civilized and special. Patterson, as others have commented, was a wonderful host and we looked forward to seeing him each night. We spent one day driving around the island which I would recommend. We visited other plantations and just explored. I would not, however, recommend visiting Charlestown. I had imagined all sorts of quaint cute little shops and that was not the case. We were sad to leave Nisbet and hope to return some day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NisbetGM, General Manager at Nisbet Plantation Beach Club, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
The best Nevis experience is when guests feel welcomed like family…that’s what we do well at Nisbet. Thank you for reflecting on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I travel to the Caribbean quite a bit and have learned to be cautious about phrases like "authentic West Indian charm" etc. This place made me understand what people mean by that phrase - much the best service anywhere in the Caribbean or beyond. Genuinely welcoming, friendly, thoughtful service. Tasteful, lives up to the photos. Good restaurant. High standards. The best sort of hotel - not a characterless chain. It's a cliche but it's unspoiled. Very restful but that's no euphemism for slow and shoddy service as it is often elsewhere: Nevis is a very restful, quiet island.
Went on business and if given the choice would have opted for the Four Seasons - and would have been wrong. This isn't at all a business hotel but was great for business: not a problem to print (100s of pages of) documents at 6.30 at the front desk.
Finish in rooms is not superslick but they are tasteful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NisbetGM, General Manager at Nisbet Plantation Beach Club, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
For a seasoned Caribbean traveler, we are humbled that your Nisbet experience is tops on your list. Your description of your stay is what we strive for to present the authentic charm that makes you comfortable and wanting to return. Business or pleasure, we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nisbet Plantation Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nisbet Plantation Beach Club

Address: Newcastle Beach, New Castle, Nevis
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > Nevis > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nisbet Plantation Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nisbet is the Caribbean's only luxury plantation inn located on the beach. This intimate hideaway is one of the Caribbean's Top 10 Most Romantic Hotels and the ancestral home of Fanny Nisbet, the ever-faithful wife of British naval hero Admiral Horatio Nelson. A historic resort with only 36 rooms spread over 30 lush beachfront acres. Enjoy impeccable service at the best hotel on the island time forgot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Nisbet Plantation Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club Hotel Nevis
Nisbet Plantation Beach Hotel
Nisbet Plantation Beach Resort
Nisbet Plantation Nevis
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club Nevis, St. Kitts And Nevis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nisbet Plantation Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.